We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Claims 4 stars..but it's a mediocre 3.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Claims 4 stars..but it's a mediocre 3.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Everything else was booked up so we took a small, overpriced and uninspired small room at this mediocre hotel. Service was uneven--sometimes the front desk was helpful, sometimes not so much, and sometimes downright grumpy. Didn't try the breakfast--better options nearby (especially near the market). The hotel is one block back from the main beach--very short walk--but not on the beach and no ocean view. Surfing is about the only reason I can think of to visit Biarritz. Don't go here to shop or to see great 1940's resort architecture (we did, oops). The retail is mostly awful by French standards--tacky and overpriced. And the city is visually unremarkable. There is good food to be had--but that is true just about everywhere in France.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank onthebusagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    144
    115
    46
    41
See reviews for
59
247
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just returned from the Grand Tonic hotel in Biarittz. The hotel has a four star rating but I think it's more like a three star. It's okay and served the purpose for our short trip. The bed was comfortable, the pillars were okay. The bathroom and room were clean. The location was good with a short walk to the beach and town centre. The buses were close by with an excellent service from and to the train station and only costs €1. There's not much else I can say other than it was adequate for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debrahis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It was superb for American standards. We are travelers from New York and used to steep prices for not much substance. On a low note, rooms were warm because the AC was slightly inefficient. On a High note very cleanly, friendly Staff, large room. We did not eat at the restaurant, but it looked yummy.
Highly recommended to any traveler!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aelisepag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I love this little hotel right in the heart of Biarritz. I stay here regularly on business travel. My second time this year. The rooms are nice, not extravagant, and the beds are comfortable. 1 block from the beach, and many nice restaurants close. Staff is friendly. Restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cainem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

4+ ? Extractor fan still not working four days after we complained. No internet connection and no refund. Staff really unhelpful and aloof AND mini bar not replenished. Reception just not interested. BAD VALUE and no tea making facilities

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cainem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanturk, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a lovely stay in The Grand Tonic Hotel in Biarritz. After a dull day where we walked all of Biarritz - along the prom to the old fishing port and back through town - with a stop for a real hot chocolate in Miremont (founded in 1872 - the real thing) delicious! Back at our hotel we met Gaeton the Maitre d' who showed us the menu and prepared a perfect Piña Colada for me and a Gin and Tonic for my husband while we made our decisions for dinner. Decisions made and drinks drunk we retired to our room for a spa bath to refresh us further for the food ahead. We were not disappointed. To start my husband had the charcuterie plate and I had a salad of tomatoes (which the chef had gone to the bother of peeling!) with asparagus and smoked anchovies and tiny squares of goats cheese totally delicious - especially if you share! For mains my husband had the Saltimbocca de Lapin (rabbit ) and I had the Poisson Jour (scallops on a bed of leeks) Perfectly cooked. Cheese to follow with a plum conserve and to finish a chocolate plate - just gorgeous.

All iof that washed down with Bordeaux Chateau Seguin. I did have a glass of Seguin Sauvignon blanc with my scallops and it was perfect.
Great hotel to stay in, very central, and a great restaurant. We did meet the chef after the dinner and congratulated him on his food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berri, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews & were dubious but after driving around barritz one ways streets a few times it was the only place easy enough to pull over to enquire about a room. Thought the price was reasonable & after a big day of driving & a change of weather coming I really wanted a room. Happy to pay 18 euro for under hotel parking as barritz is crazy for parking & in light of rain the next day our luggage stayed dry. We had room 501 that had a view over a nice building at the back of the hotel. Lots of space, had an extra single bed in the room & still lots of room. I liked their decor, not sure if it is completely finished, but bed comfortable ( quite firm). Wifi in the room that worked no dramas. Good location to walk along the waterfront, stroll the shops etc. nice friendly lady on reception considering my lack of french. You could probably pick at small things if you want but ultimately you want location good price & cleanliness. Guess only downfall if you call it that no kettle/ coffee tea facilities, but plenty of cafe nearby. I would stay again.
Ps had nice dinner at the casino overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeTonicHotel, Directeur général at Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest
From all the staff and us, thank you for encouraging us and letting you know of your advices.
Be sure all of them will be considered. Your concerns are ours and we are very gratefull of your help.
We look forward the pleasure to welcome you again at any time
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#27 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Property: Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Address: 58 Avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break in the very heart of Biarritz in a charming 4 *hotel, at 2 minutes from the Grand Plage & the Casino.The Tonic Hotel Biarritz will welcome you with its 63 inspired design & comfortable rooms, and appreciate the appeal of a well-deserved break. Just feel the pleasure and quietness to be there.It will be the right circumstance to try the Restaurant LMB , local menus, quality and simplicity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing