We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Very Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel de L'Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de L'Opera
Ranked #105 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I love staying in downtown Bordeaux, close to the theater and the open shopping area and this hotel meets all the needs. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are nice, definitely European style.

My only real complaint is, if you have car, there is no easy parking. There is street parking out front, but that is usually taken, and other street parking is a pretty long walk. Not a big deal, but something to note. V

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We took the "discovery" package offered by the municipal touristic agency, which included (2) nights at the hotel and a selection of activities (city tour, wine tasting, bus tour to (2) wine producers, ...). This hotel selection was ideal (1 minute walk to the agency) to enjoy the program. In addition, it is in a nice portion of the city, close to the riverside. Room confort was ok, in line with what we expected for the price.

Room Tip: There is an elevator, so it's worth asking for upper levels. Room with view on the Opera can als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is ideal for a short break in Bordeaux as it's very central and inexpensive for a City Centre hotel. The staff are friendly and although the rooms are basic they are clean and adequate and if you visit Bordeaux you'd want to be out and about not spending time in your room!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Definitely two best points about hotel is location at the heart of the city and very helpful staff. Eric has been extremely helpful for all our travel requests and also very friendly and witty. Rooms are rather spartanian and there is no standalone reception, however good enough for the short break when u spend all time outside. The older sister hotel round the corner seems more solid and also benefits from location and personnel. I will try it next time on my stay in the city

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is fantastic - right in the centre of the old part. The rooms are small and shabby and quite awful colours - with a bit of money spent on them they could be all right though. The staff were extremely friendly - I was very disappointed to find my room had a window that looked across at another window and into a 4 storey high light well - I asked to be moved and was finally given a room over looking the Cafe De L'opera which was so much nicer than the first room I was given. I was on the fourth floor but perhaps if you can score the rooms onto the street at levels 2 and 3 the rooms are bigger (I think) and nicer again. Breakfast was expensive for not much- particularly after the spreads that you get at hotels in Germany. The tram is very close by. The bicycles that can be hired were just across the road. I found the Internet difficult to get into - and in the end had to opt for a free service that was available across the road. I warmed to the place once I had a nicer room - until then I found it very depressing.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room onto the street overlooking the Cafe De L'Opera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillianHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I visited Bordeaux with a group of friends as a part of a class reunion. We stayed at L'opera because it was inexpensive and centrally located. The rooms were small and spartan but adequate for us as we spent all out times outdoors. The big plus was the staff. They were friendly and extremely helpful giving us recommendations on places to go and things to see. Thank you Lamia and team! We enjoyed our stay! : )

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Bordeaux exudes an ambiance of celebration and what better place to make your home than in the heart of it all - Hotel de L'Opéra. The hotel is located right across the street from the Grand Théâtre and less than 5 minutes away from the Place de la Bourse and the Esplandade des Quinconces. There is a tourist office literally right around the corner as well and several tram stops only a couple blocks away. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful - even going to the Bank of France for us to break some of our money into smaller denominations. The rooms are small, but very comfortable and the view of the street and the Place de la Comédie is amazing. A nice hotel and an amazing location for a reasonable price.

Though it didn't bother us, others might find the street noise distracting. As in any large city parking can be difficult and expensive. There are several parking garages close by, but try and stop in the taxi spaces in front of the hotel and unload your luggage.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the street noise, get a room facing the Grand Théâtre. The view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-and-Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0 mi away
Hotel des 4 Soeurs
Hotel des 4 Soeurs
#81 of 177 in Bordeaux
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Presse
Hotel de la Presse
#89 of 177 in Bordeaux
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.3 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau by HappyCulture
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gambetta
Hotel Gambetta
#104 of 177 in Bordeaux
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Opera

Address: 35 rue Esprit des Lois, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de L'Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de L'Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Opéra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing