We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good w/great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good w/great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

just like other euro hotel, the room is small. but, it is clean. the location is very good, we can walk to tour center and restauants and riverside. however, we are asked to pay for the breakfast which is included in our room rate. they ask us to show the paper to prove our room rate inicludes breakfast. they said the room rate doesn't include the breakfast most of the time. they are lying. on best western websit, the room rate includes breakfast all the time. also, they should have all our booking information in their computer system. there is no way they don't know we paid for the room & breakfast. I guess they just want to make more money on us since we paid for special offer which is almost 30% discount. So, be very careful and always have the booking information w/you untill finishing check-out procedure

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edge91210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    202
    67
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
254
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I recently stayed at the BW Grand Hotel Francais in the middle of the shopping district in Bordeaux. The location cannot be beat and it is one street away from the tram in the midst of the pedestrian shopping district. The hotel was charming and well-appointed. The room was modern, newly renovated, and clean. It was a tiny room, but we didn't need much space as we were out shopping and enjoying the nightlife. The room was a real bargain, too. Breakfast came with the room and looked delicious, but we had to leave early to catch the train and didn't have time to try it. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovefrance72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Excellent location in the Centre of Bordeaux. Clean, comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast which was included in our price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurice1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
373 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Francais our last two nights in France. It was hard coming back to a hotel room after having a spacious 2 BR apartment is Sarlat. We had an early flight out and I chose this hotel specifically for its location as I didn't want to bother with parking - (very smart!). At first we were given a room on the 3rd floor which was so small you had to go outside to change your mind. We immediately returned to the front desk and were reassigned to #403 which was more spacious and comfortable and had a view of the rooftops. I like the location as all our needs and the sights we wanted to see were within walking distance and public transportation is everywhere. The hotel in on a quiet street, and being on the forth floor, we left the windows open to the street at night. This is not your plush hotel, but it is comfortable, has friendly staff, an ample buffet breakfast and is reasonably priced. Coming back to Bordeaux, I would have no problem staying here again, (in one of the larger rooms). Larry & Kelly

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

My wife andd I stayed here 3 nights. The location is fine in a quiet street, right in the middle of everything, and transportation is nearby (buses and tram). I would recommend most visitors staying downtown to use public transportation, which is really excellent in Bordeaux.

The rooms are very different in size and quality, and our room was among the smallest I have ever seen. It could hardly accomodate 2 adults with normal baggage, and should only be used as a single room.

The breakfast was included in the rate and was nothing special, but ok by French standards.

We used the free wifi, which worked well in our room. If you do not bring your own computer there is a business center (=a computer with a printer) availabe, but at a pretty steep cost.

The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly, but if we go back to Bordeaux, we would probably try to find a hotel with more spacious rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NemoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in August 2010. On two of these nights we were woken up in the middle of the night by the hotel fire alarm going off (without good reason). The staff did not seem to think that this was a problem and refused to apologise. Having not slept properly on the first night I went down to breakfast and was greated by scenes of chaos. There was no working coffee machine and they had run out of bread! The service was terrible. Our room was okay, but the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work and so the bathroom was very damp. The nearby parking is also extremely expensive. This is a poor hotel which is clearly badly run and the staff have no interest in making a guest's stay enjoyable. There must be a better hotel in Bordeaux in the same price range. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Nice city centre hotel, quiet, helpful staff,close to shopping and resturants and attractions. Mid price range.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais

Property: BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 12 rue du Temple, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bordeaux
#15 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bordeaux
Bordeaux Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing