We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a good rate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Ranked #15 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a good rate.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Was in Bordeaux for a conference and chose The ajacio gambetta bevares it was offered by The organizers. The hotel is great value for money. Do not expect give star service, but part time (students) who are Professional and up to The job, The rooms are of High standard and mine had a viet of The square. The hotel is located right next to The gate to The old part of The City, going there is greatly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jesper Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    473
    144
    34
    12
See reviews for
265
383
38
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked a studio for two at the Adagio in Bordeaux for two nights in June and when we arrived, we were pleased to learn that they had upgraded us to a one-bedroom! The room was big, spacious and clean. The location was great as well because it was just a short walk to the main shopping area where they were plenty of cafes and restaurants. The only gripe we had was that the water in the shower kept alternating between scalding hot, warm, and freezing cold. However, that aside, we had a lovely time in the hotel and in the city and I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank preciouspumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geelong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at the Adagio in Bordeaux in June for 3 days ,the studio was one of the most well appointed studio we have stayed in everything you could possibly need was supplied the location was right in the city center with great pedestrian access.

Room Tip: If a studio is all you need go for it abit more roomy than a normal double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We took a room suitable for 4 people so had plenty of space. The little kitchenette was great. The hotel is over the road from a shopping centre where you can shop in Auchan and stock up on all supplies. We didn't eat in much however as the local eateries are great. The hotel is in the middle of everything. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. Sadly the only thing that lets the place down is the bed as has been mentioned by others. It's 5 inch foam on a chipboard base. If you have no back issues and can sleep anywhere and on anything you'll be fine. Otherwise think long and hard if you want to return from your holiday rested.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wright2idea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Adagio for two nights June/July 2014.

The hotel is very clean, conveniently located and staff are very friendly and helpful. The tourism office is a 15 minute walk away and there are plenty of shops nearby.

We were advised there is a gym and sauna facility free of charge but I never got to try them. Four of us stayed in an apartment and there was a double bed, a double sofa bed and a pull out single bed under the double bed. Dividers allowed the rooms to be sectioned off however the bathroom was attached to bedroom. Separate toilet in the hall though.

One point to note, when the hotel called us a taxi, it took over 30mins to arrive and then the car that showed up looked like it was about to fall apart. There was also EUR 10 already on the meter. Advice: use your own taxi company!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pochums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

In many ways this is an excellent hotel, but a few sour notes left me feeling there were better choices. The location is excellent; in the heart of town and close to everything. The property itself is also new, shiny, clean, and (surprisingly) spacious. But finding it is a challenge... You need to stop in the middle of the street and enter and engage the front desk (adequate but not fluent English) in order to be given the location and access codes to enter the garage where you can park. We drove by twice before we figured it out.

Once inside, we were very happy with the room and the excellent amenities, nice spacious bath, etc. But unfortunately the bed was brutal. Rock hard, tiny pillows... almost as if they tried to make it uncomfortable. Hard to believe such an otherwise nice property could have such inadequate sleeping facilities.

Very good (slightly pricey, but you're in the middle of downtown) breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have to score this 'average' because it wasn't quite as good as the Ibis that we stayed in on the other side of the river! (qv). It was our first time in an Adagio but if you're familiar with Suitehotel then you'll recognise the layout. This comes with the added convenience of a small hob, a decent fridge and a dishwasher. Check in was fine, the staff were helpful and looked after the bags while we went to eat and the room was cleaned (we were early. nb we were early at the Ibis too but reception checked to see if there was a room ready, and there was...not a big deal but the difference between an ok impression and a very good one). The location is good (easy walk to the nice bits) and there's a very impressive Auchan across the road (freshly squeezed orange juice machine!) and a Flunch which meant that we really didn't self cater, e.g. coffee and croissant, or bread butter and jam 1.90 euros/£1.50! If Adagio's came with the new Ibis beds this would be four stars but the beds are quite firm. Here are the niggles, and most of them are easy fixes. The (bright orange!) carpets on the landings are stained and don't make a good impression; the flush on the toilets is fiddly and if you don't get it right it'll run all night(!), the rack in the dishwasher was missing a couple of wheels so it didn't work properly and the flex on the iron was split and pretty close to being dangerous. The food and drink dispensers weren't working one night so if you'd just arrived and were desperate for a coke you were out of luck. This is just 'housekeeping'. The tv and internet are not as good as the (HD!) Ibis - the internet was fiddly and kept having to be 'reloaded'. BUT, these are minor points. Perhaps it's just time for a refit. It's a lovely big spotlessly clean room, and bathroom. The location is good and would be great for a longer stay with a couple of meals self catered. We'll be back, and we'll be giving one or two of the other Adagios a try too. AM

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Adagio Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.3 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta

Property: Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Address: 40 rue Edmond Michelet, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#10 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing