We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biarritz French, expensive, special!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We started in Bordeaux with no fixed plans for a week away, Quality hotel in Bordeaux was a lovely little hotel in the centre of the city ideal for visiting.

Let's get to the Biarritz visit, we booked the grand tonic hotel for 2 night, boring lacking in atmosphere no balcony and if your not French speaking forget it..... Free car park is tiny you will almost certainly end up in the underground at euro18 a night, make sure the bill is correct when you leave they tried to overcharge us.

Off to the sofitel we went we had looked at booking.com for a rate which we thought was ok at circa220 for a twin .... Grand tonic was circa200 for a tiny box like room.

We asked at reception about availability and rates we were told they only had available A superior room for one of the 3 nights and no classic rooms available .... rate circa 700euro a Night! Back we went to Grand tonic hotel onto the internet where we booked with bookings.com a twin room for circa220 per night at the Sophitel for 3 nights on the dates we wanted.

Following day we packed up and off to the Sophitel great welcome from the concierge, the parking is circa20/25euro a day underground, however if the concierge takes your car and parks it on the street the hotel charge circa15euro a day .... Regardless if you move it or not.

We checked in at reception and were told that we were being upgraded to a superior room as they had no classics available ...... Moral of the story, check rates on line and directly with the properties your are interested in.

Our room was lovely the hotel has everything you could ask for the clientele were classy French .. Don't expect to make friends, I can assure the spa, outdoor pool, staff make it an ideal short break location perfect for a couple or older clientele .....

We found throughout Biarritz in August the clients were young 20something surfers, elderly or families, it's a very French place to visit and I enjoyed practising my French however I can see how others would be put off.

It's expensive to stay in biarritz and the Sophitel, however there are lots of restaurants and bars locally we flew to Bordeaux it's motorway all the way, however biarritz has it's own airport, with good value flights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle-Mahe, Customer Experience Manager at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear GMJDublin,

Many thanks for reporting to Tripadvisor travelers your holiday in Aquitaine, and particularly for taking the time to relate your experience at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your upgrade and I've shared this morning with our teams your positive comments on our staff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

A bientôt !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The main feature at the Sofitel Biarritz is its quiet location just outside of the busy city center.
did i mention its also smack bang on the beach which is also nice, right?
The service is really quick and always comes with a smile, but, the only thing letting it down is pricing.

Room Tip: try to get something on atleast the 2 floor as our friends room was low with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adh1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had booked to stay at the Sofitel for 4 nights, but enjoyed the hotel and the town decided to extend to 8 nights.

The Sofitel is one of the best hotels in Biarritz, so the cost reflects that!
To be honest everything is quite expensive in the hotel and Biarritz itself, so be prepared!

The facilities of the hotel are superb. Outside heated pool and plenty of sun bathing couches.
We had breakfast most mornings, buffet style, all you can eat. Which set us up for the day, then had dinner in the hotel twice. Good food & service.
We dined at several restaurants, and generally the food was excellent, but not cheap!

Biarritz is beautiful & the Sofitel is worth a visit!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our third year of staying here. We love the outdoor pool which is heated and the service around the pool is excellent with plenty of sun beds and towels on offer. The bedrooms are comfortable but could do with a little updating for modern life. There are no spare plugs for charging phones/computers etc although there is a desk. It would be so much better if there were two plugs above desk . Also lighting cannot be centrally switched off. The reading light by the bed gets very hot and it's so easy to burn yourself on when trying to turn off the light. We stayed for 17 nights so these things tend to niggle after a while. The indoor pool was out of action for our stay although we were emailed to say work would be finished within a few days of our arrival this was blatantly untrue given the amount of work left to do so I don't know why the claim was made. Other than this we were very impressed .Reservations gave us our requested bedroom which pleased us as some rooms are hotter than others and as the French tend to ignore the no smoking ban in bedrooms these rooms can smell of smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixstoweSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Everything about the hotel was great from reception to car parking staff. It is perfectly positioned for the beach restaurants and golf. Biarritz itself I'd a fabulous place, great for surfers and families. alike. There were life guards on the beach too. Indoor Pool area at the hotel great with very attentive staff. Indoor pool not open when we visited due to storm damage but not needed in July anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MartyBenahavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle-Mahe, Customer Experience Manager at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Marty,

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with TripAdvisor's community.

You are right, Biarritz is a fantastic and renowned seaside resort for surfers, and is great for anyone eager to escape urban life.

Thank you also for your positive feedback on our staff and services.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved Biarritz and this hotel has nicely appointed rooms and is located on a beautiful beach but our room was very disappointing. The hotel insisted that the air conditioner was working properly and that this was just a reflection of the "cultural differences" between the US and France. I can't buy that, it was stifling. Even one of the hotel's employees said that there was no cool air coming from the air conditioner. The only way we were able to get some sleep was by leaving the patio door open and this made us a little uneasy.
Also worth noting was that one (of two) elevators was broken our entire stay.
On the plus side, the concierge did recommend a terrific restaurant O2 Verdun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Canuckinbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle-Mahe, Customer Experience Manager at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your sharing constructive feedback with TripAdvisor's community.

With reference to my email, I can imagine how annoying the lack of cool air in your room must have been. Please accept my sincerest apology as AC was not properly fixed with no follow-up from our maintenance team.

Also I would like to thank you for your positive comment on our concierge's advice.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel could be a really nice place to stay, if the staff were more helpful and more willing to listen to their guest and their needs. We booked 2 rooms and upon arriving at 12pm, found that one room was on the 2nd floor and the other room was 4 floors below, on -2nd floor. We asked that we could have rooms closer together, so as to be nearer to our daughter. We were told to come back at 4pm to check-in and when were returned they were still unwilling to fulfil our request. There were still keys on the counter, waiting for people who had not arrived as yet and some of these were for rooms on the same floor as ours but the reception staff were not willing to assist us in any way. We were told if we had booked through the hotel and made the request, they may have been able to accommodate us. If the hotel is not willing to consider requests made by people who book through a booking agent eg expedia, bookings.com, hotels.com etc, then they should not use their services to fill their hotel. Despite this problem the rooms were nice and comfortable. However, one of the 2 lifts did not work during the 3 days that we were at the hotel, causing problems for us, as our rooms were so far apart and also for others at busy times. This was still not fixed by the time we left. The indoor pool was closed during our stay, having been damaged after storms in February, While we stayed at the hotel there was also a storm, and the next day water was leaking onto the equipment and onto the floors of the gym, causing safety issues that no one seemed to be concerned about. The drinks and food at the bar were very expensive and the level of service was virtually non-existent. Although there was a dog sitting on a chair at a table with it's owner, and the dog was happily lapping it's water out of a glass that the waiter brought for it. On this occasion, we left without ordering. Are there any health and safety guidelines at this hotel?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davisau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle-Mahe, Customer Experience Manager at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

With reference to my email sent yesterday, please accept our sincerest apologies about your stay at Sofitel Biarritz that was such a disappointment.
As I explained you, this is our high peak season; therefore elements such as length of stay or room category did not unfortunately allow our reception to book both of your rooms on the same floor.

Regarding issues with the indoor pool and our fitness centre, I understand your disappointment and am truly sorry you could not access theses facilities. As you noticed, our hotel is located right on the ocean front, and the Basque Coast has been going through severe weather conditions for months. In that respect, I can assure you that we would never put anyone's safety at risk.

I genuinely hope you will take advantage of the upgrade and the VIP welcome I offered you so that we can prove you we offer 5-star service, with gentle and caring staff.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

Address: 13 rue Louison Bobet, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Biarritz
#2 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#12 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £162 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel and its thalassotherapy institute are located in Biarritz on the Basque Coast, just a stone's throw from the golf course and near to the town center with its luxury boutiques, cosy tearooms, theaters and museums. The hotel's bedrooms boast a balcony and terrace that overlook the magnificent beach. A breathtaking view and truly enchanting setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Thalassa Biarritz Hotel Biarritz
Sofitel Biarritz
Biarritz Sofitel
Accor Thalassa Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing