We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and poor service”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #206 of 348 Restaurants in Biarritz
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Poor food and poor service”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Worst Indian food I have ever had. Chicken Korma with more bones than chicken ! Service was slow and whole place uncomfortably hot. Very disappointed with whole experience and would never return. There is another Indian restaurant in Biarritz but have to say its even worse !
Actually Biarritz is not wort visiting for more than a couple of days. In October most shops were closed and many restaurants also. Never had a good meal here in a week !
The town is clean and I guess in summer the beach would be good, but if your looking for good food stay well clear, especially of the Taj, it's terrible.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    20
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“So-So Indian Food”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Restaurant is clean and service was reasonable, decor is nice.

I am English, eat a lot of Indian food, have travelled in India, etc ... the food here was fairly expensive and lacked any real Indian flavors. Vindaloo was like packet gravy with black pepper. Korma was better but still lacked any real flavour. I asked for indian hot: on th3 vindaloo but was ignored.

The price was pretty high.

Nan breads are good though.

They need to get a decent chef because it feels nice and has potential.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marknadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best of the two”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

It may be slightly unlucky for the Taj Mahal to be visited in Biarritz by an East Londoner and English curry enthusiast who lives (at home) in an area flooded by the best contemporary Northern European Indian cuisine; but I can only give my opinion. The Vindaloo I consumed in this restaurant very disappointing, It was the authentic old Goan Portuguese dish (not the London dish) with nearly all of the spice removed and mixed up with a lot of cream (horrible), as was the indistinguishable mess of accompanying side dishes. The House Red, that arrived half way thought the meal had to be consumed with care, because if a drop of it had fallen on the table top it would have removed the varnish.

The lesson from this is not to go to Biarritz and eat Indian cuisine; eat the French food and leave this tragedy to the locals

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank julianeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food -- good service”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I had the salmon lunch, wife had Thali lunch. Superb taste. Generous portions. We were filled and satisfied with both. Tasty chutney. Papads were roasted -- not fried. Healthier. Plentiful basmati rice. Good naan -- no ghee (healthier).Nice, tasty raita.

We requested extra spice and got a dish with hot chili sauce -- we like it Chennai hot.

Healthy nutrition with superb taste. Would go again and again.

They also do a brisk take-out trade.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Popular Indian restaurant and deservedly so!”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very pleasant dining room with nice table settings. Typical menu of tandoori meats, fish and vegetables and plenty of curry options Food was good though not very spicy - specify some heat if you're craving some zing! Nan breads were very good. Plenty of street parking nearby. Reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beefeater34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing