We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, breakfast & internet Wi-Fi”
Review of Hotel Les Genets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Genets
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Bayonne
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, breakfast & internet Wi-Fi”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The standard room is the size found on a cruise ship but for one night, at the price, it is fine. The restaurant next to hotel serves a nice breakfast and is only 7€ per person. People speak English. Internet signal is strong.

Room Tip: Advertised standard rooms are tiny. Lots of parking and located close to A8 Motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mireya_S3335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    32
    36
    14
    3
See reviews for
16
41
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This easy to find and conveniently situated hotel is great for an overnight stop. The room was clean and comfortable and the €7 breakfast was great for this style of hotel. The attached restaurant was a great bonus, inexpensive yet very good food and service from the fixed price menu. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonNZ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthieuP64, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Genets, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your comment on Hôtel les Genets. We are very pleased to have given you satisfaction for hotel and restaurant. We hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards,
Hôtel les Genêts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Malvern
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I wouldn't stay for a holiday, but night stops don't come more convenient. Just off the motorway the hotel is located in a good commercial area, (Ferrari dealership on the nearby roundabout), it felt very safe and the car park at the back meant the car was just outside my room, also a comfort.

Bedroom very small, more like a Brittany Farries cabin if this helps you, modular bathroom, but good heating and air conditioning, plastic card room entry, non smokers rooms available, this I like.

Reception kind and helpful, nice restaurant with food more than good enough for travellers fare, good breakfast starting early at 6 a m, so you don't have to miss out if wanting an early start.

Would I stay again? Absolutely, it's in the Bayonne memory bank. Oh, and it's a little hard to find from the address, it's not really on the road it says it is, when you come off the motorway you are forced into a double roundabout situation with a short stretch of dual carriageway between them, it is right on this short stretch of road when the sat nav is telling to the address is up the road and to the right, it ain't. I went up and down said road twice before going back to the roundabout, and saw it straight ahead of me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel through booking.com after we had been informed whilst in Extremadura that we were going to have to drive to Calais, rather than Santander for our homeward journey, as Brittany Ferries had suspended all sailings. After driving for most of the day the location, close to the main road and on the edge of town, suited me just fine as the first of our stop-overs!
The room and bathroom were small but pretty clean, although the corridor smelt damp and the carpet had seen better days. The dining room was truly French in appearance (brightly lit and uninspiring), although the food was well cooked and presented.
Overall the hotel "did a job", and at an incredibly reasonable price.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RWHSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Very small roams, where dust and hair live a peacefull lide i All corners. The bathroam is so tiny that you can't change your mind. Evrythings get wet.
The hotel next door is 20% cheaper, and it can't be worse.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rind47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bayonne hotels

Meridian, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We booked this hotel through the visitor center in downtown Bayonne. We had some difficulty finding it due to her instructions but thanks to the car's GPS (even if it was in Spanish) and her map, we finally stumbled across the hotel. We were quickly booked into our room and were very grateful to find it had elevators and a restaurant.

The room was tiny with two small twin beds in standard European fashion. No air conditioning but we could open the windows. The room had an odd extra entrance door, not sure what that is about, making it even more challenging to negotiate luggage in the tight space but we were traveling light, which helped.

Free Internet access, always a bonus for me.

We ate dinner in the restaurant. Unfortunately our French is extremely limited but a helpful patron translated the menu for us. The food was on the expensive side and while not outstanding, it was acceptable.

Room cost included breakfast, which was simple but again acceptable.

One caveat, the hotel is obviously used by the tour groups so there may be times when they are extremely busy with a new group checking in.

Overall, an acceptable hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stopped off here for a night whilst en route to Spain; it's ideally located for weary travellers hovering around the French/Spanish border.

Our bed was comfortable and the room, clean. The bathroom was one of those weird (horrid?!) pre-formed plastic things but the shower was great.

Breakfast was excellent with a good continental selection.

This is a good, clean, comfortable albeit expensive hotel. (In peak season -August- rooms go for 81.20€ a night).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayonne hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Bayonne
B&B Hotel Bayonne
#14 of 18 in Bayonne
85 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Bayonne Centre
Ibis Bayonne Centre
#3 of 18 in Bayonne
377 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Bayonne
Ibis Budget Bayonne
#6 of 18 in Bayonne
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Campanile Bayonne
Campanile Bayonne
#12 of 18 in Bayonne
276 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Bayonne Gare Centre
2.1 mi away
OKKO Hotels Bayonne Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Genets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Genets

Property: Hotel Les Genets
Address: Rond Point de Maignon | Route de Cambo, 64100, Bayonne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Bayonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Bayonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Genets 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Les Genets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing