We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and well located.”
Review of Hotel Le Chantry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Chantry
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is just a short walk to all the bars and restaurants you could wish for and having a free car park made this a bargain one night stay. Spacious and clean triple room. On the downside., there was some noise from what I think came from one of the apartments behind the hotel and the communal areas and corridors are a little dark and dingy. Staff were pleasant enough and we really liked Bordeaux. Planning to come back again and would use the same hotel but may look for something better if not driving.
A well deserved 4 out of 5 when you take into account this was cheaper than many budget hotels.
,

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms overlooking the car park at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deanb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Bland and corporate but well priced and clean and tidy. Short walk to the town centre. Had breakfast cheaper in town first morning but on second found it easier to take in the hotel and leave directly afterwards. Great to have a car park on site. Didn't see much of the staff but the receptionist was smiley and polite.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KH8163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If I traveled to Bordeaux again I would choose a different hotel to stay in. For the few days we were there, it was fine. But the staff was consistently unfriendly, the room was dark, and I found it to be a bit far from everything. I am always a fan of staying a bit outside the center of everything - I think it's nice to be a little outside the hustle bustle. However, this was just a bit too far for me.

Honestly, I think if we walked into the hotel and the staff greeted us warmly and gave us recommendations I would have had a different outlook on the hotel as a whole. But they were cold and seemed to just really not care. They were also pretty unhelpful when it came to asking for help making reservations or providing recommendations - they were almost annoyed by it. It was strange.

The city of Bordeaux is incredible, but I did not think this hotel lived up to the charm and beauty of the city it was in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We choose to stay here 2 nights on our recent visit because of the free parking. We arrived in the evening after 5pm on a weekday and no problem in getting a parking space. The receptionist was friendly and helpful.

Our room on the 5th floor was facing the street but surprisingly quiet. The bathroom was quite big except the shower area rather tight. Good room size with a fairly big writing desk but no power socket for charging near the desk, as all the outlets are located at a corner at the other end of the room with no desk, so we have to put the devices on the floor when charging which is odd for a business type hotel!

We took a tram in the morning to the river front and walked through the pedestrain shopping area back to the hotel. The walk is actually quite long. The tram stop is just round the corner across the street. Don't ever try to drive to city even after 7pm as it was impossible to find any free street parking!

The restaurant next to it was convenient but open only at 730pm. It wasn't as good as some other restaurants that we have tried in the city for a few extra euro though.

We didn't eat in the hotel as there is bakery shop round the corner which serves well for our breakfast.

On the day of check out we requested to let us park the car a bit longer as we have a late evening flight. Initially the receptionist was unwilling to grant our request but later agreed to let us park till 2pm. When we left at 2pm we saw there were still ample parking space so I thought the hotel could have been more accommodative to our request.

The drive to the airport is relatively short and we stopby at a Carrefour on the way to kill our time. Overall it was a good hotel but if you don't need parking I think might be other choices in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We travelled to Bordeaux for a short break and stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was in a great location; although not in the old town, it was, as others have said a very short walk away. The reception staff gave a friendly and efficient service. Our street-facing room on the 5th floor was remarkably quiet and the bed was comfortable. There was hardly an abundance of space, but that wasn’t what we were looking for; it was simple and very clean and ideal for an inexpensive mini-break. There is (I think) just one ordinary bus route that runs from the airport – line 1. This passes the hotel and stops across the street perhaps 100 metres on. For 1,40 Euro it is a bargain and extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bienypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a quality budget hotel: no frills but it is excellent value. It has free parking in the same building on a first-come-first-served basis. We had an inside non-smoking room on the fourth floor. It was clean and it was quiet. The wi-fi connection worked without having to be rebooted every five minutes. The bathroom was huge and there was plenty of hot water. The bathroom was so big it made me think: I've stayed in smaller hotel rooms in Paris. Location is important and the hotel is an easy ten minute walk to Place Gambetta. Their breakfast is basic but not skimpy. The duty staff, especially Virginie, were very helpful. They steered us to a couple of good places for a snack or late afternoon tea. If you are looking for a reasonable price place to stay in Bordeaux I doubt you will find a better bargain. Whitebeard83

Room Tip: Bordeaux is a busy city. Book a room on the inside. If you are foot weary at the end of the day, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitebeard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had room 309 for a 1 night stay on our drive from Paris to Spain. The room was quite large (double bed and single bed) and also warm and comfortable.

The spacious bathroom looked quite new and had a good shower (only, no bath) with ample hot water.

Reception was helpful and friendly.

We picked this hotel based on its proximity to the centre of the city and availability of parking.

The free wifi was reliable and a nice touch.

We enjoying the view of rooftops from our room.

The hotel is quite central, a short 10 minute stoll to the plaza in front of the grand theatre.

We thought the breakfast wasn't good value (cheap products for the price), so if we had that option again we would walk down the street to the cafe a few doors down or go to the shopping centre 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the back (over carpark) to see the pretty bordeaux rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 174 in Bordeaux
984 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#30 of 174 in Bordeaux
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
0.5 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#7 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chantry

Address: 155 rue Georges Bonnac, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Chantry 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Chantry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chantry Hotel
Le Chantry Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing