We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly, had a great stay”
Review of Georges VI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georges VI
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were lucky to get a good deal by booking early, not knowing more about the hotel besides the website, and our expectations were way surpassed. Small,nice and clean room with a new bathroom. Opening the window and turning my head we even had an ocean view. Very friendly service and a surprisingly big and tasteful breakfast buffé (a french croissant and café is not my cup of tea...). A bit noisy bar street so we had to sleep with the window shut (stayed on 1st floor), but also appreciated the central location. Will return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were very pleased with our short stay at the George VI. The owners are pleasant and obliging; breakfast is unremarkable but good; rooms are a bit small, but well equipped and decorated, and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhepher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We have stayed in 4 hotels in Biarritz and this was the best.
It was clean(and if you saw the cleaners at work you could see why). Everything was replenished daily. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well sound-proofed, with efficient air-con. The small garden off the first floor was very pleasant to sit in for an hour at the end of the day.
The hotel is very central at the sea end of the road, There are touristy shops and a few loud bars at the other end of the road, but please do not let them put you off. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, without exception and arranged for me to see a doctor when I had a stomach upset.
The coup de grace of this hotel though, is something I have never experienced in any other comparable hotel, ever. At breakfast, Madame would ask if we wanted scrambled eggs and bacon, and the answer was "yes", she cooked them for us fresh on the spot!
I cannot find anything wrong with this hotel and I don't want to!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Biarriz is a nice place,for to be peaceful; And the little hotel GeorgeVI, too. It,s near the little plage of the town, and a good place for someone as me,and my son. The street is only for persons,it,s very impotant for children.
Our room was perfect. And security.
I don,t like the grand hotels,with much peolple, i prefer little place, but good place, and i think these is perfect for to be there,in Biarriz

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viki077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The hotel has been renovated quite recently and it seems to be taken good care of. All the staff we met was nice and friendly.

We had a garden side room, it was cosy and clean and very quiet: we couldn't hear any noise from the lively street of Rue du Port Vieux. About the room size I would say it is a normal European hotel room in an old city center building, not very large but there is everything you need. We had no problem in fitting in with our two carry-ons. The air conditioning was efficient and comfortable, we could also open the window.

The location is excellent, 100 m from the small beach of Port Vieux, 200 m from Place Sainte-Eugenie. There are lots of bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood, also the shopping streets and the other beaches are close.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We payed 160 euros for a room with a balcony and ocean view. The balcony is not large enough for two persons to stand on and if you first manage to stand on it, and turned your head to the right you could see a bit of the sea. The information about hotel is at the best misleading. The rooms are clean, but so small that we were informed to put our luggage in the bathroom! The location is great, but the beach near the hotel is crowded and dirty! A lot of rubbish comes in with the tide. There is no miny bar in the room. Aircondition works well. Breakfast is too expencive and not good, go rather to the place next door where you can sit outside on the terasse. If I go back to Biarritz I will certanly look for an apartment or another hotel. By the way, the walk to the main (Grand) beach from this hotel took 15 min.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Went to Biarritz for a weekend of surfing and we usually rent a flat but this time we decided to try something different... booked this hotel not expecting anything, but got a great surprise! In such a quaint location, near all the shops and a short walk down the hill to the bars... rooms were spacious and clean, staff were so friendly and helpful, and the breakfast (although was not a huge buffet etc) was good, set in a quiet and cosy room, it was a nice touch to the morning. Though we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, it was nice to come back to in the evening and relax. The bathroom was clean and the products supplied were of any top class standard. Though the view from the hotel is not much to look at (set in a residential street) its a great place to base yourself for a quiet weekend. I'm only giving this place a 4 rating for location as it doesn't over look the ocean- which is probably a main reason why people go to Biarritz, but it is in the centre of everything, without being in the middle of the noise!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank -nesnoosa-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.3 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.5 mi away
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
#36 of 64 in Biarritz
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
1 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges VI

Address: 10 Rue du Port Vieux, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#11 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £62 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges VI 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Georges VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georges Vi Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing