We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GBK in Bordeaux”

West Coast Gourmet Burgers
Ranked #101 of 2,447 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Frustrated by the lack of "proper" burgers in Bordeaux, I decided to set up my own gourmet burger restaurant! Locally sourced beef, proper buns, back bacon, mature English cheddar, home made chips and desserts, and a takeaway service. We are open 7 days a week. We also have a wide variety of foreign and local beers, wines and a BYO service. we look forward to seeing you.
west midlands
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“GBK in Bordeaux”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had so much fine food on this trip that sometimes you just fancy something completely different. This reminded me so much of GBK back in England although I thought the buns and burgers were better here. Fries for my taste were a little overdone and it's the first time I've had a basilic reduction with fries too (it was good).
Clean, friendly and at around €13 for a lunch deal of a burger, a side and a non alcoholic drink good value in Bordeaux. Wine and beer is available. The place was packed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strolling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    127
    32
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide Traveler
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Juicy and Delicious Burgers”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Firstly, I am not a burger lover. The restaurant we had booked lost our reservation ... So where to go in Bordeaux? With all the French food available ... We happened by this place and decided to give it a try... A burger joint?

OMG! The burgers were delicious! Juicy, medium rare, perfectly formed for the bun... The fries and onion rings were cooked to order, and delivered hot. Everything was perfect.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adventuregirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Town”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is one of the best Burgers I have had ever, and I am American. They use great products and the bread is good too. The meat was not over cooked, which I love because it was a good quality beef. However for most Americans, the meat may need to be cooked more and therefore you should ask for it. This is a great spot for lunch, maybe less for dinner. It is a remote spot without terrace, so it is not so easy to find. But worth the walk to find because all the streets around it are really cute. Of course it is a bit more expensive than a fast food burger, but this is absolutely not the same thing. It is worth the investment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicod55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Here you will find the greatest burgers ever, in buns which do not taste of cardboard! Pity about the overcooked chips, but I am sure another visit will address the problem. Obviously a lunch time venue for the young businessmen and women of Bordeaux.

PS Get yourself a street map, because it's hard to find if you're a tourist

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaldFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquitaine, France
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Best burgers in France”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

These are great burgers cooked beautifully pink, served on a good bun with copious fillings and good fries..
I had the Classic bacon and cheese with added caramelised onions and jalapeños ... Mouth watering !
Good selections of beers to go with the food.
Nice, small comfortable interior with friendly, attentive staff ... Our waitress had also worked at Hache in London, my favourite burger restaurant in London.
This is what burgers are meant to be, rather than the mass produced, poor excuse for a burger that one gets at chains like McDonalds. They will also cater for parties ... great idea.
We will be back as soon as another burger-hunger strikes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Gourmet Burgers also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Gourmet Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing