We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, comfortable and clean.”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #92 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Greeted with smiles. Treated like a friend. Excellent location in the center of town. Close to wining, dining and shopping. Super comfortable bed. Room with windows and a view - 2nd floor. High speed free wifi. Free breakfast. Will always stay here when in Bordeaux.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed there three nights while we toured the Grand Cru winery's of Bordeaux. It is most typical French hotel in that the rooms are on the small side, but you only sleep there so it works perfect. The hotel has a perfect, central location for also getting around downtown Bordeaux for dinner and shopping. There is no elevator so be prepared to use the stairs. The couple that run the place a most helpful, friendly and a pleasure. The 8 Euro continental breakfast is also a good value. The hotel is on a quiet street so no noise issues. It is an excellent hotel when you will be out and about all day and are looking for clean and economical lodging while you spend your hard earned Euro's on the exceptional food and wine of Bordeaux.

Room Tip: If walking the stairs is an issue request a room on a lower floor. The lobby is on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SXMCabanaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Staff is great, very helpful. Breakfast is average for 8 euros paid. Great location. The bad part: stairs: we had 15 days of trip baggage, which we had to take upstairs by ourselves (ugh); Room is old, as well as the bathroom, water had a hard time to stay warm during bath.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We got here in pouring rain and were happy to be in a warm dry place.
We found the staff (owners, really) very helpful... but we also speak French. Since we were staying longer than most tourists, we got a sizeable room. We found the door to the bathroom a bit weird (a harmonica of sorts) but what the heck. What was more problematic were the stairs - this hotel does not have an elevator. So if you're not into carrying heavy suitcases and bags up pretty steep stairs, refrain.
Breakfast was more than adequate - no complaints here.
The location could not be better. We walked to all attractions and the Tourism Office is very close.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Perfectly positionned on the city center, charming hotel and very nice owners. The room is nonetheless little, especially the bathroom and there is no elevator. Take care also to the noise you will produce in the corridor, it seems doors are very thin!

Room Tip: Choose rather a double than a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baboualex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

From the outside this hotel looks very nice, a nice compact reception, located in a good part of town, a friendly welcome. We booked here for one night. When we booked she asked for our card details to hold the room, but she did not mention taking a deposit or charging us up front.

On arrival we were two hours early but were told the room was available. Please note that this hotel has no lift and it is a minimum climb of two flights of very narrow stairs - not ideal if you have any luggage.

We were shocked to see that the room was tiny, dirty and desperately in need of redecoration. Like something out of a holiday nightmares programme. This hotel obviously ensures that their public areas lead you to wrongly assume the rooms are of a similar standard. While we were standing in the room discussing whether or not we should reject the room there was a very quiet knock at the door. I opened it and a very shifty looking man tried to put his head inside the room to look around in it, his eyes darting everywhere. He then said sorry wrong room and pointed to keys with another room number on it and left. I was somewhat spooked by this as why would he be knocking if he had a set of keys. I then noticed that the door had no security devices on it apart from the main lock, and we decided that it was not somewhere we would feel safe staying in.

We returned to reception and explained our fears. The women behind the desk (who had been so pleasant when we arrived) became very irate and tried to suggest that the man was not a hotel guest but was a tour guide for some Russian "students"! She got angrier when we said we were not happy with the room. No alternative was offered by her. She then started telling us that we would have to pay for the room anyway. At this point her husband turned up and starting insulting me too. We immediately left the building and told them that we were not willing to pay for substandard accommodation. Bear in mind that it was still about an hour before our official check-in time.

On return to the UK it has emerged that the hotel made an unauthorised charge on my credit card for the room after we had left the hotel. Having ready many other reviews which also describe people being charge for extra nights after leaving the hotel because of how poor the rooms are I would suggest that this place is best avoided at all costs.

Beware the initial warm welcome - this place is horrible!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The location is very convenient. 2 mins walk to the nearest supermarket and 5 mins walk to everywhere pretty much – I think for the location itself, this hotel is great value for money. The staffs don’t really speak English, so a little bit body language is required. She is trying though, so no complained there.

The only downside, (which is not a big a deal really) that the bathroom door cannot be locked, nor closed properly. It would be quite awkward if you are travelling with friends. There is no stairs in this hotel, but then again, it is not a big deal for us. It would be if we bringing suitcases with us. There is no wifi in the hotel; I found free wifi to use in our hotel room though, which is the free cinema’s wifi – since our room is facing the cinema. Wired internet is available for laptops, but since I use my phone to go online, I was glad that we can use the cinema’s wifi!

Overall a good stay, location is a major reason really, might say otherwise if we didn’t get the wifi!

Room Tip: Choose the room that facing the cinema so you can get free wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau by HappyCulture
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gambetta
Hotel Gambetta
#102 of 175 in Bordeaux
243 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des 4 Soeurs
Hotel des 4 Soeurs
#81 of 175 in Bordeaux
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de L'Opera
Hotel de L'Opera
#105 of 175 in Bordeaux
184 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 7 rue Franklin, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: £69 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing