We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really classy”

Bar a vins Ecole du vin a Bordeaux
Ranked #13 of 2,391 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really classy”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This place is kind of my proud! I libe in Bordeaux for 2 last years and I've always been proud to bring my international friends to this place in order to introduce them good Bordeaux wine. The ambiance is chic, simple, waiters are professionals, they even do a presentation of the region and tell many things concerning wine. Good , educative. It could have been 5/5 if they had more options of cheese and foie gras plates. I know that it is a wine school but as a customer I would appreciate it better if I found more choices. But a must been place in Bordeaux! Thanks !

Helpful?
Thank Denchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    152
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Grand Cru to taste”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good range of bordeaux wines to taste, in proper size servings! Just walk in and take a seat, service is friendly and the setting is surprisingly modern inside

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NJC1978_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“We Left Smiling at Bargain Prices”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place has been set up in the middle of the city by the winemakers of Bordeaux to offer wine tasting without having to make the treck to the vinyards. The place itself is amodernized belle epoque-era set of rooms which are are decorated ultra modern. Made us think of wine having gone all out metro. Place is very comfortable and spacious with service that signals that there is no need to rush.

Menu offers normal sized glasses of the Bordeaux wines as well as a few small snack plates. About 30 reds and whites are offered with the prices starting at 2e going up to 8e for the most expensive. As promotion is the game, wine quality is top notch which at these prices makes this an unbeatable bargain. Recommend them for an afternoon afternoon wine break or a nice way to save a few euros before going to a restaurant meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant concept, well executed”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

As a promotion of the region's wines, it is a triumph. Beautiful setting, relaxed atmosphere, with old and young alike enjoying the chance to taste superb wines which one would never expect to find by the glass. Good waiters too. Would be a great choice for a solo traveller - we saw both a young man sitting at the bar for a chat with the staff, and an old chap comfortably settled at a table with a book. We were very, very happy customers and will spend more time here on any future visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Civil servants trying to run a wine bar.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had an experience like no other. The service is horrible and they lack an understanding of wine. Our guide is a wine expert and she indicated that a wine was corked, which it was, but the young lady working argued that it wasn't.

Good place to try wines, but don't expect stellar service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar a vins Ecole du vin a Bordeaux also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Bar a vins Ecole du vin a Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing