We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An ok hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

First thing to say is that Biarritz is fantastic. If you are staying anywhere in the middle of Biarritz, I think you are going to love it. This hotel is in the Town Centre, very close to the beach and close to all the shops, restaurants etc.

I am writing this a couple of months after visiting and my memory of the hotel is vague. The room was ok, the staff were pleasant but it was unremarkable. The best thing about the hotel was the location. Nothing was terrible, but nothing was excellent either. Just a pretty average hotel, but we loved Biarritz.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamolo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    147
    117
    47
    41
See reviews for
60
249
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Very well placed, in Biarritz centre 100m from the Hotel du Palais. Hotel rooms have been renovated and are comfortable and clean. Staff quality is poor!!! Price over rated for our stay (~370€ two nights in August) no breakfast plus 18€/day for garage.

Hotel is nice but it's not a real 4 star hotel... for those used to French hotels ..it's a typical French 4star overrated Hotel... at best i would give 3Star

Old brown used carpets give a unprofessional look to the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Always confirm that you DON'T end up in the first floor !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I've spent one night in this hotel with my mother and my two sisters
The location is the best quality of this hotel: it's super central and very close to the beach. Although it is right on the road the room was very quiet. We shared one room in 4, the beds were queen size beds so it wasn't very comfortable but we didn't mind because of the short length of our trip. One thing: BEWARE OF THE MINIBAR, two bottles of water cost us more than 8 euros!
I wouldn't say that the staff wasn't friendly but they surely weren't very attentive... Nobody helped us with the luggage (which i would expect from the 4 stars and especially from the price), and the directions to the hotel's carpark didn't really help us find it, perhaps they could have taken us there... I appreciated the free beach-towels anyway

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margherita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Four star hotel, the rooms were good and house keeping worked hard to keep it that way. Food in the restaurant was very good and prices compared very favourably with other local resturants if you went with the set menus.

Staff very helpful


Location right in the centre of town near the beach.

Free wifi was good although the signal in our room was weak the speed was fine in the lobby

Would definitely recommend if you want a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Our rooms was at back and generally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHC_PBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We chose this hotel for its location and it was brilliant. It was so close to the beach and the centre. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean. The complimentary drink was a nice touch too. Our room was a little drab and could have done with a refurb but was perfectly adequate and as I said it was very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo10Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel has many good aspects, and a few poor ones. The bed is very comfortable, the air conditioning both working and workable, and there is a nice bath for splashing around in. Also, one of my favourite things is a door between the bedroom and the bath/toilet area, so that there are two doors between the bedroom and the corridor, which is just great. It means no corridor noise.
However, the street below is pretty noisy, even with good double glazing, and often till the early hours of the morning. The room had various light bulbs missing which hadn't been replaced, and on my second day there a light blew the electrics.
Some of the staff are warm and friendly, but the two working the breakfast restaurant on my second morning there looked like they'd just burned the winning lottery ticket. The ones the next day were a lot better.
The breakfast is adequate. Not much more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyjet69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at the Grand Tonic with a goup of friends at the end of walking trip ... we wanted a good hotel, centrally located at a reasonable price and that it what the Grand Tonic delivered. 5 minutes from Grande Plage (if you walk slowly), amongst the shops & restaurants ...

One to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breakingoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#29 of 64 in Biarritz
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Property: Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Address: 58 Avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break in the very heart of Biarritz in a charming 4 *hotel, at 2 minutes from the Grand Plage & the Casino.The Tonic Hotel Biarritz will welcome you with its 63 inspired design & comfortable rooms, and appreciate the appeal of a well-deserved break. Just feel the pleasure and quietness to be there.It will be the right circumstance to try the Restaurant LMB , local menus, quality and simplicity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing