We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but a bit isolated for a solo traveler and nighttime noise from external generator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bordeaux Lac
Ranked #37 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a bit isolated for a solo traveler and nighttime noise from external generator”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is pleasant, if a bit isolated for a solo traveller. The room was a good size (see photo). I had booked a room with a sofa as I wanted to be able to sit on it to read and to have the extra square meterage, so I was surprised when - only being one person - it was already made up as a sofa bed. I realize I could have folded it back to be a sofa or called someone to do so but after a long day it didn't seem worth it.

The pool area is ok. The pool is quite small and there are not many sunbeds. It was not nice weather when I was there and even so all the sunbeds were taken so probably not very good prospects in good weather!

My biggest issue was a horrible noise all night from the external air-conditioning at the end of corridor. If I were there for longer I would have asked to move but as it was only one night and I was pretty tired I thought I would sleep through it - but I couldn't! So my advice is don't go for room 121. When I was checking out and mentioned that I'd had a really bad sleep I was told that 'oh yes because of the external air conditioning' - so this is obviously a known problem!

I did eat in the hotel restaurant and took the 'formule entree et plat' for 18 euros (drinks extra). Service was very good and the starter is a cold buffet which I liked. For the main course I asked for the tuna steak to be pink however it was cooked right through. It was still very good and served with delicious fresh vegetables (see photo). There were no vegetarian main courses on the menu though.

I was also a little disappointed with le lac itself, or at least the area where the hotel is. I had expected to be able to have a good walk around the lake and maybe find a nice lake-side cafe but it was basically closed off with no discernible footpaths and nowhere to sit for refreshments. But I guess this is my fault for not having done my research properly!

So, for a solo traveller for one night and with disappointing weather, this wasn't the most appropriate choice. However, if you want a quiet hotel outside of the town with a pleasant restaurant and a pool then this could be a good choice.

Finally, I did enjoy the hotel's literary theme - each room is named after a different writer and has examples of their work in the room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 121 (and presumably other rooms nearby). It is next to an external air-conditioning syste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_viajera_constanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    190
    74
    36
    15
See reviews for
126
121
23
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I chose to start my cycle from this hotel. The superior bedroom on the first floor proved to be both spacious and comfortable, recently decorated. The finishing touches to a major refurbishment were being made as I arrived. I ate in the Brasserie au 33 and enjoyed a good meal with a glass or two of fine Bordeaux. Breakfast service was busy but there was a good selection of items to choose from. Overall a most comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Opt for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Although in an area of hotels on the outskirts of the city, there are good bus and tram connections to the centre. Our 'superior' room (No 101) was large and, like the rest of the hotel, recently refurbished. However the refurbishment didn't include getting the room's door to fit properly, so there was a lot of noise from the corridor, especially from slamming of the adjacent fire escape doors. The fire doors were being used a lot because there is only one lift for this 100-room hotel. Look up Room 101 in Wikipedia for further details . The restaurant served OK food but had a poor ambiance and was understaffed, with middling service. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Rooms are great, got upgraded for taking the half board package.

However went down to the restaurant for the evening meal, it took 10 minutes for any staff to appear. Then a further half hour for the starter then by the time the main course had arrived it was just tepid and had to be sent back.
In the meantime other guests had arrived and eaten 2 courses before we got our mains.
I wonder if this was because we were British!

Room Tip: Rooms are good just ask for a quiet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetthegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The clue is in the title here what with the hotel being near a lake but really there are millions of the biting buggers ! The hotel was undergoing alot of renovation work whilst we were there and we were only there for 1 night each time on a trip to the south then back up again. I think thats what a lot of people were there for. There is a pool albeit a freezing one but perfect to keep the kids occupied for an hour or 2. The family rooms were really well priced and very comfortable - just full of mozzies ! The hotel operates a really good deal for breakfast where if one adult pays the kids go free.Because the hotel is situated on a kind of business park along with several other hotels there are plenty of chain restaurants near by so we didnt eat in the hotel. Basically it works for families on the move somewhere else but please remember to take and wear insect repellent

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADRID-SPAIN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The rooms are quite big and modern, correct bathroom. The hotel has swimming-pool and gardens and a privet car parking. The way into Bordeaux is easy and not very long. But, attention! Summer 2013 they are under works and still in service! It is a bit unconfortable and only one lift for the whole Hotel, it is not enough.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay a bit more and have views over the Lac. If not, you will have views over the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARISADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
#22 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
#24 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
#17 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Lac 1
Le Provencal
Le Provencal
#7 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Lac

Property: Mercure Bordeaux Lac
Address: 8 B rue du grand Barail, 33300, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located three minutes walk from Lake Bordeaux, the Exhibition and Convention Centres as well as the casino and is also close to major routes (coming from Toulouse, head towards Paris then take exit No.4b, coming from Paris, head towards Bordeaux Lac then take exit No.4). Spacious airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet, Bar De L Echanson restaurant and outdoor swimming pool. Meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing