We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable food,average service”

Restaurant de l'Hotel de l'Ocean
Ranked #237 of 349 Restaurants in Biarritz
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reasonable food,average service”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Reasonable food,a litle overpriced though for the quality in my opinion.service from the serving waitresses good, but the usual service with a sneer from the waiters taking the order.they smile to you face and sneer behind your backs! You are only there after all to pay their wages!for better food and service try 50 yards up the square ,la tikka, better in every way

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charleswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    29
    18
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Left feeling cheated”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My problem with L'Ocean was not with the food as this was actually very good for the price (15 Euro menu), but when we received the bill, as we'd been charged 26 Euros for 2 kir royals. Now don't get me wrong, I like a bit of fizzy white wine once in a while, add a splash of creme de cassis and fantastic!- but 26 Euros for 2 kir royals is taking the pi$$!!!! They knew exactly what they were doing when they suggested this aperitif, and it's all there in the small-print, but it left us feeling cheated. I complained to the waiter but he just shrugged his shoulders and said he knew it was way too much but what could he do about it? Erm, inform the customer first perhaps?!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoney33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Good food and nice service. Convenient if you're staying at the hotel.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Plat du Jour”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stopped by driving North heading home.

Stopped here as nicely situated and shaded.

We both took the plat du jour, which was an excellent seafood starter - langoustines, and a steak main course, washed down with only water ( as driving later on)
A nice coffee afterwards had us both settled and pleased to pay the bill of 22 Euro.

An excellent lunch at a reasonable cost in a pleasant environment.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If mussels are your food of love eat on!!!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The staff run round at break neck speed for some reason. which provides entertainment.
As ever in France stick to the menu of the day unless you really want to spend your cash.
The food is well cooked and the gaspachio is wonderful. Mussels come with 3 types of sauce and is the most popular dish
My real complaint is with all the restaurants. Throughout the day you see vegetables in the market and in the shops like you never see back home.BUT in the restaurants and cafes its chips with meat and rice with fish and that is it.
With a bit of imagination and effort it could be so much better

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jefunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant de l'Hotel de l'Ocean also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Restaurant de l'Hotel de l'Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing