We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Dinning choice: inside or outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dinning choice: inside or outside
Welcome to a wineworld of Bordeaux region Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Dinning choice: inside or outside
Welcome to a wineworld of Bordeaux region
Kitchen
Dinning with a view
Kitchen cabinets
Bedroom
2nd  room with a double sofa-bed
Outside terrace
Spot a small deer in a garden
Visit local Chateaux
Streets of Bordeaux
Have a coffee break in one of Bordeaux's cafe
Bordeaux Gastronomy famous location - Place du Parlement
Bordeaux centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bordeaux, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BennAnn
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good for short stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for 3 nights. Spacious kitchen, living room and bedroom. In our opinion only suitable for 2 adults not 4 unless you know each other really well. Shower room not ideal as small and wooden window frame next to shower not great. We used washing machine and prepared simple meals without difficulty. Wifi connection fine. Table and chairs provided for sitting outside however it is a sun trap and it was too hot to sit out much as no shade therefore a parasol would be helpful. Would be better if owner switched fridge on in advance for guests arriving especially in hot weather. Also to have an information sheet detailing what to do at the end of your stay - bins, bedding etc. Bring essentials with you, e.g. washing up liquid, laundry detergent, soap for bathroom sink, extra toilet roll. There is an excellent supermarket nearby. Good for a short stay to explore local vineyards.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1webwiz
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location but Very Basic”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were looking for a place to stay outside of Bordeaux so we could enjoy the countryside as well as the city. This small apartment which is situated on the bottom floor of the owner's home is in a beautiful location and served its purpose for the beginning of our 8-week visit to southwestern France, however, it is very basic. It is too sparsely furnished and decorated to be inviting. If you are planning to prepare several meals as we did, you will find the kitchen and its contents very limited. You are expected to provide all necessary items including toilet paper which was very surprising. We have stayed in many gîtes and vacation homes throughout France and this has never been the case. While the views of the fields and trees beyond the apartment are very attractive, the expected peace and quiet were repeatedly disturbed by the constant remodeling going on in and around the house. One evening this work continued until almost 1 AM. Also, if you are in need of consistent wifi access, beware that the connection is very slow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of amenities, service, peace & quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comoxfood...
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a very spacious apartment in a wonderful location. It has everything you need, great WIFI, great kitchen and a washing machine. The only thing that keeps it from being perfect is that there is no TV or radio for some noise! The apartment is on a hill a few minutes from Lignan in Bx so a car is a necessity, but you are just a few minutes from grocery stores and other amenities. We loved dining outside watching the hawks sail over the farmers hay field. We love a rural setting so this was perfect for us...Irene and William were very good hosts.
They provided lots of maps and local information for us. We had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfectly suited for us.
Liked least: Would have liked Sky TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015tripf...
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Peace-filled stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

After weeks of busy, it was great to sit and watch the country. We had a car and so getting to vineyards was not a problem. So much biking and hiking to do and quaint villages to explore. We loved the flat and ate outside most evening on a table that was provided. Our hosts were wonderful and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Peterf1...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“quiet country getaway”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The location is very quiet, end of a rural road, about midway between Bordeaux and St. Emilion (20-30 minutes or so each way). Definitely need a car. The property had all the necessary facilities, owners were very helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEORGES D
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good offer for fair price and, quiet and good location.”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Good location and nearby cycling path towards Bordeaux (only 20 kms - highly recomended). Nice bistro in the village, where you can get fresh bread in the morning, and fresh oysters and roasted chicken on Sunday !

The cottage : quietly located on the end of a lane in a vast garden. Bedroom ok, could look warmer if more decoration on the walls. Bed no so wide (140 cm) but ok, we slept well !

Bathroom rather small, but a good shower and clean.
Living room : ok with a sofa bed, but some more decoration on the walls would make it cosier. Roll-down shutters did not work.
Dining room : everything ok, but only 3 chairs for a cottage sleeping 4 ?
Kitchen : properly equiped, but we missed a percolator for making coffee instead of the French coffee making can which was provided.
And a small radio to listen to the news at breakfast (or even a small TV) would make it complete.
Outside : private parking zone, and a lovely garden with beautiful surroundings. We even spotted some fawns in the morning.
Must be very enjoyable in the summer to have your meals outside !

So a good offer for a small price !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location / surroundings
Liked least: no radio/TV/percolator
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking your time and writing a review about Idyllic Country retreat. We value your opinion. It was a surprise to learn that you had a problem with roll-down shutters. Apparently, the shutters are working in all 3 rooms, and other guests had no difficulties in operating them. The 4th chair which you couldn't' find was in a bedroom. It's unfortunate that you've chosen not to address these issues during your stay, especially that we've been communicating on several occasions. We always listen to our guests and try to make their stay as comfortable as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleretr...
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
2,241 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,631 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our selection of this site was based on location/price and it proved to be a right one ! The location was a perfect compromise to visit Bordeaux , the Atlantic Coast ( Arcachon) , the Medoc Region , the Saint-Émilion area and the overall Bordelais area . We were able to easily reach all these areas while avoiding the traffic and being within 50 minutes of the farthest one ! We had read that trying to drive in Bordeaux for a North-American was a dreadful experience so we tried to avoid it . Our landlord , William , provided us with helpful tips on where to park in the suburbs of Bordeaux and use the tram as THE mean of transportation ( very cheap with a daily pass ) . In fact William gave us a lot of recommendations on what to do and where to go in the Bordelais Region : do not hesitate to ask him for recommendations and the documentation provided with the rental was very voluminous !
The price was very good considering the facilities provided and the quietness of the location ! Ask William (or Irene) where the nearest shopping center is located and you could save a lot of euros preparing your own meals !
The premise are full equipped and the environment is gorgeous ! We have pictures of a young deer eating some apples on the ground at no more than 250 meters from us !
Overall it was an excellent value !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and overall facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing