We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmm - bit of a mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #18 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mmm - bit of a mixed bag”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Royal. Fairly easy to access from the airport. If you have bulky luggage probably best to take the shuttle (Navette) directly to the St Jean Station. Taxis appear prohibitively expensive. If travelling light, easy to take Ligne 1 service bus to city centre and take tram to St Jean station. Tram passes close to hotel front door.

The hotel is not in the city centre - but is well served by the frequent tram service. It is also pleasant to walk along the river bank to the centre of town. Allow about 30 minutes.

The hotel was generally ok. Our room wasn't ready on arrival - even though it was 1600 hours. The cleaner sent us back down to reception together with heavy case, where the very helpful receptionist fixed us up with another room on floor 2.

The room can best be described as small - with absolutely minimum storage, no drawers at all. Only a narrow space to navigate between the end of the bed and the wall. Window was frosted glass - probably just as well as there was only wall and rooftops to be seen when the window was open. Free safe deposit, tea/coffee facilities and aircon were much appreciated. Bed was large and comfortable and no sign of the bugs mentioned in recent review! Bathroom and shower were of a reasonable size and there was always a good supply of really hot water. Room and bathroom were kept very clean. Luxury it certainly was not, but provided a reasonable place to sleep - but would not have liked to spend any time in the room during the day.

We took the breakfast option - very good value for money and made a good start to the day. The breakfast area doubled as a bar in the evening. We had a drink there one evening but as we were the only people there it wasn't much of an occasion!

As with most cities, the area around the station is pretty seedy although we felt safe walking back to the hotel even late at night. Breakfast was enlivened one morning by the arrival of three bulky and heavily armed police officers. Not sure what it was all about other than there was "a security problem".

The staff are very helpful and pleasant. One provided us with information on the nearby Le Cafe du Theatre, Michelin listed and really excellent.

Building work appears to have been going on since January and isn't really a problem although one day we had to climb the stairs as the lift was out of operation.

For us, the hotel served the purpose. If looking for high quality rooms with lots of space, probably better to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel appear to be small but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    252
    60
    18
    7
See reviews for
37
251
48
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Dicey neighborhood, but okay if you want to be near the train. Tiny room and even smaller bathroom, loud elevator outside our room. Overall it would have been an acceptable stop-over but when we got back on the road I thought I had some tiny mosquito bites on my arms and wrists. 6 hours later I'm dabbing DOZENS of welts--some the size of a penny--with hydrocortisone cream and taking Benedryl. They must have been in my pillow because my wife had no bites. We had the breakfast at the hotel that morning (which was pretty good, actually) and got right on the road and made no stops for about 3 hours. By then I was itching like mad and had to stop for medication. Thank goodness this happened at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dcraft222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Nightmare to find it! The locals seem to know it as the royal when you're asking for directions. It was pouring with rain and there are diversions at the moment. I got out the car and walked around to find it in the end.
We hadn't booked the car park but the delightful staff let us have the last space - took pity on us I think as I was a stressed, drowned rat when I got there.
Highly recommend booking the car park ahead- it is convenient and secure if a bit pricey at 15€.
Lift very small and doesn't go to the top 2 rooms.
Hotel has building work going on at the moment but we were not bothered by the noise or inconvenienced at all.
The breakfast is fantastic- best we've had this hols so far.
There is a coffee machine and kettle in the room.
MIND YOUR HEAD in room 402 above bed and in bathroom.
Beware shower/bath slippy and no hand rails.
Air con/fan is excellent.
We loved watching the world go by from the window whilst sipping our wine, making up daft stories about all the characters we saw. Definitely a 'room with a view'.
All food in Bordeaux seems very over priced. There's a Carrefour close to the hotel.
Could not be more convenient for trains, buses and trams. Watch out for the trams, they're so quiet they creep up on you!!
Staff are charming and very helpful. Hotel clean and well presented.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliablogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel situated near to the main train and bus stations. Also very close to the red light area of Bordeaux. Hotel undergoing renovation but this didn't impact on our stay. Room was quite small for 2 people - no room for luggage. Avoid rooms adjacent to lift. Very noisy. Also some guests returned to hotel in the early hours of the morning so there was the noise of the lift and that of the tv in the adjacent room. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast good value. There is garage parking but we didn't know that we had to pay until check out. Nice touch - bottle of Bordeaux in room for our consumption.

Room Tip: Check out that you are not close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night after arriving by train from Paris DeGaulle airport before joining a river cruise. The room was clean and cheerful and service was very helpful. No restaurant but there are many near here. Also in a easy walk some higher quality restaurants. Bathroom especially spacious. Elevator very small.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We chose to stay here our last night in France as I had to take the train back to Switzerland. The hotel is literally steps away from the station so I was able to sleep a bit longer although my train left early. We found reception to be exceptionally friendly. The room was rather small, but perfectly clean. It was not noisy at all as we were facing the courtyard. Nothing fancy but definitely worthwhile given the very reasonable price and excellent location. Also right near the tram stop which is convenient for getting closer into town and close to the main sights of Bordeaux. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay again if leaving early by train.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.3 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Chantry
Hotel Le Chantry
#12 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gare Saint Jean

Property: Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Address: 15 Rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gare Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the 18th century offers guests a new reception, a lounge bar, a breakfast room and a library. The hotel highlights the heritage of the Bordeaux region through the creation of a cellar area that is conducive to the discovery of local wine estates, all in a cozy atmosphere, cozy with a modern twist. Located 10 mm or 30 mm tram walk along the banks of the Garonne, the tourist heart of Bordeaux. A courtesy tray with Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free wifi, a buffet breakfast of homemade products, business corner accessible 24h / 24h and a library for relaxation and reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western FR, Expedia, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Saint Jean Hotel Bordeaux
Best Western Bordeaux
Best Western Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing