We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to tram, restaurants”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I'm not familiar with Bordeaux so I can't speak to the location of this hotel, but it was an easy walk to the tram, restaurants, and the river. The room was clean and nice although the bathroom rather small. As a musician I appreciated the many musical touches (see pictures) throughout. We enjoyed a varied breakfast although I had to ask for hot water for tea three times. The hallway lights are motion sensitive and some of them are not very sensitive, so be prepared to walk in semi darkness for a few moments in some hallways, and familiarize yourself with the special light switches (especially outside your room) to turn the lights on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DLWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Majestic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is wonderful. The interiors have been updated, are very clean, and quite large. We were in room 206, a Privilege Room. We were initially concerned because it is directly in front of the elevator. But the elevator doesn't "ding" and there is an extra door to eliminate hallway noise. The bathroom was quite large and the water pressure was fabulous. Our kids were in room 207, a superieur room with two beds of unequal size - they had to draw straws to see who would get the double :). The location is ideal on a quiet one-way street just off the main plaza. Walking distance to just about everything in the fabulous city. We took advantage of the parking garage - which you must reserve in advance - and were thankful we did. Parking is non-existent in the area. Stay away from the breakfast however - overpriced for what you get. The staff was very friendly in a reserved, French way. They were quite helpful when we need their assistance but for the most part stayed in the background. No bellhops to speak of btw. The most enjoyable part for me was the very heavy room key that you left at the front desk when you left the hotel - very nostalgic and old school - we joked that Poirot's spirit was roaming the hallways. I highly recommend this very lovely, affordable hotel. Nearby restaurants of note: Elio's on the boulevard and L'Orleans right on the corner....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We wanted a well-priced hotel in the centre of Bordeaux where we could spend a few days exploring the city. A search on the internet found the Majestic which seemed to meet our requirements. This is a bed and breakfast hotel. On advice gleamed form the web we had booked “Privelege” bedrooms which we found to be comfortable and reasonably sized. The bathrooms were clean and everything functioned. The television was of a reasonable size and could be viewed from the bed without squinting. Two of our rooms were opposite the lifts but they had double doors and we were not disturbed by any noise. The weather was hot and we used the air conditioners which were effective and not too noisy. Breakfast was in a lounge opposite the reception desk which could be used during the day as an area to sit and relax. Newspapers in French and English were provided. Breakfast was the normal continental type with juices, cereals, yogurt, cheeses croissants etc. There are plenty of good restaurants within 10 minutes’ walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A great central location, perfect for shopping dining and night life. But still quiet enough for sleep and relaxation. Staff all pleasant and helpful, decor nice and quite clean. Rooms have reasonable amenities but need more power points at the desk to be suitable for business travellers, I could only connect 1 device at a time, not really enough when I have cameras, phone and computer to keep charged. But the location did mean I didn't spend much time in my room to much to see and do.

Room Tip: Stayed in 109 & 207, both reasonable 207 is a twin with a single and a double bed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Third time I'm here. The hotel staffs are friendly, reasonable price and very well located. Walkable distance to shops, restaurants, and supermarket. The bus and tram stations are just 2 minutes away. Stayed in the hotels around the same price in the city, this is definitely my choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K_HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was chosen primarily because having been to Bordeaux previously I understood the hassle of travelling with a significant amount of luggage and trucking it to a hotel in a pedestrian only area over cobbled streets . Unfortunately many of Bordeaux's hotels are located in this area.
Our GPS did not seem to understand the one way streets in Bordeaux but after manoeuvring our way around that situation we reached the hotel . Great parking right in front of the hotel and I could see the entrance to the parking garage adjacent . Fantastic . Nice lobby and breakfast area . I had found this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked directly with the hotel ,obviously I had missed something important . I was told that I should have booked the parking in advance as there was limited space and although it was possible to drive up to load and unload the bags we would have to park a couple of blocks away in the public underground parking . The hotel has an arrangement with the parking garage and if you take your parking ticket to the tourist office they will issue you with another ticket at considerably less cost . Strangely enough this worked to our advantage as the following day we observed a car backing up out of that adjacent garage with inches to spare on each side . Really a bit of a nightmare .
The hotel room was quite large , clean and quiet , breakfast was good , reception very helpful. Located minutes from the centre and many excellent restaurants . I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to others .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a recent visit to Bordeaux.

The hotel is in a beautiful 18th century building, which I loved, as it does have a lot of charm. Our room was actually fairly spacious however, it was very tired looking. Drab brown colour, not a lot of light. The bathroom was clean and decent, but the shower was tiny.

Because the building is old, it doesn't seem to be insulated very well as the street noise was incredibly loud, which made it difficult to sleep well.

Overall it was a decent stay, the location is really good and the staff were great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amkb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des 4 Soeurs
Hotel des 4 Soeurs
#79 of 174 in Bordeaux
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.2 mi away
Acanthe Hotel
Acanthe Hotel
#35 of 174 in Bordeaux
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 2 rue de Conde, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#14 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: £130 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing