We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Aquitain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquitain Hotel
Ranked #89 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Quiet and clean. Very convenient to the train station; walking distance to old city and tourist spots. The host was friendly and knowledgeable about local restaurants. Our triple room was newly refurbished and spacious enough for three. There was free WiFi. Only two very minor quibbles: Water pressure for showering wasn't great. And the portable floor fan/air conditioner was loud and not very effective on a hot summer night, which was too bad because the mosquitoes forced us to keep the window closed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westcoast007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    52
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
39
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
892 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 676 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Located a short walk from the main train station in Bordeaux this hotel is good for people coming in and out by rail. There is a frequent tram from the train station that takes about 5 minutes to get into the center. There are a few places to eat around the station too.

The hotel is a small place with only a handful of rooms. The rooms are clean and everything was functioning. The Wifi worked well. Water and other refreshments can be purchased in the lobby. The hotel desk is not staffed 24 hours and you will need to make arrangements if you are arriving late. There is a gate with a code to reach the rooms.

This is a good place to use when you are out touring most of the time. If you are spending a lot of time in your hotel then this might not be the place for you but it is comfortable and clean.

The breakfast is a standard mainland EU style with cold cuts, juices, yogurt and breads. For 9 Euro I would recommend to find a place elsewhere or get some fruits and bread on your own.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauville france
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is a reasonably priced hotel, comfortable bed ( but only 1 pillow each). Bathroom clean, quiet area. Free wifi easy to log onto and worked well.
Breakfast pricey at 9 euros, but there were cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs, pastries etc.
the parking was over the road and secure.
Friendly staff, who spoke good english.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I wanted a clean hotel near the train station that served a good breakfast. For those purposes it was perfect. Short walk from the train station, friendly staff person greeted us, she was fluent in English, breakfast was good (hard boiled eggs, choice of cheeses and sliced ham..croissants, yogurts, etc., typical french breakfast, in a good way), the whole place was immaculate, charming old building. We wanted a triple room and they had one. Beds were comfy, slept very well, room was very quiet, area was quiet outside. I would stay there again. We could only find one outlet to charge our phones, but not a problem. The room was no-frills, but we didn't need frills. We walked to the waterfront at dusk and came back quite late (about 11) and we didn't feel unsafe. By the way, the waterfront has some spectacular buildings that are not to be missed. And there is a charming old cobblestone section to the city, also, with a lot of restaurants. We picked up a rental car in the morning, drove it to the hotel, loaded it up, and checked out, which worked out fine.

Room Tip: I don't remember the room number, but it was a triple, 2nd floor, I think. Small room but fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WNYFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It is only two or three minutes from the railway station. Our room was neat and clean, the reception was efficient and the breakfast was O.K.
We can recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our stay in this hotel was one of those forgettable experiences. The hotel was located near the train station, seemed safe but my husband and I were not so comfortable walking around in the area where the hotel was located. The secure parking lot was located a block away underneath an apartment building and we had a hard time finding the exit to the street after we parked the car. We had to climb 3 flights of stairs (very narrow and steep) and when we arrived in our room, I could smell the smoke right away (we requested a non-smoking room). We requested for another room and our requested was accomodated one floor down. The staff was not very helpful in giving directions on where the closest restaurant was. We were not even aware that the train station and restaurants were just 2 blocks away. That night, we ate leftover sandwiches for dinner for fear of venturing out of the hotel into the unknown, especially when we weren't feeling comfortable in that area. The room had enough room to move around and we had a good night sleep. It was just one "run of the mill" hotel to spend one night on our way to Northern Spain.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were turning in a rent car and taking the train out the next day. It fit the bill nicely. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They have no elevator and we were on the third floor but staff helped me my bags. Decor is interesting, makes me think of Morocco. Room was comfortable but shows signs of wear. Headboard on bed reminded me of a candle altar at a Catholic church. Handy to the tram for moving around Bordeaux. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: lower floor, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#102 of 174 in Bordeaux
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#18 of 174 in Bordeaux
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#106 of 174 in Bordeaux
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Gare Saint-Jean
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint-Jean Euratlantique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquitain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquitain Hotel

Property: Aquitain Hotel
Address: 47 rue Eugene le Roy, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquitain Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquitain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing