We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Pleasant and Clean”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were happy with this hotel in most aspects.We stayed for 3 nights. Everything was very clean, happily. The only thing that we didn't like were the bath towels - they are not soft at all and very thin (don't soak up a lot of water). There wasn't a towel rack in our room. We used towel hooks to hang our towels and therefore they did not dry well.
The overall feel of the hotel is that it is an older property but it is still pleasing. The elevator is very slow and clunky. This can all be forgiven considering the great location of the hotel. It is one street back from the beach and only a few minutes walk to the centre.
The staff were nice and breakfast was quite good. We didn't have any other meals here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrystelleKrystelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    144
    115
    46
    41
See reviews for
59
247
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

the hotel is situated in a very central position, but as are windows were overlooking the yard, it was very quiet. the room was very big. bathroom and toilette were separate. the beds are very comfortable. the hotel was a bit old, but very clean, so that is why it was not a problem. we got a 50% deal from booking.com, so the price for a 4 starts hotel in biarritz (which is rather expressive) was also good. i can only recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marusya_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in the Grand Tonic Biarritz 9th May three nights first thing that stuck me was, what a great location ! near beach, near centre, quiet street. Staff were a helpful and as friendly that I have ever come across.

Hotel was relaxed with a large room 411 with double aspect view was not great but a lot of hotels have restricted views in Biarritz. Food in the restaurant was excellent again the staff were friendly and attentive.

Rooms were clean and comfortable with dressing gowns and slippers, Breakfast was a bit expensive at 15 euro went to centre of town lots of restaurants serve breakfast less than five minutes walk away.

We had a great stay and will return again.

Room Tip: Upper floors end of corridor quiet and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is 3 minute walking distance from the city center and 1 minute from the beach. A nice modern hotel, and we even found parking space (that belongs to the hotel) in the back. Service and everything was pretty good.

Unlike other hotels, the walls between the rooms seem to be pretty thick and noise-blocking, but during the night we constantly heard the noises from the street below.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitsan_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was amazing. Really comfortable, cozy and very convenient, bed's really soft. It is along 1 of the main streets, just across the road from La Grande Plage beach (2mins walk) although the view is blocked by the beachfront buildings. Surrounded by eateries, bars, shops, the bus station is just behind it as well. Bathtub comes with jacuzzi features, bathrobes provided too. It was low season when I visited so it was fairly quiet in Biarritz. Wifi works well but requires re-login registration after 4hrs or requires re-entry of details after being inactive for awhile which can be a little troublesome. But overall an awesome stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A very nice hotel with very friendly staff. Everything was beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff at the reception were very helpful with questions about where to go and how to get there from the hotel. Excellent hotel in the middle of Biarritz centre and just 2 minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bertAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#27 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Property: Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Address: 58 Avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break in the very heart of Biarritz in a charming 4 *hotel, at 2 minutes from the Grand Plage & the Casino.The Tonic Hotel Biarritz will welcome you with its 63 inspired design & comfortable rooms, and appreciate the appeal of a well-deserved break. Just feel the pleasure and quietness to be there.It will be the right circumstance to try the Restaurant LMB , local menus, quality and simplicity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing