We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and comfortable hotel within walking distance of the city's highlights.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Cour Carree
Ranked #19 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Small but very comfortable, I stayed here with my 2 year old, whom the staff made very welcome. The rooms are very tastefully renovated and the beds soft and cosy. I would recommend for short stays and small family groups as well as design-loving independent travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alys_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of March 2013. We had booked to stay at the Ibis hotel (big mistake) but on arrival found it dreadful and therefore began a late evening search for a better option.

Fortunately we stumbled across Hotel La Cour Carree which was not only around the same price as the Ibis, but better located and so much nicer/cleaner. We stayed in 2 different rooms (due to not booking in advance the 1st night was in a top floor room and the remainder of our holiday was in a ground floor room) and both were lovely.

The hotel and rooms are very modern, newly decorated, smart and very clean and the owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. There is also a lovely internal courtyard to sit and relax in and get away from the bustle of the city.

The rooms could do with having tea/coffee making facilities or perhaps even in the lobby/dining room (perhaps a Nespresso machine in the lobby and capsules in the room would allow guest to pay per capsule?). Also no hairdryer in the room. The owners/manager seem to be more than happy to accommodate any requests, however they do not operate a 24hr concierge and are only there in the day to late evening.

The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Bordeaux - don't be put off that it's on a side road - this gives the advantage of being located in a much quieter area with less than a minutes walk to the cafés, restaurants and shops.

I would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chicachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed two nights Room 1 ground floor, helpful and friendly staff clean and nice modern common areas.
However:
The parking is hard to get in and out of and we only have a bmw 5 series, with a mpv or suv it could be a problem. there are only two spaces and the second car blocks the first.
Our room was small and the "designer" or "boutique" appearance is a very thin veneer. The headboard to the bed is actually painted onto the wall and only two rather flimsy foam pillows provided making uncomfortable to read or watch the small television, no drink making facilities or mini bar.The shower is a hand held one fixed about chest height with no riser, so you have to hold it to shower, there is now hard screen or door just a cheap white plastic curtain which means that a lot of water gets on the floor, the ceramic shower tray also had a large patch of missing enamel in it. Combined with the voile Ikea style curtails (at pavement level) and chipped paint on the woodwork, it was pretty disappointing but photographs well as these details dont show up.
General impression is of a job done on the cheap with little attention to detail, this is a same as the staff are great and the place is clean.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a very lovely experience! It was a beautifully renovated, and modern boutique hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. We booked 3 rooms (for 3 couples) and all of us were happy with our rooms which were clean, modern and very comfortable. We also really loved being able to sit in the courtyard, chatting and relaxing. The breakfast was nice and started the day off well. Overall, we were all very happy with our choice and would return. I highly recommend Hotel La Cour Carree.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Thoroughly renovated in a sleek modern design, La Cour Carrée delivers on the boutique hotel experience. The rooms are fresh, clean, sleek and spacious. It is a little hard to find,but once you have found it....it is like your secret oasis tucked away from all the hustle and bustle. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGL324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We recently stayed here during a two week trip to France and it was a real highlight! We were super impressed with the Hotel La Cour Carree's value for money, slick, modern design, friendly staff and location in the heart of old town Bordeaux. I would definitely recommend it for travellers wanting to experience Bordeaux and all it has to offer. It is quiet, yet within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. We were very happy with the airconditioning, given that we were caught in the middle of a heatwave! The room (we chose the cheapest option at 115 Euro per night) was spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. We will definitely go back to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel in Bordeaux. Surfing on Booking.com we found this cosy hotel. This hotel is really worth its money. Nice climatisation in the room, nice bed, separation of bathroom and toilet. Very silent.
The only thing that bothered me a little was that you couldn't hang up the shower head.
Take the breakfast. It's only 7 euros and very good!

The dustbin wasn't empty... but if you look at the complete room, this was a detail.

Room Tip: We had the room on 2nd floor and it was very silent in that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaatDelporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 175 in Bordeaux
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 175 in Bordeaux
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#14 of 175 in Bordeaux
998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 175 in Bordeaux
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#9 of 175 in Bordeaux
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cour Carree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cour Carree

Address: 5 rue de Lurbe, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: £87 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESIGN HOTEL OF 16 ROOMS, IN THE HEART OF THE CITY ! Situated in the heart of the city center, between the Place des Grands Hommes, the Allees de Tourny and the Place Gambetta the hotel benefits from a peaceful location in a quiet side street. The building, which is two centuries old, has been entirely restored to revive the charm of the place and to create an intimate and welcoming atmosphere. The traditional Bordeaux stone has been combined with high-quality modern facilities as well as a contemporary and elegant interior. In the heart of the building, a courtyard with its soft light, invites us to relax and enjoy peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Cour Carree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing