We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel ... slightly out of town”
Review of Hotel Burdigala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Burdigala
Ranked #4 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night after a late evening arrival at Bordeaux airport. Struggled to find the hotel as navigation kept trying to send us up a residents' only road but got there in the end. Our luggage was taken to our room and car valet parked for a reasonable 13 euros. The room was a beautifully decorated classic room with 1 king and a single bed. It was very good size with plenty of space between the beds. (So often, triple rooms are lacking in space). Comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with quality toiletries.

We had a club sandwich and drinks in the bar which were again, reasonably priced and very good.

It is a good 15 minute walk into town but we enjoyed the leisurely walk through town and down to the quay.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burdigala, Responsable réception at Hotel Burdigala, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying at the Hotel Burdigala. Your enthusiasm for our staff is a wonderful source of motivation for the entire team.

The hotel is part of the UNESCO World Heritage area of Bordeaux located at 5 minutes walk from Place Gambetta and 10 minutes walk from Grand Theatre.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit in Bordeaux will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,

Isabelle Dujarrier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was a lovely Hotel and tastefully decorated with Valet parking and free Wi-fi. The staff were friendly and spoke perfect English. The bathroom was a good size and the bedroom was really cosy and luxurious.
The only downfall was the location was just a little bit out of the city centre, it was still walking distance but not that convenient to the centre of Bordeaux. Also did not have the breakfast as felt it was overpriced for the usual buffet breakfast at 25 Euro's per person.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burdigala, Responsable réception at Hotel Burdigala, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Burdigala. We will not fail to compliment our team for their work.

We are at 5 minutes walk from Place Gambetta, 10 minutes walk from Grand Theatre and the hotel is located in the UNESCO World Heritage Center of Bordeaux. It is a shame that you did not try our buffet breakfast (23 euros per person) composed with varied products cooked every day with fresh products by our Chef.

We hope you spent a great experience with us and that you will have the pleasure of coming back to the hotel.

Best regards,

Isabelle Dujarrier
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Fabulous hotel although bar prices and breakfast prices extremely high. Valet parking made life so much easier. Very comfortable room, excellent decor and extremely restful and lovely smelling sheets. Rooms soundproofed so no outside noises. Would highly recommend this hotel... Although it is a little way outside town, but still walkable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burdigala, Responsable réception at Hotel Burdigala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us positive feedback.

Our team will be happy to hear that they have succeeded by making your stay comfortable as they always try to make each guest experience special.

We also would like to thank you for your nice comment on the sheets; we are actually the only hotel in Bordeaux with our own linen room in the hotel. It is right that we are located at 5 minutes walk from Place Gambetta and at 10 minutes walk from Grand Theatre which is quite close to the “heart” of the city center.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for recommending the hotel, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel Burdigala.

Best regards,

Isabelle Dujarrier
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Burdigala hotel for one night before heading to our wedding venue near Cognac. The hotel is a little far out from town which we didn't realise until we attempted to walk back late in the evening.
However, it is a good choice in terms of service and luxury. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are sumptuous and comfortable. I particularly liked the bathroom as it had a separate vanity table for the ladies with a great hair dryer!
We missed dinner and breakfast so I can't comment on the food.
We really enjoyed our visit to Bordeaux and would love to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachesShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burdigala, Responsable réception at Hotel Burdigala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Burdigala for your recent visit in Bordeaux and for taking the time to write a nice comment.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us at the Hotel Burdigala. Your enthusiasm for our staff is a wonderful source of motivation to always try to better serve our client.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit in Bordeaux will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle Dujarrier
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed here for one night as we travelled across France.

Bordeaux is probably the nicest city we have visted in France (and we've been everywhere). The Hotel Burdigala is an excellent choice to stay in this fine city.

The Bad Points:

Location is a bit outside the main centre but not to cause a major problem. You may want to get a taxi back to your hotel late at night though.

Wifi in room works but kept losing connection. A bit annoying but as long as your not doing any serious internet work it's fine.

The Good Points:

Very friendly and helpful staff

Parking is easy with their valet parking taking care of everything

Room was spacious, very well furnished, bedding was excellent, nice large screen LCD TV, tea and coffee in room excellent, very modern and comfortable.

Bathroom was good, nice shower, clean and modern.

Checking out was straightforward with the valet getting our car ready out front.

Overall we had no complaints and only good things to say about this place. A great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoYouFeelLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burdigala, Responsable réception at Hotel Burdigala, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and giving us positive feedback.

Our team will be happy to hear that they have succeeded by making your stay comfortable as they always try to make each guest experience special.

We hope that you will have the chance to renew your experience in Bordeaux, as it is your favorite city in France and we will be happy to welcome you again at the Hotel Burdigala.

Sincerely yours,

Isabelle Dujarrier
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Very nice and peaceful hotel, attentive and smiling staff.
Luxuriously decorated room with good amenities. Shower in the bathroom.
Good location - 5 min walk from the center of the old town. Valet parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burdigala, Responsable réception at Hotel Burdigala, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hôtel Burdigala for your recent visit in Bordeaux and for taking the time to write a nice review.

It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding the decoration and services of our hotel.

Your satisfaction is an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay memorable. I will definitely share with all our staff your positive comments.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hôtel Burdigala.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle Dujarrier
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, we were given a very large room 130 on first floor. It was a great room , loved all the pillows, made our stay comfortable. Fairly close to centre 10 minutes walk. Too much service from front desk a bit over the top. Loved the chocolates left on pillows at night, and all new towels(twice daily). Very modern and luxury fit out!,

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burdigala, Directeur général at Hotel Burdigala, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your kind words concerning your stay at the Hotel Burdigala.

I am sure that our team will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the quality of the service during your stay, as we always strive to improve the quality of our services.

Looking forward to welcome you again at the hotel Burdigala.

Sincerely yours,

Isabelle Dujarrier
Room Division Manager
Hotel Burdigala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 177 in Bordeaux
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 177 in Bordeaux
937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 177 in Bordeaux
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#5 of 177 in Bordeaux
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#7 of 177 in Bordeaux
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burdigala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burdigala

Address: 115 rue Georges Bonnac, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: £143 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burdigala 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Burdigala! The Hotel Burdigala 4* offers a sober and refined decor in an "urban chic" style, resolutely contemporary while remaining faithful to the tradition of a warm atmosphere... In our 56 Classic rooms and 12 Superior rooms, noble materials and subtly-shaded colours create and inspire calm and peacefulness. For a family holiday, take the height in one of the 7 duplex rooms. Streamlined design and invigorating colors make this space especially comfortable and enjoyable. A double or twin loft bed and a sofa bed in the living room on the ground floor are available. If you are a fond of gastronomic food, the restaurant, La Table de Burdigala, will seduce you by a gourmet menu of fresh selected products (open all year, 7 days a week). One lecture room and five other modular meeting rooms feature 496 m² of facilities to organize seminars, cocktails or meetings for up to 120 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Burdigala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burdigala Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing