We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
Ranked #48 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is located about a ten minute walk to Place Gambetta. The first five minutes of the walk are unimpressive, but once you hit Hotel Adagio it gets better.
Pros: hairdryer excellent, beds comfortable, breakfast outstanding and the map of Bordeaux available on a document stand in the lobby was excellent.
Cons: Staff: Did not move quickly at the front desk, not overly friendly either, especially the male staff to women. A big negative here is that a friend’s shower did not work for two of the three nights we stayed, (they were in the room next to ours). The staff claimed to have fixed the problem the first full day we were there, but at night, the shower still did not work. The staff gave them another room to shower in for both nights. The third night, the shower in their room had been fixed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanjl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable Hébergement at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.


Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    430
    269
    107
    35
See reviews for
143
398
67
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here May 2014.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the city centre of Bordeaux.

(As a digression, it's in the middle of this shopping-centre-complex-place called the Meriadeck, which has what looks like it was built in the 60s by some seriously groovy cats, man. The place would way freak you out, dude, particularly the way that the street level seems to be designed not to have any pedestrians on it. Time to knock it down and build something less ludicrous. Peace out.)

Anyway, the building of the hotel is also ridiculous, with "blockbusters"-style octagonal windows which look out over the floating shopping centre with no apparent entrances. But the internal part of the hotel is modern (as opposed to modernist) and therefore saner than the outside.

The room was good, clean and a nespresso machine, always a nice touch in my book, and there were complimentary drinks. There were robes (also a plus point for me). The bathroom was a bit of a "wet-room" in that the shower was just sort of "there", with the water going on the floor, which made things a bit wet, unsurprisingly.

Staff very pleasant and offered maps etc.

Top tip: The bus from the airport actually stops very close if you have the where-with-all to work out when to get off. I did, when I noticed that Fred Flinstone had gone to architecture school and applied his design ethos to a shopping centre, and recognised the buildings.

Would recommend, but a bit of a walk to the centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GromitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsabl Hébergement at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our bus tour stopped at this hotel for one night. The room was a nice size and comfortable. It's location was across the street from major shopping area. The food we had from dining room was awesome. Try the pork chops.

The area was quiet and we didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable Hébergement at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

AC did not work for two days in a row in the evening, they repaired it, but the staff at reception was horrible! They even asked if we need AC....btw...the windows cannot be opened...so if you suffer from claustrophobia, forget about this hotel!
The room maids were great, the cleaning was great and our amenities were always refilled. Great having Expresso capsules in the room...best quality! Appreciated this!
The staff in the restaurant very friendly and helpful!
The staff at the reception needs huge improvement in customer service! HUGE!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable Hébergement at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

You have taken time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you for this.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bordeaux hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Comfortable room, comfortable bed, air conditioning, welcoming receptionists, helpful courteous staff. Expensive bar prices and don't stay for breakfast it's cheaper in the cafe bars. Nicely situated almost on a tram stop and near the station St. Jean. Definitely would return. The restaurant was closed during my stay so cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable Hébergement at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
#43 of 174 in Bordeaux
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#15 of 174 in Bordeaux
950 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
0.1 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
Address: 5 rue Robert Lateulade, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, the Mercure Bordeaux Centre hotel is just 10 minutes away from the Meriadeck business district and the historic center. Chosen as "European Best Destination 2015" and "Best City 2016," discover the fascinating Cité du Vin museum and exhibition center and other famous attractions. The hotel has 10 modular meeting rooms and the "K'fé Lounge" restaurant, which offers a modern, seasonal menu. Paid public car park and access for guests with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Centre Meriadeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing