We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Raclette - CLOSED

La Raclette
Cuisines: French, European
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This is probably the worst resteraunt my wife and I have visited during our three week France vacation. The service was a joke (I wouldn't even call it service), the owner was extremely rude and uptight and the food was VERY bad (we were served 1 week old bread which the owner claimed was supposed to be like that).

This place is a tourist trap and not worth the money at all, stay away!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ayalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    13
    9
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona Del Mar,CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Stop for Lunch...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I was there on a hot July day so Raclette was out of the question -- the lunch menu featured a rotisserie chicken with salad - and with a little cold Rose it was perfect. The place was empty but they two staff were very kind and both took care of me and let me be -- which was fine. Not fancy, but certainly clean and a fair value. You have to negotiate small staircase to use the toilet, but the place is just fine. I would love to come back for there specialty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to eat & drink in Bordeaux”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Great service. Fab location. Food - totally yummy. Wine great (needs wine from Saviour region of France tho). I loved it all. Don't believe the negative reviews below. This is the place to be. Intimate, friendly, delicious. Everything i wanted. Go there now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tappers_the_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuaille Sur Boutonne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good food - not very clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The food was good & plenty of it. A very busy restaurant, but once we were seated & ordered, we started looking around the restaurant, not good as in places it could do with a clean, place is looking tired.The waitress(just one) worked very hard with tables on the ground floor & first floor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 979paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The worst fondue I've ever been served”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I actually liked the room and the service was perfectly ok.

However, the fondue itself was simply dreadful.

1. The blend of cheeses in the Fondue Savoyarde--billed as Emmenthal, Comte and Belfort--was bland and characterless. If you are used to Swiss fondues, especially the Gruyere and Vacherin Fribourgeois "moitie moitie" blend you get around Gruyeres, you'll find this like eating melted candle wax.

2. Even worse, the fondue was "broken," that is, the ball of solid matter was separated from the fatty liquid part. I have eaten fondue dozens of times in places in Europe and made it at home often, and I know that such greasy glop is unacceptable. There also are ways to rescue a broken fondue that any real chef would know. The restaurant's solution was to give each table a big wooden spoon and tell the diners to try to stir the sticky fatty mess back together. Besides being dangerous, it doesn't really work.

Disgraceful! The Food Police ought to make an arrest.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Newyorker10027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Raclette also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing