We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Ranked #37 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on a 3 week holiday to France and Spain. The bedroom was very clean and tidy. Martine was very helpful at all times. The breakfast was good and the overall experience was excellent. We were directed across the bridge to central Bordeaux to eat but we found some good, cheap restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. For a budget hotel, it was very good value and we would recommend it highly to anybody visiting Bordeaux and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THIERS, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Voyageurs, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear customers,

We did appreciate very much all your comments about our establishment .

It is always very carefully that we read your appreciations about our services quality.
That is why we are so glad to learn that you enjoyed all our services.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hôtel des Voyageurs.

Best regards
Martine FERNANDES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    56
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
71
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I am originally from Bordeaux but been abroad for the past 10 years so when I came with my fiancé I was looking for a place that would allow us to explore this beautiful city on foot and city bike (1 euro/day, max 1 hour at the time) while offering free parking (this can be challenging). Came across this hotel and it is now the place we would stay whenever we go back! Location is perfect, bike rental is right across & the rooms are the right balance between simple/modern furniture and stone wall that are one of the characteristic of bordeaux's architecture. Management was extremely nice and helpful and I was glad to see that a lot of efforts have been made to develop this part of the town, uses to be a bit edgy at night before but now feels safe.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laetitia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THIERS, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Voyageurs, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Martine FERNANDES

Dear customers,

We did appreciate very much all your comments about our establishment .

It is always very carefully that we read your appreciations about our services quality.
That is why we are so glad to learn that you enjoyed all our services.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hôtel des Voyageurs.

Best regards
Martine FERNANDES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a charming property located on the far side of the river close to the Pierre Bridge. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel on the second floor. The room and bathroom were very clean and cosy. A good shower was provided and there was ample lighting and space for luggage. Martine is a wonderful concierge, but as she does not speak English and our French is limited, we could not converse in depth. She really tried to help us find free on-street parking in the area, no mean feat that we could write a book about. The main limitation is that there is no access to the hotel to unload. We found a paid parking place near the hotel, then walked there to get the room, then back to the car for luggage to the hotel, and then the quest for parking that did turn out well. But we had to use our GPS on walking mode to find our way back to the hotel. We opted for the breakfast at the hotel that was always ready for us in the morning with a thermos of coffee and orange juice. There are many cafes and restaurants in the area, but our best find was the Asian shop down the street to the right of the hotel with fabulous take-aways at a very good price. From the hotel, one can easily walk to all attractions in Central Bordeaux. On a day wine tour we took to the Medoc from the Tourist Office (booked ahead online), we heard the horror stories of some other travellers about their hotels in the centre of the city - we were exceptionally happy with our choice and thank Martine for all her kindnesses to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THIERS, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Voyageurs, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear customers,

We did appreciate very much all your comments about our establishment .

It is always very carefully that we read your appreciations about our services quality.
That is why we are so glad to learn that you enjoyed all our services.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hôtel des Voyageurs.

Best regards
Martine FERNANDES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were made to feel very welcome, despite some funny moments with language. The rooms were comfortable and light, with a good shower and we were happy to relax over breakfast before going out for the day. Bordeaux is an elegant and sophisticated city and it was excellent to have a base that was such good value and so pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0ses39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were so happy to find this charming hotel right near to where are friends live. It is also perfectly placed to access everything necessary - trams, restaurants, bars, cafes, pharmacy, and hairdresser; all of which we utilised. The owners were pleasant, helpful and accommodating, even though are French was limited. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and well-equipped including a large shower which we Americans appreciate. We would recommend it highly to any traveler to Bordeaux and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Agreed with most of the other reviews- clean, comfortable, well situated. We spent 4 nights in this beautiful city in the last week of September. It was unusually hot for early autumn 30c and it didn't cool down at night, The hotel didn't have air con therefore needed the windows open and it was very noisy. The owners do not speak a word of English so if you don't speak any french I would recommend a phrase book. That said we were made to feel very welcome, the owners are very pleasant and it is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Des Voyageurs. The rooms are small but clean and very well laid out. Just near the bridge that leads to the old city where there a many great restaurants to eat at. The owners were very friendly and helpful. There is a tram and buses on the street outside and a laundromat across the road. We had no issues with noise and the (continental) breakfast was great. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bplpgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THIERS, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Voyageurs, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We are quite happy about all the friendly things you wrote about our hotel. Always trying to do our best for our visitors. We will hope to see you again.

Sincerely yours
Mme Martine FERNANDES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Chantry
Hotel Le Chantry
#12 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#21 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Maison Du Lierre
La Maison Du Lierre
#40 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
#20 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Voyageurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Voyageurs

Property: Hotel Des Voyageurs
Address: 3 B avenue Thiers, 33100, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Des Voyageurs 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Des Voyageurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing