We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent room outside of the centre”
Review of Hotel Alton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alton
Ranked #135 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
261 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent room outside of the centre”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Good size room with a two element stove top, microwave and refridge. Dishes can be requested at the front desk. Good bed and flat screen tv was a nice size. Small desk and chair. Bathroom was a decent size although only one towel is given so you will need to ask if there are two of you. Parking garage is 7.50€ a day although it looks like there's a few spots out front. The tram stops very close by and tickets are 1.40€ for a trip with in one hour. A few restaurants in the area if you are walking. Most of the front desk clerks speak multiple languages.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    74
    74
    82
    56
See reviews for
61
102
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I spend a lot of time in hotels, airports, and airplanes, and nothing pleases me more than good customer service, especially since it is so rare. For that reason this hotel deserves a gold star.

I have to start this review by fully admitting that we were terrible hotel guests on arrival (okay maybe “we” weren’t both terrible but there is no need to point fingers at this moment). Hopefully my partner will never read this review because he will divorce then kill me if he does.

We arrived around 1 AM after a very stressful day ending with an unscheduled adventure of being lost in the suburbs of Bordeaux. Long story short, on arrival we were not on speaking terms with each other and not in the best of spirits.

Our room was clean, large, but basic, and after our long day my partner was hoping for more plush accommodation to soothe his nerves (Honey, what do you expect for 45 Euro? I’ve stayed at hostels in Europe that would cost us more to share a room with 4 other people... But that was NOT the time to try and tell him that...) So it was back to the front desk with all of our belongings to look at another room.

Anyways, despite facing some terse demands from my partner, the gentleman at the front desk was beyond polite, unflappable even. He showed us the upgraded rooms, offered us a fair rate for the upgrade, offered to allow us to use the full value of what we paid through Expedia, and even with my partner throwing a tantrum (don’t you ever repeat that because if you do I will deny I ever said that and rescind this review) the front desk clerk remained calm, polite, and helpful. In the end we kept the original room, and if the front desk clerk was annoyed at having to deal with us he never let it show once. It was the best display of professionalism and customer service I witnessed all year.

Back to the hotel itself: I know there is a lot of variation in star ratings of hotels in Europe, and while the upgraded rooms were quite nice when we briefly saw once, the standard rooms are pretty basic. They are clean and very large, small TV, had a bathtub (which is a bonus) but pretty dated decor and furniture. The mattresses are basic and ours sagged heavily in the middle and although I was banished to one side for the night we were unable to keep from sliding together. The hallways are pitch black until you turn on the lights, so make sure you locate where the switch is before leaving your room (I had to use my headlamp to navigate until we figured this out).

The hotel is right on the tram line and less than 15 minutes to ride downtown. Parking on the street out front is free and we didn’t have any difficulty finding a spot. Internet was 5 Euro per day, signal was good, speed was okay.

We didn’t eat at the hotel but did walk less than 10 minutes down the road (turn right out of the hotel then right again at the first main street) where there are several cafés and one fantastic bakery with excellent croissant (and I am very, very particular about my croissant).

All of the staff were very friendly throughout our stay providing directions for the transit and other services in the area, all of whom spoke excellent English. You can get coffee at the front desk/bar just about any time, and it’s pretty good.

For a basic hotel in a large European city the Alton is a good value in a good location, and the staff really displayed the highest level of professionalism and service. If you can get a good rate it is a good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you figure out where the light switches are in the hallway to avoid fumbling around in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

my son and myself booked 2 rooms at this hotel the outside did not look much but the reception area was much better but when we got to the rooms they were very big but very old furniture and badly in need of decorating in fact the hotel is about 30 years overdue for refurbishment. there are many other hotels in the area and i would seriously suggest you check with trip advisor before booking so as not to be caught out as we were.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor other floors may be of a better standard but i doubt it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silversurfer7346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalton33, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Alton, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel.

We regret that you were not completely satisfied. We have taken your comments into account, to enable us to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Alton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bordeaux hotels

Ayamonte, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Staff were great and I did have a good dinner, breakfast was very disappointing, and the location was brilliant for sight seeing, tram station outside the door.
The Room was not really up to standard and the bed was a double, there were better rooms in the hotel but we did not have one. will not use again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank siluriandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalton33, Responsable commercial at Hotel Alton, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Google Translation
Madame,
En tout premier lieu, nous vous remercions d’avoir consacré quelques minutes de votre temps précieux à nous donner votre opinion sur notre établissement. Nous sommes heureux d'apprendre que vous avez apprécié l'emplacement stratégique de l’Hôtel Alton, à quelques pas du tram.
Par contre, nous regrettons d'apprendre que les chambres ne correspondait pas à votre goût et avons pris note de vos commentaires concernant le petit déjeuner.

Pour conclure, nous ne pouvons que vous demander encore une chance pour vous faire savourer tous les atouts de notre hôtel; nous serions ravis de pouvoir vous aider à préparer votre prochain séjour en Bordeaux.

Meilleures salutations,

Hôtel Alton Bordeaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stay at this hotel as part of my trip with very well name tour company, but I have to say that I stay this year two times because it was on the hotels choose by the tour operator. In june was the first stay and it was awful. The Hotel is trying to be a green hotel with light timers... maybe on the day time coulbe useful but in night I was molested by this two Finland guys who where staying at the hotel and they were drinking and start to follow me around the small garden and they don't want to let me go to my room. I was scared because the passway to the rooms were dark because of the light timers. In June is cold alrready and we don't need a/c but now I stay for a night and the heaters doesn't work. It was a hell freezing night. They change me the room but there were no difference. The pillows awful, and the beadspred smells old and dusty...

Room Tip: Don't go here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalton33, Responsable commercial at Hotel Alton, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Guest ,
We are really sorry about your comments, because we have most of time a positive feedback from our guest. On behalf of my team , we are sorry that we couldn't get your bad impression before you left in order to correct it promptly . I hope that for your next trip , you can still trust us and we promess to convert the negative experience into a very positive one . Please feel free to contact us directly for your next stay .
Best Regards,
Hotel Alton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
224 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Hotel Alton was the only hotel with rooms in Bordeaux on the night of our arrival due to a marathon race taking part that weekend.
The staff were helpful but not too pleasent.
The room was basic with the TV not working - poor pillows, no A/C and not very clean.
Nylon bedspreads - need I say any more!?

Room Tip: Try to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongIdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I was the last week in Bordeaux , it was wonderful... Great city and a good hotel. At the reception all the girls are speaking english...very Nice and kind... The breakfast good..with different choise...i has a room very quiet... I'm satisfied for the price and for the service... I Will come back with pleasure...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.6 mi away
Appart'City Bordeaux Centre
Appart'City Bordeaux Centre
#131 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Meriadeck
1.8 mi away
Appart'hotel Victoria Garden Bordeaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chantry
Hotel Le Chantry
#12 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adagio Access Bordeaux Rodesse
2.6 mi away
Citotel Les Alizes
Citotel Les Alizes
#91 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alton

Property: Hotel Alton
Address: 107 rue de la Pelouse de Douet, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alton 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing