We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #10 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We loved this charming little hotel. It is in the center of the city, easy walking to all the sites. The staff were very helpful with directions and suggestions of what to see. The room was spotless and quiet and the breakfast which was included was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    211
    69
    12
    3
See reviews for
44
263
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Atentive staff! WiFi wasn´t working, which was a burden. Rooms are a small but recently rebuilt.
Very well located in the old part of town, closed for cars. The street is very calm. The lobby is decadent with furniture needing new upholstery, probably since long!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Conveniently located three-star hotel located in the shopping district (rue du Temple), a stone’s throw from the tram stops for those wishing to travel further afield.

We were warmly greeted upon check in, staff had a sound understanding of English. Decor on the ground floor was classic French with a grand stone staircase being one of its dominating features. Room was clean and adequate with complimentary wifi, although not considered spacious. Decent breakfast with choice of hot food (eggs and cocktail sausages), and fresh orange juice.

Some other observations:

My friend’s luggage finally arrived at the hotel at around midnight, but we didn’t receive a phone call to notify us of the arrival. I only found out coincidentally when I called reception the following morning over a different matter. Perhaps this is due to miscommunications during staff handover?

There appeared to be only one staff on night shifts, which may explain slight delays with requests on busier evenings.


Overall, I would gladly recommend this hotel on its room quality and location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissierulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark , South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We , a married couple , were treated to excellent service , friendly professional personnel and a good worthwhile French breakfast everyday.The hotel is well situated in a quiet street in the center of Bordeaux close to all the sightseeing highlights of Bordeaux , restaurants and shopping centers.The tram is nearby as is the river .The hotel room had a double bed and well equipped en-suite bathroom , although quite small .Excellent hotel at a reasonable price .We spent 2 days in Brittany and on our return trip to Bordeaux to deliver our rented car , we again stayed over at this gem !

Room Tip: The quality of the hotel surprised us ...it was spot on !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielhendrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is an old elegant building with an imposing, simply elegant entrance, on a full of French character and atmosphere side street, at a very few minutes walk to the center of Bordeaux, shopping, restaurants, even a modern street car to take you everywhere much further. We came to Bordeaux for the Girondine Monument, but it's so much more to see and admire. Shopping is better than in Paris, less busy and even better prices, people are pleasantly mannered and helpful.

We spent 5 nights at the Grand Hotel francais, and were perfectly pleased with the room, though a bit of a smaller size accommodated all our luggage, this one voluminous enough as we're on a almost three months voyage. Our room was on the fifth floor, with a nice balcony and the old fashion elevator amused us as a relique of some at least half a century back time. Yet the stairs are large, original to the building, witness of grander times of the past. All was spotless, including a pleasant bathroom, by now we are being used with the toilet by itself in a separate room, fashion we found at the Marriott in the States and in Mexico.

We enjoyed breakfast, all quality, plentiful, French fresh produce, and had fun with the juicer where you throw in whole oranges and take your glass of delicious drink in seconds.

Personnel was correct, obliging and as some other guests observed not excessively warm, but I'd say that it's a rather intentional politeness, as not to err on the side of too friendly instead of fine professionalism. There are a few obviously more luxury hotel, true 5 stars, but we found this one to be delivering excellent value at reasonable prices. On our last day, the hotel called us a taxi, for all our luggage and the driver took us to the car rental, stayed with us until we got the keys to the vehicle. We'll definitely stay at this hotel, if we'll visit the city again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logrono, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location for sightseeing. Small, but cozy hotel. Friendly enough staff. Strange that the toilet is separate from rest of bathroom, but not a huge deal unless you plan on spending a lot of time in the room. Parking was not difficult; certainly not as difficult as it is made out to be in the reviews. Grand hommes garage is very close and hotel guests get a discount.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lpkspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The location is excellent as is the breakfast. The stairwell impressive but the lift was small and very slow to respond to calls. Our bedroom, on the fourth floor had a king and a single bed in it although we are a couple. It was too small for two beds and the gap between the bed , toilet and wardrobe minuscule.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#5 of 173 in Bordeaux
998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 12 Rue Du Temple, 33000, Bordeaux, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bordeaux
#15 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western FR, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bordeaux
Bordeaux Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing