We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little boutique hotel with all the basics”
Review of Hotel Gambetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gambetta
Ranked #103 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Nicely decorated with 24hr receptionist, not too chic, not a dump either, good rates, CNN and BBC news programmes on TV and Wifi - which many still don't have in Bordeaux. Very central, next to tram station, very friendly and helpful staff and decent toiletries and even hair dryer in bathroom. A little gem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Hotel is situated centrally in the old part of town, where all the main attractions are situated. Arriving at ground floor reception, we were informed our room was on the top floor. The lift goes from first floor to the lower third floor. So when you get out of the lift you actually go up the narrow spiral stairs for two floors. The weather was hot, and entering the small room was like walking into an oven. Opening the window, and we gazed upon the old tiled roofs and the wall of the next building. I went back down to reception and asked for a new room, I was told the hotel was fully booked, though hardly saw anyone for the three nights there. I said the room was too hot to sleep in, and receptionist told me to turn the overhead fan on. I told there was no overhead fan. She replied all the rooms have overhead fans. We both went up to the room, and guess what, no overhead fan. I asked does she have a desk fan? Only the one that is under her desk, blowing on her legs. That will do. So I installed the fan, which helped to move the air. Next, the shower, was a hot trickle flow, and same next morning. The next morning a better flow of water, but totally cold. Then the whole hotel had no power, and no could do anything about until something was authorised by the owners. Eventually a electrician fixed the hot water system. If you stay there, make sure it is on a lower floor. We booked months in advance, but that did not assure us of a good room. We complained about the conditions experienced during our stay, but that did raise a blink. We duly paid, and later found out they had double up of the billing. They did credit it promptly. The tariff was Euro 72, but the room and facilities were poor, and the service dismal. It is a pity as the hotel is well place, and with a bit of repair work, and the staff taught to be customer friendly, it could be a good hotel.

Room Tip: Only use the hotel if you can get on the lower two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We booked a double room online. However, upon arrival, the woman at the front desk informed us that because of an error on the hotel's part, they had only reserved a single room for us. Properly scheduling rooms is an incredibly simple, but highly important task. Whoever is in charge of this job at Hotel Gambetta must be an extremely incompetent person. It is really not that hard to make sure people get the room they request, especially given modern technology.

Hotel Gambetta did not have any other double rooms available for that night (we were staying three nights total), so the woman at the front desk called around to find us another hotel. She pointed out its location on a map. The hotel she located was much further away, in a much worse area (we later walked by the hotel). I refused to go to that hotel instead, so my wife and I had to share a single room for one night until a double would become available (which meant I had to sleep on the floor).

My understanding from my conversation with the hotel employee is that we would receive free breakfast + the price difference between a single and double room. That is the MINIMUM offer that any high quality service-oriented company that cared more about its reputation than skimping its customers would offer. However, upon not seeing any kind of refund made to my credit card, I contacted the hotel. The manager of the hotel informed me that they thought free breakfast was sufficient. Honestly, a hotel that cared about its customers (and not getting reamed on tripadvisor) would have given us the night in the single free, in addition to free breakfast. I would have even been satisfied with the 10 euro price difference between the single and the double. It is unacceptable to make such a big mistake on such a simple task.

So in summary, don't go to Hotel Gambetta because they cannot be trusted to handle simple tasks competently.

In fairness, the woman working the front desk when we arrived did an excellent job in apologizing for her hotel's error and trying to improve the situation (even though one of her proposals was to send us to a dumpy hotel). Additionally, her english was excellent, which really helped as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ludvog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

very poort quality hotel and very expensive for what it is!
1. very tiny room
2. the smallest flat screen you can find on the market
3. carpet of the room is dirty
4. not very friendly staff
5. the wifi does not work
6. no sound proofing at all from room to room

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kechmarasirap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is a great location in Bordeaux, ventral ad easy to get to all the main areas of the centre of the city.

The hotel is relatively cheap - 60 euros per night - but the twin room we had was tiny with one window overlooking a very small open area which allowed no air to flow into the room. There is no aircon, the ceiling fan works a bit, but just moves the warm air around, and is very noisy at night. We stayed during poor weather for Bordeaux - had we enjoyed the usual temperatures Bordeaux has we would have struggled to cope, as it was we both slept very badly during our stay of 3 nights.

We gambled on a less expensive hotel, but it did not pay off, this was an uncomfortable stay in a tiny room with a very poor shower.

DON'T agree t breakfast at the hotel, there are dozens of fab places for petit dejeuner very close, we went to the cafe just outside the old gate less than 1 minute from the hotel and had a lovely croissant coffee and juice where we could sit and watch the world go by.

Bordeaux is lovely and would recommend a visit there, just not based at the Hotel Gambetta

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsP-Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Great location for everything in Bordeaux. Room was clean and basic. Staff were helpful and accomodating. No a/c but you get what you pay for! Ask for a room at the back/top of the hotel - no view, but quiet as the hotel is on main pedestrian street.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wicklawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

You walk out of the hotel and you are straight on to the pedestrianised streets of the city centre. the hotel is small and cramped but was clean. For us it was a good practical spot, without being overly expensive.
Bordeaux was great...two days was enough for us before moving on

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John020161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau by HappyCulture
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Porte Dijeaux
Hotel La Porte Dijeaux
#148 of 174 in Bordeaux
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Presse
Hotel de la Presse
#90 of 174 in Bordeaux
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#87 of 174 in Bordeaux
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de L'Opera
Hotel de L'Opera
#102 of 174 in Bordeaux
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gambetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gambetta

Address: 66 rue de la Porte Dijeaux, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: £64 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gambetta 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gambetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gambetta Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing