We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Bordeaux”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I am a tour guide in Bordeaux and I pick up clients from dozens of different hotels. I have been to all of the major hotels in the area and I cannot believe this hotel is not #1. Something is definitely suspicious in TripAdvisor land... For one thing, this hotel's location is unbeatable. It is located in Bordeaux's main square where Romans settles in the 1st and 2nd centuries! With no exception all of my clients are blown away by the service and the amenities in this hotel. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Grand Theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDoublait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Partner,

Thank you very much for your trust in our property and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We always do our best to make our guests stay a memorable moment.

We will be very happy to welcome your future coming guests in our property.

Kind regards,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and elegant hotel. Hotel staff were very energetic and taking initiatives to help.

Food in their Michelin-star restaurant was excellent.. I am still missing their lobster press!

Wish that my husband and I had the spa treatment booked in advance...bookings were so full during our stay.

Highly recommend this hotel to everyone and I will come back for sure.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anita718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit in order to book your treatments in advance to enjoy our beautiful Spa.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely yours,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose Bordeaux as our location of choice for a July long weekend. We decided to stay in the iconic Grand Hotel de Bordeaux.

The location is unrivalled, located in a beautiful square opposite the theatre and the facade is impressive and welcoming.

The welcome was warm and the room we stayed in was well appointed but our only complaint was that the room was small even though it was one of the higher category rooms. That said, it didn't detract from our stay.

The title of this review covers the experience of staying at the hotel. The traditional frontage, terrace restaurant and reception are countered by a very modern roof terrace with hot tub and spa that massages the senses. The roof terrace is a great place for a pre dinner glass of something which also offers fantastic panoramic views of the splendid city.

The concierge was helpful on things to do and places to see and the abundance of beautiful restaurants makes their job a lot easier I am sure!

Definitely the place to stay and we are heading back in September. This would have gotten a full five rating if the rooms were a little bigger.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank FWG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our concierge team is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely yours,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We arrived by car, and were allowed to drive up to the front steps, on the plaza opposite the Opera House. Enquiring with the doorman, where the car park was, I was informed, they valet park. In a busy city centre that's very welcome. The hotel is as it's name suggests, Grand.

The reception staff are polished, professional and very courteous. We also found the same of the concierge, doormen, and valet parking staff. On arrival having checked our room, we went to the Victor bar for a drink. Admittedly we were in jeans, but many people were, but each one of the three bar staff treated us with disdain, as we assume they thought we'd walked off the street and were not residents. Even if we had, if I am prepared to pay €42 for two gins (ex-tonic) then I expect to be treated respectfully. The same bar staff, could not have been more different and friendly when we came down for a pre-dinner drink later.

We stayed in a deluxe room, small but well appointed. Immaculately clean, and kept that way by the maid service. I am always pleased to see an electric socket in the safe, you can recharge phones etc without having to leave them insecurely in your room.

The whole hotel is immaculate, if you want to stay in an iconic hotel which does not have the quirky failings often found in old hotels, then this is the place for you.

The hotel is near perfect, we would give it top marks if it had not been for the very unwelcoming bar staff on arrival, and rather bizarrely not getting complimentary water at night with the turn down service.

We would though, very happily stay at the Grand when we visit Bordeaux again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments are most encouraging and help to motivate us all to keep improving the quality of our services. Your supportive interest is greatly appreciated.

I am however very concerned by your constructive remark regarding the attitude of our bar staff and I apologize for this incident that tarnished your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel on many future occasions and I may assure you of our best attention and care at all time.

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay in Bordeaux was short and the hotel not only gave us a great location to discover the city but also provided a place of great relaxation, great quality and a suburb level of customer service. Nothing was a problem, the room was excellent and the little things done to make you feel valued were very much appreciated. You pay for what you get and would certainly recommend Le Grand if you want that little bit extra

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment you shared with us on TripAdvisor.

The entire team will be thrilled to hear that their efforts were up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to your next visit,

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is a fantastic choice if you stay in Bordeaux. We were in a Junior Suite, overlooking the theatre. The room was very clean. All the staff were extremely nice, helpfull and friendly. We will come back to the Grand Hotel Bordeaux. Do not forget to book wine tour trough the concierge.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Honorierendergast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment you shared with us on TripAdvisor. What a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the services and the staff, thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor.

The entire team will be thrilled to hear that their efforts were up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to your next visit,

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The location of the hotel is fantastic, right opposite the Opera and close the main shopping street. We arrived about 1545hr and our room was not ready for about 10 minutes despite it being after the check-in time. When we got our keys, we made our own way to the room which was quite a long walk from the reception and we had to take 2 lifts to get there as it was right at the end of the hotel. We were allocated a deluxe room which was a good size and nice and quiet. Wi-fi was complimentary, we just had to log in each day which was fine. Whenever we needed anything for the room such as milk for coffee or to borrow a travel adaptor, they were very quick to come to the room. We used the spa for a few hours in the afternoon. The pool was small but very opulent and also had a button which you could press to get a current which my husband used for a good work out. The only issue for me relaxing by the pool though was the sound of the generator or the pump or whatever it was, it was very noisy and sounded like you were in an aircraft! They had a beautiful terrace on top of the spa with a jacuzzi and great views of the city but it was out of use while we were there, although we snuck up there to have a photo. We had the breakfast buffet each morning of our stay which was very good. We asked the concierge to use their bikes while we were there but there was a EUR13 charge for 5 hours. I was surprised as thought they may be complimentary but we decided to use the city bikes instead which were better value although not as good quality. Overall a very enoyable stay at the Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Only difference between a superior in deluxe is the size and that deluxes have a Nespresso machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Johan GOURAUD
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 177 in Bordeaux
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 177 in Bordeaux
937 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala
Hotel Burdigala
#4 of 177 in Bordeaux
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#5 of 177 in Bordeaux
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 177 in Bordeaux
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel

Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: £204 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing