We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed with St Jean Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marcie E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the railway station as we only had 2 days in Bordeaux before leaving for Carcassone. Although, like a lot of railway station areas there were some "odd characters" around we never once felt concerned because it is a busy area with lots of restaurants. The hotel staff were charming and our room on the 2nd floor was clean. Our room faced away from the station & we were able to open the window. This hotel is right on the tram into the centre of Bordeaux or it's a 25 min walk by the river. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TurnboSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was taken aback by how charming and inviting this Best Western is, unlike most I've been to. The lobby is so nice and clean and relaxing it feels like you are in a wine-tasting cave. The staff is super friendly and helpful as well. Amazing! The spiral staircase with the stone walls is an excellent touch. My room was small but very nice with a balcony. I would definitely stay here over the other places I stayed on this trip to Bordeaux.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick overnight. Wonderful location next to the train station, and the tram. Great little bistros nearby for a bite and a drink. Comfy, albeit small room, but hey this is France! Quiet location and very nice staff at the front desk. Good coffee in the morning from their Nespresso machine in the morning.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was fine for a one night stay , as I was was travelling in and out of Bordeaux by train.

Location was great -- a five minute walk from the station -- but there is not much else to recommend at this hotel, besides the efficient staff and in -room Nespresso machine.

Bordeaux is a lovely city and the hotel is not in the prettiest / most interesting part of town. For a longer stay I would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roshni2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Located about 5 minute walk from the station and tram stop. Many restaurants in easy walking distance.

Small bar and lounge with reception. Very warm welcome and easy check in.

Good size room with a/c, safe, tv and minibar and complimentary bottle of water but smallish wardrobe but all clean.
Small bathroom with shower, wc and wash basin.

Good buffet breakfast in refurbished lounge area

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Definitely ask for a room in the front, it may be noisier overlooking the street but the rooms in the back are tiny and mildew-smelling. We refused the first room on the 3rd floor and were given a much better one, clean-smelling and slightly roomier on the 2nd floor, fine for a 1 night stay on our way from San Sebastian to Bergerac. Right across the street and down a block from St. Jean train station, very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#31 of 174 in Bordeaux
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 174 in Bordeaux
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean
1.6 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gare Saint Jean

Address: 15 Rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: £68 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gare Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the 18th century offers guests a new reception, a lounge bar, a breakfast room and a library. The hotel highlights the heritage of the Bordeaux region through the creation of a cellar area that is conducive to the discovery of local wine estates, all in a cozy atmosphere, cozy with a modern twist. Located 10 mm or 30 mm tram walk along the banks of the Garonne, the tourist heart of Bordeaux. A courtesy tray with Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free wifi, a buffet breakfast of homemade products, business corner accessible 24h / 24h and a library for relaxation and reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Saint Jean Hotel Bordeaux
Best Western Bordeaux
Best Western Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing