We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location with excellent restaurant and lively atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Le Caritz

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Biarritz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Caritz
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We had a very pleasant one-night stay in Hotel le Caritz and even though it was out of season (October) the restaurant was buzzing in the evening - not surprisingly as the food was fantastic and very professionally served by charming staff. Our bedroom was small with limited furniture or storage space, but the bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely view over the hotel terrace and the small beach and sea beyond. The bathroom was small but modern with a powerful overhead shower.

The hotel is next to a small square with free parking, but I expect it would be really hard to find a space there in the summer. On arrival at the hotel you have to check in at the bar as there is no reception as such, and there is no lift so older people might have a problem carting their luggage to the upper floors. Breakfast was simple but good, and we would definitely recommend Hotel Caritz, particularly for the amazing evening meal.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulaEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2008

We stayed in this hotel after a recommendation from friends and it lived up to the superb reputation they had given it.

The hotel is a charming building on the corner of a small square within the old quay.

We were pleasantly greeted and allocated a lovely suite with bedroom and seperate lounge room. The bedroom had french doors that opened onto a view of the sea. The decor was boho chic with warm solid wooden furniture and beautiful silk curtains, throws and complimenting accessories.

The bathroom was like a showpiece from Fired Earth!

We took breakfast within the restaurant and dinner on the sun terrace. The food is delicious, everything is immaculate and the staff attentive and friendly.

The bar was adorned with rugby paraphenalia, which we found really interesting, and just incase you are there during an international, there is a tv/sports area to watch live events. This is also where you will meet the owner, the veteran French Rugby International, Pascal Ondarts, who exudes a great presence and character.

Across the road is a lovely beach and you have some super boutiques and other shops within a few minutes walk.

The main shops and promenade of Biarritz can be ventured in 10-15 mins via the path up past the Virgin Rock and Musee De La Mer.

We had a lovely relaxing stay made more special by the rugby connection.

Please note you will have to brush up on your French as English is not spoken in this hotel - We found that a great bonus and our spoken French excelled.

  • Stayed: May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: vue mer sympathique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Stephane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank sahyadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Macflyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#21 of 64 in Biarritz
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#29 of 64 in Biarritz
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edouard VII
Hotel Edouard VII
#13 of 64 in Biarritz
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maitagaria
Hotel Maitagaria
#42 of 64 in Biarritz
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Caritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Caritz

Address: Place du Port Vieux, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range: £75 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Caritz 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privilege of an exceptional situation in Biarritz. The 3-star hotel Le Caritz, situated at 20 meters from the beach, proposes you 12 rooms among which 2 suites, all with a view on the ocean. Every room benefits from an air conditioning system independent as well as of a free WiFi access. At any time, possibility of room service, from breakfast to dinner, all the dishes of our card are at your disposal. To savor: the luxury of the private terrace opened on the ocean and its Jacuzzi, for a favored and relax moment. The ocean offers itself to you right in the heart of Biarritz. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing