We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to sleep right in the centre of Bordeaux”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Une Chambre en Ville
Ranked #41 of 92 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a small bed and breakfast that has a very quiet and convenient location. It was surprising to have no reception on arrival - merely a door code in advance by email and then a list of the names and bedrooms in the hall. We had the Herald room which was only up one flight of stairs - beware - no lifts! Breakfast was quite good but the hotel owner was not overly forthcoming or welcoming and didn't ask how our stay was when we left - this would have been a nice "brownie point" for customer service. However, I am used to this in France, so didn't really expect anything else. The room was good for just sleeping and very quiet (surprisingly so, considering it was really in the centre). The cathedral is around the corner and if you want value for money in a central location, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raveng21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Une Chambre en Ville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

Hotel is near a lot of restaurants and brasseries. The Cathedral is only a couple of blocks away. Room is modern and clean. The breakfast is simple but sufficient, and the staff are friendly. Our room faced the road and was a bit noisy. But that was the only drawback.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meeshbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. we have two young children so the grande suite we booked last minute on booking.com was a great size for us. because we booked at the last minute we also got a fantastic rate. the rooms overlooked the street, were very large, really clean and nicely decorated. had tea and coffee making in the room, and a fridge. breakfast was included. it is pretty basic and simple but very fresh. the only thing we found was on arrival there is no real meet and greet. we had to find someone to get internet passwords and porta cots etc. but once we found someone and asked for these things they were no problem. i just think it is nice when you arrive in a new place to have someone give you your bearings etc. other than that personal touch on arrival this is great place to stay.internet access was very good in our room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The rooms are lovely but we were really impressed by the care and consideration they lavished on us. Perhaps most important was that when the national strike kept the taxi from getting to the hotel to take us to the airport, the proprietor walked us round to meet the cab on the other side of the protest. We were able to get to the airport and to Paris on time because of his incredible generosity and kindness. I'll stay here again next time I'm lucky enough to get to Bordeaux - you should too!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We had located and booked this over the net without seeing any reviews before we went. We arrived in Bordeaux on the first Sunday of July - beware the roads close to the city centre are closed on the first Sunday of each month, which made finding a car park close to the B&B very difficult. We ended up approx 20 mins walk away and had to leave our cases in the car just taking the bare necessities with us. We went to the tourist information office who gave us a map and quickly found the B&B. We had been given the door code so could access our room without the need to check in. The room was clean and modern and bed very comfortable, it had an air conditioning unit if we needed. Likwise the bathroom was clean and bright. We didnt see anyone until the next morning and had a very pleasant breakfast and chatted to the owner who was very friendly. This was a great location close to the main areas of Bordeaux and would be an ideal place to stay for a city break. We were there for only one night but would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

A thoroughly pleasant place! I was surprised how big my room was. It felt like an apartment, and it was tastefully furnished in a sort of shabby chic. I loved opening up my French doors and watching people wander in and out of the shops. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is very convenient to the tourist sites (Cathedrale St.-Andre), shopping, and public transportation. I would definitely stay there again. So glad I didn't end up in a generic, nondescript place. Only minus: mosquitoes from leaving my windows open.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolandsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My first 2 nights were in a large apartment in the newly rennovated house across the street... it was very nice, very utilitarian and new... wireless internet signal was not very strong as it emminates from the main house (across the street).

My second 2 nights were alot less nice... I was moved to the "Nautical Room" because of lack of space (my fault... made last minute reservations)... very old and musty... bathroom toilet leaked, showerhead came off, and wall to wall carpeting was not as fresh as it could have been. 4th floor walk-up, but internet worked much better as antenna was just outside of my door.

Remy, the owner, can be charming and nice when he chooses.

Staff was great, and breakfast was tasty and rustic (in a good way).

Good part of town, but remember to ask for the newly rennovated house (across the street).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gentleman_from_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Qualys-Hotel La Tour Intendance
0.2 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau by HappyCulture
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Presse
Hotel de la Presse
#88 of 174 in Bordeaux
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gambetta
Hotel Gambetta
#102 of 174 in Bordeaux
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Une Chambre en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Une Chambre en Ville

Address: 35 rue Bouffard, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range: £131 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Une Chambre en Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming decorated guesthouse in the centre of Bordeaux. In an 18th-century house near all major places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Une Chambre en Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Une Chambre En Ville Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing