We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, outstanding service, good location--highly recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Kemaris
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here five nights. We were so impressed with the staff's help, kindness and knowledge. They made great food recommendations, provided free water for us to take to the beach, and helped us even after we left! My husband left behind in the safe an important item. When we discovered it was missing they Shipped it overnight to us. Eric was really great! Rooms are comfortable and clean. Showers are fantastic. Air conditioning was a huge bonus. Loved easy walk to beaches and city center. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Biarritz. Breakfast was also excellent--great value!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemaris, Propriétaire at Best Western Kemaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind comments. We try our best to please all our guests all year round, providing recommendations on places to visit, good restaurants in town, and nice walks around the city. It is true that air conditioning is highly useful during summer; the weather can be very warm! Our hotel being located a short walk from the city centre and the beaches, you are able to do everything by foot, which is appreciable in a busy town like Biarritz where parking is a nightmare! We hope to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this property for only one night but wished that we had booked a week. This modern, clean hotel is situated about a 10-minute walk to a marvelous beach. It was a perfect beach for swimming. There were plenty of restaurants in close proximity. The room itself was comfortable with good air-conditioning, a nice bed and contemporary decor. We paid for on-site parking which was efficent. Breakfast at the hotel was a little pricey, but nice. We enjoyed it on an outdoor patio, making it the perfect way to start the day under the beautiful blue sky of Biarritz. All of these factors were positive, but we were most impressed by the helpful staff. We were having some communication issues with one of the properties at which we had a reservation for later on our vacation. It was problematic because our French was limited and the proprietor's English was likewise limited. The bilingual desk clerk took the initiative to work out the problems with the proprietor of that property. He made a long distance call at no charge to us and worked through the issue to our satisfaction. He was on the phone for half an hour helping us. We appreciated his commitment to excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debra-Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemaris, Propriétaire at Best Western Kemaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

We are very pleased to receive such a comment from you! We make all efforts to be helpful to our guests. Every problem has its solution and if we are able to solve it, we will do it. Our hotel being divided into two buildings, you can enjoy the patio of one of them to have your breakfast when the weather makes it possible. We propose two formulas for the breakfast: a buffet breakfast, 12€, which offers a wide range of quality products (and even bio products); and an « express » breakfast, 5€, for those who are not so hungry, with a fruit juice, a hot drink and a croissant. The beds are changed regularly in order to offer the best rest to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Best Western Kemaris is a clean, well-run hotel within 5-10 minutes walking distance to Biarritz center. The environment is very peaceful and there is not noisy restaurant next to it. As Best Westerns in general, the hotel is nothing fancy, but a good basic hotel in positive sense. Bed was comfortable (not overly soft), breakfast selsection was basic, but we found there all we needed. Free WLAN worked well.

Recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank ViatoriPatuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemaris, Propriétaire at Best Western Kemaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you for your kind comment on this website. The hotel being located a bit off the beaten path, the environment is, as you say, very quiet, which is enjoyable especially during summer when the city is busy and cafes and restaurants are full. But the hotel is also very close from the main places to visit in Biarritz (5 minutes from the well-known surfing beach of « La Côte des Basques », 5 minutes to the market place surrounded by nice restaurants, 10 minutes from the main shopping area). Internet is free of charge, and works very well in all the building. We also have free-access computers for guests who have no way to access Internet in their room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 days in mid july. Went for a privilege room with lovely balcony. Only a short walk from the town and beach (5 minutes) but quiet enough to be peaceful at night. Free bottled water every day was useful and my wife loved the coffee machine. Good secure parking although you have to pay its cheaper than the car parks in town (only €11 a day)

There was always a helpful person on reception as well.

All round very nice!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank callcentreboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemaris, Propriétaire at Best Western Kemaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thanks for your kind comment. Our « Privilège » rooms offer a nice terrace to enjoy the fresh air when the weather is good. They also have a coffee machine and a minibar. Water is free every time you want. The parking is useful especially during summer when the city is busy and parking is a nightmare! And expensive as well in the public car-parks. Hope we will see you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here three nights and wished it was possible to move in. As the other reviews state, yes the rooms are small but totally functional: choose one with a balcony or terrace and you buy yourself some outside space. The surf beach is 5 minutes--downhill, as everything seems to be except the closest bus stop--and the daily market is no more than 7 minutes at the slowest pace. Being just outside the center keeps the surroundings quiet and the shutters on the rooms make for a good nights rest after spending all day outside. Wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else in Biarritz.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemaris, Propriétaire at Best Western Kemaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

We would like to thank you warmly for your kind comments about our hotel. We are always pleased when guests leave us with good memories. As you say, the market place is not far away, as the beach of La Côte des Basques and the main place of Biarritz, la place Georges Clémenceau. Do not hesitate to ask advice about places to visit and restaurants! The surroundings of the hotel are quiet, which is appreciable especially during summer when the city is so busy. Hope we will see you next time you stay in Biarritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Martine C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kemaris, Propriétaire at Best Western Kemaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month, having stayed here two years ago. I found that my room was looking tired and as if no maintenance had been carried out in the intervening period. Although the room was clean the air conditioning was no longer working (the remote had the batteries inserted the wrong way around and the switches on the unit failed to work). The safe wouldn't lock and the flexi shower in the bathroom didn't work either. It was a shame as this was a nice hotel when I stayed here in 2012.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemaris, Propriétaire at Best Western Kemaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

We are sorry th hear you were not pleased with your stay with us. We try to repare and maitain our equipments in working conditions and our rooms looking good. Something must have happened that we did not noticed. We will try our best to solve everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kemaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kemaris

Address: 34 Avenue Du Marechal Joffre, 64200 Biarritz, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kemaris)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range: £58 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kemaris 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris Biarritz ***, located 200 meters from the beach of La Cote des Basques, allows you to visit the city walking. The hotel welcomes you in a warm and calm ambiance. You will appreciate the charm of this totally renovated structure. Enjoy all the comfort of our 48 rooms perfectly equipped (flat screen television, CNN channel and free wifi), divided into two buildings. Each room offers a decoration that combines design and natural wood, and some of them are fitted with a wide terrace. The hotel has a private car park (reservation required) which will release you from any parking obligation. Easy to access, the hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris is located only 10 minutes driving from the airport and the station. The hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris offers 5 categories of rooms to meet your expectations and to respect your budget. Our hotel has been totally renovated (furniture, isolation, floors, walls, plumbing and electricity) during the past two years, all the rooms are furnished with quality equipments and individual air conditioning. One of the best hotel at biarritz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Kemaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing