We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean hotel in a nice area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a good experience when we stayed in this hotel. The location is decent - Gambetta is a 15 min bus ride from the main train station. The hotel is about a 10 min walk from the pleasant river promenade and close to lots of cafes, restaurants and even a a local Carrefour. The room we got was swish - light and airy, wall to wall windows overlooking the little square, modern furniture. It felt pretty secure. And the best thing is, as a self contained apartment it had all amenities like a fridge, cutlery and a microwave.

Overall, if you are staying in Bordeaux this hotel is a pretty good option.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmm__paella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Adagio apartments in Bordeaux, I could live here. These apartments are the best I have stayed in anywhere. (No I don't work for them). They are spacious, airy, very well appointed, modern, clean, quiet and the bed was very good. Located 5 minutes from a huge supermarket it is great to be able to use the kitchen to avoid over priced tourist menus.
Added features that impressed me, a small dishwasher in the kitchen and plenty of tablets, a foldaway drying rack in the bathroom, a bath and a shower, a balcony overlooking a wide inner court yard and fast internet.
There is an easy stroll to the main thoroughfares and all that Bordeaux offers. I was sorry to leave because I knew my next hotel/apartment wouldn't be as good.

Room Tip: Our wonderful apartment was on the 6th. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RichardSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Hotel was clean and quiet, although carpets on third floor in the lobby and corridors could be replaced. Room was large, with good wi-fi connection (I managed to stream a movie). Location is great for the old town and has very secure parking under the hotel. I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked on line and on arrival were upgraded to a lovely large room (for 3 people). Huge windows, good sized bathroom, small kitchen area with new crockery, cutlery, saucepan, frying pan (kettle tucked away in a cupboard). Clean, nicely and freshly decorated, overlooking the square. Quiet.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the Square on the second floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BorisShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Executive Summary

Pros - Decent size room, friendly staff, good room amenities, central location, small gym and sauna, supermarket near-by

Cons - Floor was quite dirty in the room, A/C turns on and off as there is a timer, if staying for longer than 3 nights daily cleaning will incur additional cost.

Overall it was ok but expected more for a 4 star establishment, especially the cleanliness. (A wipe on the floor with tissue turned it black and dusty…)

Top tip - Would recommend a proper hotel for short stay and apartment rental for long stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JonoMichaelL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms, themselves, were clean and spacious but getting to our rooms was an unpleasant experience. The hallway carpets are heavily stained and stink. This hotel needs new carpeting. Otherwise, well located and having the amenities of a small apartment is convenient. Wifi was included in our room but didn't work very well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hbkim62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Three of us shared a studio apartment which was very spacious, with a bathroom with separate toilet and an integral kitchenette. Double bed, sofa that was a single bed, dining table and chairs, ironing board and iron, kettle, coffee percolator, microwave, double halogen hob, fridge and little dishwasher! Everything you could want! Oh, and a tv with BBC World Service as well as French, Arabic, German etc channels.
Very convenient for sights, buses, trams and a shopping centre round the corner with a huge Auchan supermarket which was great for breakfast stuff and the one night we ate in. Staff were very helpful and put up with our broken-French. Husband used the little gym 3 times during the stay but we didn't try the sauna or steam room.
We stayed 6 nights and had no cleaning, which I thought was a bit long! Also, wi-fi is free but didn't like my iPad and logs you out very quickly which was a real pain.

Room Tip: I'd go for a high room, 5th floor, but being at the back is more important
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrejusFemmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 175 in Bordeaux
920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.9 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#7 of 175 in Bordeaux
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta

Address: 40 rue Edmond Michelet, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#10 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: £76 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing