We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of the holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Instant - CLOSED

L'Instant
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of the holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stumbled across L'Instant one busy Saturday evening in Biarritz, after going slightly off our normal track because everywhere was so busy. I'm so glad we did! The staff managed to squeeze us in just before they became really busy with reservations. Easily the best meal out of the 9 nights we ate in Biarritz. The service was second to none, and our food was beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious. I would make this my first stop when I next return to Biarritz.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and beautiful food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

One of the nicer restaurants in a busy, touristy strip. Great value for money and really lovely food. Ate here twice in a very short stay.. highly recommend!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank emmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“My best meal in Biarritz so far ! An excellent surprise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

After few disappointing dinners in Biarritz i tried L'Instant and had à great surprise there ! Everything was absolutly delicious and well presented , service very friendly , décor clean and fresh and prices very reasonable . I will certainly go back and recommand it to all my friends .

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatachaBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good, creative food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

L'Instant was recommended by a friendly local we met in Biarritz. The menu was intriguing - certainly creative but not too wild. The food was prepared beautifully and served with care, and the staff was very helpful and nice. My husband's lamb was the shining star of the experience, followed closely by my duck entree, in my opinion. The starters and dessert were good, but nothing that I would recommend to others. Their "chilled guacamole" starter, in particular, was a little bizarre to me... not what I expected at all. It had no avocado flavor whatsoever and instead can only be described as a spinach-y, mildly grassy sorbet. Overall, however, our experience at L'Instant was lovely, and I would happily return for another experience should we find ourselves back in that part of the world again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxandab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We tried out this restaurant a few nights ago and were pleasantly surprised. Very friendly service and good food. Would go again

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Instant also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing