We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay when in Bordeaux” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Seze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Seze
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay when in Bordeaux”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had booked this hotel 14 month in advance at the cheap price of €147. Considering the full price of our room was €258, I can say we made a good deal. The problem though was that because we booked to much in advance, the hotel clerk at the check in could find our reservation. Luckily I had a print version of my confirmation with my so we were able to have our room at the rate we booked it for. The room itself was nicely furnished and had an excellent AC system and TV setup. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were quiet good as well. The latter being of a very high importance when wanting to sleep well in my opinion.
The bathroom of our room had a good heating system so the mirror didn't fog up. It was very spacious as well, which you wouldn't expect of a bathroom.
Breakfast was always very varied and tasty. The breakfast buffet came in two versions: a continental and full buffet version. Being €13 and €23 respectively. The latter being a bit on the expensive side in my opinion. Any sort of coffee or tea needed to be asked for and the servers were able to propose a good variety of coffee and tea that was available.

We had spent 8 nights in this hotel and it was by far the best experience we had in recent years. The hotel staff was very friendly, the rooms we very nice and comfortable and breakfast was always enjoyable. There was nothing more you could ask for.

Room Tip: Try to book a year or more in advance to get a reduced rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWearyTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    145
    39
    14
    5
See reviews for
42
197
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just enjoyed three nights staying at the Hotel de Seze. Staff are friendly and welcoming and the hotel is stylishly decorated and in very good shape. We enjoyed lunch and breakfast in the restaurant, all good. It is very centrally located and I thoroughly recommend it to all travellers with an appropriate budget (its at the top end). If we go to Bordeaux again we shall definitely return. Bordeaux itself is a wonderful city and a definite must-visit. Go!

Room Tip: Rooms are on the small side I believe so choose the best your budget will allow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyVisitor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room was a "have to walk sideways around the bed" one, but OK for the two nights we were there. Otherwise this is a very good quality hotel, right in town - but easy to get to by car. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful - always a plus in our book. A huge range of eating options nearby, a lot of tourist attractions within easy walking distance, a large park great for relaxing - and Bordeaux is a great place for shopping!

No fault of the hotel, but we found it a real mission to find the exit to the underground public carpark opposite the hotel - make sure you work it out well or you will be driving around looking for it for 10 minutes as we did.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wakapaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel is expensive, it is worth it if you want to stay in a great location and in a beautiful room. The staff were lovely. The room was one of the nicest we've stayed in and the bathroom was big and also very nicely finished. The location is perfect and it's on a beautiful tree-lined avenue. We left our holiday booking too late and lots of places were booked out so we splashed out on here and offset the extra cost by only renting a car for our second leg and skipping the cost of breakfast. We had coffee and croissant breakfasts in a cafe round the corner. We also went cheaper on our other hotel in La Rochelle (see my La Rochelle review). We really loved Bordeaux, there are loads of restaurants, the food was great, it has loads of shops and it's big enough to have lots to see for a few days. Hotel de Sez was a real treat to stay in too if you can afford it. - Irish couple in their 40s

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is our second consecutive year staying at Hotel de Seze. Obviously the fact that my wife and I have returned there is proof that in our opinion and estimation this place is hard to beat when compared to similar priced establishments in Bordeaux.

All the comforts are provided. My only criticism is the room bar refrigerator hardly keeps drinks cold but then, ice can be obtained from the bar.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 4th level with a walk outside balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pleasant and very clean small hotel with very helpful check in clerks. My room was small but very nice, with a balcony, which was nice. The bathroom is very small but marble; no bathtub and a shower that was kind of confusing and got water everywhere, but had a nice rain showerhead. One thing I really missed in this hotel is that there is not really a real lobby/lounge where you can sit; the attached restaurant is all set up for food service so you can't just sit comfortably and work in the lobby like I usually do in a hotel. The service in the restaurant is friendly but a bit inattentive. Like others have said, better to get breakfast elsewhere. All in all this hotel is a good, clean, upscale choice but would benefit from some more versatile seating/lounge areas.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Hotel de Seze is located very conveniently in the heart of Bordeaux close to many shops, cafes and bars. We were welcomed by the friendly staff who were helpful during our 2 night stay. We happened to be here during the World Cup and watched a game in the Hotel de Seze bar. We had several glasses of wine each, plus hors d'oeuvres for only 10 euros each - a special for the game. During our stay, the staff helped me to print out a document, scan and email it for no extra charge. The rooms are fairly small but very nicely decorated and very clean. There is a lot of attention to detail - robes and slippers in the room, wifi, complimentary bottle of mineral water. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Seze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Seze

Property: Hotel de Seze
Address: 7 rue de Seze | 23 allées de Tourny, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Seze 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de Seze is located a 5-minute walk from the Grand Théâtre in Bordeaux city center. The elegance of this hotel proposes 55 rooms including 3 suites that blend harmoniously decorated in the sprit of the eighteenth century with exclusive furnitures. The color and decoration of bold wallpaper deliver an intimate and cozy ambiance. This new address at Bordeaux in an elegant house with contemporary notes brings you in card club spirit, relaxed around his restaurant,Le Comptoir de Seze, a Lounge, a Spa and private golf. Le Comptoir de Sèze is inviting you to enjoy a convivial moment in a cosy ambiance. Our Chef Elodie BOGNER offers a "bistronomique" French cuisine, fine and creative, is combining tradition and contemporary, based on seasonal products. Enter the confidence of a Spa where purity is synonymous with elegance. Unique site dedicated to enthusiasts of relaxation and well-being. Cellars beneath the sleek design, 3 treatment rooms including 1 double, discover true relaxation with our rituals and our care practitioners confirmed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Seze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Seze Hotel
De Seze Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing