We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel
Ranked #38 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room is small. By the time we laid out our 2 suitcases, there was hardly any space to move. The breakfast area is small. Around 10 people from a tour group were overtly packing their lunch (bread rolls, cold meats, sandwiches, fruit) into their bags, from the breakfast trays. This made it more congested as they were busy walking from their table to gather their breakfast and their pack lunch. It also depleted the food trays faster than normal.

It takes around 20 minutes to walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanetOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie R, Manager at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share us your mind on your stay in our hotel.
We hope to receive you next time in Bordeaux.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel as a part of Group. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff was very Nice. The staff in the hotelbar was very welcoming and Nice. The receptionist was very welcoming and Nice. The only minus with the hotel was that is carpets in all rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianHellevang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie R, Manager at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share us your mind on your stay in our hotel.
We hope to receive you next time.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a 30 day group tour of Europe, and it was very disappointing. We had an early start the next day, but sleep was impossible due to the noise from the restaurant and bar area. Despite the fact that many rooms overlook this area, the hotel allowed a large, loud party to continue until 2am. When we complained the next morning, the staff just shrugged their shoulders.
The luggage service is also a joke. We paid and arranged for our suitcases to be collected and delivered downstairs in the morning, but ended up having to the job ourselves. Others were late the next day because their suitcases were not collected, while another couple had their luggage taken back up their rooms as they were getting our tour bus! Our tour director also wasted a couple of hours the previous night knocking on every door of the hotel looking for luggage that had been delivered to the wrong rooms.
I would never stay here again, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie R, Manager at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I have read the comment you wrote in Tripadvisor after your last stay in our hotel.
I have read all your remarks with the utmost attention.
I am very surprised about a party until 2 am because we don’t accept late party.
But I would like present you my sincere apologies for this experience because it does not match the service quality we want to deliver to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. We checked in and were relaxing in our room, with the door locked from the inside when to our surprise the door opened and another customer arrived having been checked into our room! From that point on, the key to our room never worked. Each time we arrived back at our room tired, we had to go back to the reception to get the key redone. Very frustrating. However the worst part was the temperature in the room. It was stuffy and hot. The air conditioning did not work. When I called the reception I was told we were between seasons. They had turned off the heating but not yet turned on the cooling system. They could not do anything about it!!! They just advised me to open the window. As we were on the ground floor, that was ok in the daytime but impossible at night. We did not sleep at all either night due to the heat in the room. Just dreadful - whatever happened to making your guests comfortable?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Noscreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie R, Manager at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I have read the comment you wrote in Tripadvisor after your last stay in our hotel.
I have read all your remarks with the utmost attention.
It is very difficult to have air conditioned during spring months because maximum degrees are between 11 and 24. The room key card can be also inactivated with a cellular phone near by.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It is easy to find in a nice, quiet area that was just a short walk from the business that we were visiting and restaurants/bars etc.
Good receptionist, very welcoming and helpful with showing us to the parking. Rooms were nicely done in dark, opulent colours and very clean. Our room was small but well thought out with plenty of lamps and space to put things and did not feel crowded at all.
Not sure about the disposable coffee cups in the room, would prefer proper cups but it was a nice addition to have coffee making facilities in the room, this is something that you don't often get in French hotels.
Parking is under the hotel but if you park outside they will direct you to it, then it is just a couple of flights of stairs up into the reception from your car. If you have a tall car (we have a landrover) park near the entrance/exit to the car park as the roof lowers as you get further in.
We slept well, the beds are comfy but there was a a rumbling noise from air con (I think) that did wake us a couple of times...it sounded a bit like being on a ferry!
Good blackout curtains in the room so you could lie in if you have the time.
Breakfast was OK, better than a lot of French hotels, good bread and croissants, but I think we have been spoiled by German hotel breakfasts :)
Really liked the quirky sculptures, particularly the hippo in the pool!
Would stop here again either on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you have a tall car (we have a landrover) park near the entrance/exit to the underground car park...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie R, Directrice at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for the time you spent writing a comment on Tripadvisor website and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Your comment is very important for us to improve the quality of our services and I will share it with our team. We are looking forward to welcome you an other time.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank showbizandi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sophie R, directrice at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Bordeaux but not too far away for a 30 minuit stroll or a
2 Euro bus ride or taxi ride, prices vary for taxis. 10 minuit walk down to the river .
Very comfortable room, clean and fresh with a giant size bed. Good bathroom. TV and mini bar in the room I had. Great buffet breakfast with large variety of food.
Some very good restraunts in the area especially down some of the side streets leading to the river.
Look for my reviews in the restraunt section under Bordeaux, Chartrons area.
You can book this hotel with confidence.

Room Tip: Avoid booking taxis at reception as they usually arive with 10 Euros already on the meter. Bus stop...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie R, Directrice at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for the time you spent writing a comment on Tripadvisor website and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Your comment is very important for us to improve the quality of our services and I will share it with our team. We are looking forward to welcome you an other time.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
1.7 mi away
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
#41 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,004 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#21 of 174 in Bordeaux
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#27 of 174 in Bordeaux
936 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel

Address: 81 cours Saint Louis, 33300, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#21 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city of Bordeaux, the 4 star Mercure Bordeaux Chartrons features a superb victorian facade, its 215 rooms making for a rather refined and pleasant abode. Easily accessible and ideally situated near the exhibition centre facilities, its wine themeddecor will immediately make you feel as though you are in the Bordelais vineyards. Enjoy fine cuisine in our "Chais St Louis" restaurant, service on the patio on fine days. The hotel offers 20 meeting rooms overlooking the garden and a private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Chartrons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing