We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in Biarritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Kanturk, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food in Biarritz”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a lovely stay in The Grand Tonic Hotel in Biarritz. After a dull day where we walked all of Biarritz - along the prom to the old fishing port and back through town - with a stop for a real hot chocolate in Miremont (founded in 1872 - the real thing) delicious! Back at our hotel we met Gaeton the Maitre d' who showed us the menu and prepared a perfect Piña Colada for me and a Gin and Tonic for my husband while we made our decisions for dinner. Decisions made and drinks drunk we retired to our room for a spa bath to refresh us further for the food ahead. We were not disappointed. To start my husband had the charcuterie plate and I had a salad of tomatoes (which the chef had gone to the bother of peeling!) with asparagus and smoked anchovies and tiny squares of goats cheese totally delicious - especially if you share! For mains my husband had the Saltimbocca de Lapin (rabbit ) and I had the Poisson Jour (scallops on a bed of leeks) Perfectly cooked. Cheese to follow with a plum conserve and to finish a chocolate plate - just gorgeous.

All iof that washed down with Bordeaux Chateau Seguin. I did have a glass of Seguin Sauvignon blanc with my scallops and it was perfect.
Great hotel to stay in, very central, and a great restaurant. We did meet the chef after the dinner and congratulated him on his food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    144
    115
    46
    41
See reviews for
59
247
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berri, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews & were dubious but after driving around barritz one ways streets a few times it was the only place easy enough to pull over to enquire about a room. Thought the price was reasonable & after a big day of driving & a change of weather coming I really wanted a room. Happy to pay 18 euro for under hotel parking as barritz is crazy for parking & in light of rain the next day our luggage stayed dry. We had room 501 that had a view over a nice building at the back of the hotel. Lots of space, had an extra single bed in the room & still lots of room. I liked their decor, not sure if it is completely finished, but bed comfortable ( quite firm). Wifi in the room that worked no dramas. Good location to walk along the waterfront, stroll the shops etc. nice friendly lady on reception considering my lack of french. You could probably pick at small things if you want but ultimately you want location good price & cleanliness. Guess only downfall if you call it that no kettle/ coffee tea facilities, but plenty of cafe nearby. I would stay again.
Ps had nice dinner at the casino overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeTonicHotel, Directeur général at Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest
From all the staff and us, thank you for encouraging us and letting you know of your advices.
Be sure all of them will be considered. Your concerns are ours and we are very gratefull of your help.
We look forward the pleasure to welcome you again at any time
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed at this hotel four times and nothing changes. The hotel is in a great location very close to the beach but it really is looking very sad and in need of a complete redecoration. There is free parking which is great. Our room on this trip was ok and pretty quiet but the air conditioning hadn't yet been turned on so it was extremely warm. We did open the window but then we got the traffic noise so not a good solution. We had breakfast which was 15 euros per person. It was not worth 5 euros. The breakfast was really horrible with cold coffee, soggy slimy eggs and break rolls that would have doubled as door stops. On previous stays we have had breakfast in a nearby cafe and we should have done the same this time. We found the reception staff to be very helpful but could only speak good English when it suited them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeTonicHotel, Directeur général at Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really sorry that your sojourn was so deceiving.
We are doing everything to improve the quality of the service and have changed many things, even in the Breakfast. The mattresses have also been changed again ; it is a point that we make to change it a lot . That's why we are confused that you had considered our bedding a bad point for us - Thank you to have alarmed us.
Our Air Conditioning is working all year, but we have to admit that, due to the bad weather conditions of these last months, it is still not reversed to cold air, it is still hot air...We agree that it should be time for coolness but....we are obliged to give priority to guest that are cold.
We hope that you will give us a chance again, it is really important for us.
All the staffed is joining to us to apologize for all the inconvenience and be sure that we look forward the pleasure to welcome you again and improve your impression.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just returned today from 4 night stay. So disappointing, nothing like it's portrayed on website. Big mistake to book for 4 nights, first impressions awful, sulky unfriendly receptionist not welcoming at all. Dirty carpets everywhere, awful room, dirty carpet, only one net curtain on window, awful bed and pillows, air conditioning didn't work, no tea/coffee making facilities, €4 for coffee in bar. Jets on bath didn't work, drainage in sink dreadful, shower curtain falls down, tiny bath only suitable for small child, an average sized adult just doesn't fit. Lighting terrible in room. Nobody asked us over the 4 days how we were getting on or if we had any problems. We reported the jets not working but we were just ignored. Mini bar in room absolutely outrageous prices. Had dinner first evening in hotel and we were served 30 minutes apart. Again, no interaction with guests. Very poor, the worst I have stayed in. First night, got a lager which came in a cracked glass, when we brought it back the bar man just emptied it into another glass and gave it back to us, cost €7.50. Rained a lot while we were there and we had no choice but to stay a lot of the time in the room which was very unpleasant. Practically no foyer in this hotel. The only positive thing I have to say about this hotel is that the housekeeping ladies were very friendly. Overall, very unwelcoming.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martha036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeTonicHotel, Directeur général at Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Madam,
We are very disappointed to by your terrible feeling about Grand Tonic Hôtel BiarrItz.
We are always doing our best to keep everything clean and Up to date.
Anyway, our Carpets are regularly changed and if by the time you came at the end of summer season it is still the ones from the high season, it is kept clean by regular cleaning. And then by now it is changed for the new 2013 season.
We are sorry that the jets didn't work in the bathroom, we would have been please to change you room in that case. Our whirlpool systems are working in all rooms but it can be out of order from last guest and we don't know. To advise us is a great favour you make to our technical service. We cannot understand and really apologize for the staff unusual and not understandable attitude.
Anyway, since your particular Advise we have very much worked on that service attitude and if the effort must be constant, we are really improving thanks to you.
Our Staff and us apologize for that bad experience and we all hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again if you pass by Biarritz and prove you that constant improvement
Please accept our Warm Regards
The Management & the Staff of Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

First thing to say is that Biarritz is fantastic. If you are staying anywhere in the middle of Biarritz, I think you are going to love it. This hotel is in the Town Centre, very close to the beach and close to all the shops, restaurants etc.

I am writing this a couple of months after visiting and my memory of the hotel is vague. The room was ok, the staff were pleasant but it was unremarkable. The best thing about the hotel was the location. Nothing was terrible, but nothing was excellent either. Just a pretty average hotel, but we loved Biarritz.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamolo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Very well placed, in Biarritz centre 100m from the Hotel du Palais. Hotel rooms have been renovated and are comfortable and clean. Staff quality is poor!!! Price over rated for our stay (~370€ two nights in August) no breakfast plus 18€/day for garage.

Hotel is nice but it's not a real 4 star hotel... for those used to French hotels ..it's a typical French 4star overrated Hotel... at best i would give 3Star

Old brown used carpets give a unprofessional look to the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Always confirm that you DON'T end up in the first floor !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I've spent one night in this hotel with my mother and my two sisters
The location is the best quality of this hotel: it's super central and very close to the beach. Although it is right on the road the room was very quiet. We shared one room in 4, the beds were queen size beds so it wasn't very comfortable but we didn't mind because of the short length of our trip. One thing: BEWARE OF THE MINIBAR, two bottles of water cost us more than 8 euros!
I wouldn't say that the staff wasn't friendly but they surely weren't very attentive... Nobody helped us with the luggage (which i would expect from the 4 stars and especially from the price), and the directions to the hotel's carpark didn't really help us find it, perhaps they could have taken us there... I appreciated the free beach-towels anyway

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margherita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#27 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Property: Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Address: 58 Avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break in the very heart of Biarritz in a charming 4 *hotel, at 2 minutes from the Grand Plage & the Casino.The Tonic Hotel Biarritz will welcome you with its 63 inspired design & comfortable rooms, and appreciate the appeal of a well-deserved break. Just feel the pleasure and quietness to be there.It will be the right circumstance to try the Restaurant LMB , local menus, quality and simplicity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing