We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An address to keep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maitagaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maitagaria
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Paris, France
Level Contributor
267 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“An address to keep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is conveniently and centrally located, a short walk down to the beach and casino area. The 78 year old owner has been running the hotel for 40 years. She doesn't speak any English but if you can speak French you'll find out how sweet and charming she is. Her son is very friendly and he does speak English. The hotel is tastefully decorated and she maintains the property extremely well. It is spotless. We were in a room for 3 people but in fact it was two rooms in one with a door separating the two rooms, a very pleasant surprise. The owner had kindly shown us two rooms to choose from and this is the one we selected. We loved the view of the lovely garden, too. She also was a wonderful hostess the next morning for breakfast making us fresh squeezed orange juice and checking in often to see if we needed anything. I will definitely keep this address for the next time I am in Biarritz! Very good value for a town the size of Biarritz.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Hotel Maitagoria is a small, old-world, thoroughly French hotel which has been run by the same family since 1947. It's conveniently located on the Public Garden, a short distance from the Grande Plage. It's affordable, in a expensive community, and comfortable. I found it charming, and would be happy to stay there again. I particularly enjoyed the proprietors' collection of art.....

Room Tip: Be aware that there's no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfsteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Previous reviews very accurate. Didn't have breakfast as preferred to go out. Hotel was spotless and in good condition. Really enjoyed the different quirks and antique furniture. Very Old World. Comfortable beds. Hard to fault.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We were touring around France and we were looking for a place to stay one night, so we booked this hotel just before arriving to Biarritz.
From the front, the hotel does not look at all special and it might give you a false bad impression, but inside it is tastefully decorated, and the rooms are renovated and modern.
It seems to be a family owned hotel, and the staff (mother and son i think) were very helpful and polite (although the mother only speaks French).
Also if you like dogs, they have a extremely friendly and very cute little dog greeting the guests on the ground floor :))
Our room on the top floor was big and spacious and we had a huge bathroom with a modern shower.
The room was facing the back of the hotel and we had a nice view of the beautiful "Japanese style" garden and pond of the hotel on the ground floor.
There is also free WiFi which is very important to have these days!
The rooms, bathroom and beds were very clean, and astonishingly the beds have expensive and very comfortable memory foam mattresses (instead of the uncomfortable cheap springy mattresses you find in most hotels). I really enjoyed sleeping there!
Breakfast was just ok (continental) but they could offer you more choices.
Only complaint was that there is no elevator, and if you have heavy luggage that you need to carry to the top floor then you will struggle.
Also, there is no private parking but Biarritz is a rather safe place to park a car in France, and we easily found a parking spot in the street just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultra-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquitaine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Right in the middle of Biarritz on a park, we fully appreciated this small family hotel with its very kind owners. The rooms are clean and spacious and you can park free on the street. The hotel- a 4 or 5 story property with a gate- is located in a good neighbourhood. You will not need your car in Biarritz self. The breakfast is excellent. We will certainly go back on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montagnac-sur-Lede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edouard VII
Hotel Edouard VII
#11 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#12 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
La maison du Lierre
La maison du Lierre
#16 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palym
Hotel Palym
#35 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parc Mazon
Hotel Parc Mazon
#37 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
#48 of 64 in Biarritz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maitagaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maitagaria

Property: Hotel Maitagaria
Address: 34 Avenue Carnot, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maitagaria 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maitagaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing