We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy stay at Hotel Continental Bordeaux!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights 1st & 2nd of August in the triple room....everything was clean and fresh and comfortable. The air conditioning was lovely to have and functioning perfectly. We had a small terrace looking down to the street below. No noise..... and nice to be able to leave terrace door windows open for night air. The staff at reception all extremely professional and charming! The breakfast in the morning was delicious! Fresh fruit salad and selection of croissants and hot creamy coffee or tea if you like.....all really just perfect. All the fruit juices by the way were fresh and from a selection of four....
The only disappointment was the toilet in the room being extremely small....small as in you had to reverse in and knees at door on the inside....otherwise....yes I would return again!
Location of hotel so central!
Will be back!
Thank you
Rosaleen H.Doyle

Room Tip: Triple room more space than double....nice terrace too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosaleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conti33, Directeur général at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for your warm comment about our hotel and the staff. We are really happy that you 've enjoyed your stay with us and that you share your experience.

We hope to have the great pleasure to welcoming you again for a next stay in Bordeaux !

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well situated only a few minutes’ walk from the Golden Triangle. Asked for and was allocated a room on an upper floor – pleasing rooftop views, although a nearby extractor vent was rather noisy so we had to shut the window and use the aircon. Comfortable beds. Modern fittings in the bathroom, but the wall bracket for the shower head was fixed which meant the shower head could only be moved from side to side, not up or down. The breakfast was OK for our simple tastes, but spoiled by some poor quality constituents: for example guests who had chosen pains au chocolat or croissants were leaving them unfinished. Nonetheless, the hotel is among the less expensive and is good value overall – we’d stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank royalcrescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conti33, Directeur général at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We thank you very much for feed back and your kind comment about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Bordeaux. We hope to have the great pleasure to welcoming you again a next in our city.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As many have stated, the location is perfect - easy to get to from the airport (by the local bus - not the shuttle bus) and easy to catch the tram to the train station. Plus - it is right near all the main sights of Bordeaux and many nice places to eat. We requested a room on a high level with a view - and we had a room with a small balcony and interesting street-scape views. Yes, the room is small, but it was in very good condition and clean, as was the bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in our rate, and it was quite adequate. A great location to explore this really elegant and interesting city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vicolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conti33, Directeur général at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We thank you very much for feed back and your kind comment about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Bordeaux. We hope to have the great pleasure to welcoming you again a next in our city.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in July, travelling with 2 young children and stayed in the family room. This was spacious, clean and comfortable with air con. Had a nice little roof terrace but did have to access this from a steep set of stairs, a bit steep for our 2 year old, better suited to older children. Staff very friendly and helpful and it was a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luigiduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conti33, Directeur général at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We thank you very much for feed back and your kind comment about our hotel.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our family room. We hope to welcome you again for another stay in Bordeaux with all your family.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Good hotel in a very central location. Rooms quite small, but clean with good facilities. Reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast was a little disappointing in terms of choice and the breakfast room was quite messy when we arrived at 9.15. I would stay there again as a stopover (we were going on somewhere else the following day) but I would go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joynyjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conti33, Directeur général at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel and his team. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take good note about the breakfast to improve our service. We hope to have the great pleasure to welcoming you again in Bordeaux.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews regarding its location and it did not disappoint.
The hotel was very close to all amenities such as restaurants and bars etc and only a 10 minute walk from the central tram station for connections to Gare St Jean train terminal. We requested a balcony which was provided for us and had lovely views across the roof tops of Bordeaux. Overall, an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Request a balcony to maximise your enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian2935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conti33, Directeur général at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for the trust you have shown us in choosing our hotel for your stay in Bordeaux, and we are happy that you have enjoyed location and services of it.

Thank you also for your warm commentary, we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Bordeaux .

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We originally were in another hotel in Bordeaux that was terrible. Luckily we made the call to move hotels, and to our surprise the Hotel Continental was running a last minute special. Changing to this hotel saved our stay in Bordeaux.

The hotel is in a great location! You can walk to anything: restaurants, shopping, the river, parks, metro... anything. The room itself was small, but nice and clean. The AC worked great, the views were nice and, while it's not a big deal while on vacation, they had a couple of english speaking TV channels -- nice added benefit.

The staff was super nice, too.

A place worth staying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conti33, Directeur général at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir

We thank you very much for your feed back and your warm comments about our team. We are glad you've enjoyed our hotel and our services. It is always a pleasure to contribute to a pleasant stay in our city , and we hope to have the great pleasure to welcoming you again in Bordeaux.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier - Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 174 in Bordeaux
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#7 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental by HappyCulture

Address: 10 Rue Montesquieu, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Triangle, cultural and historical center of Bordeaux, the Continental is a legendary hotel in the Gironde. A few steps from the major brands, discover this sublime boutique hotel for your stay in Bordeaux. Every day, discover our HappyTime "Wine & Cheese" from 6pm to 8pm, you are our guests ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing