We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Ado About Nothing”
Review of Restaurant Cafe Victor - CLOSED

Restaurant Cafe Victor
Price range: US$20 - US$74
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Much Ado About Nothing”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Too expensive, food too fat and the restaurant was empty on a Sunday evening.... Et pour cause ....?!

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    55
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“if you want a burger”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

am not really a burgar man but as it was only lunch and not wanting a full blown meal opted for the burgar and chips, I'm telling you, if you are ever in Biarritz go and get one,
it came in a good sized roll, the meat was flaked beef cheek and that was topped not with a square of processed cheese but with a generous portion of foie gras, was just delicious, the chips though tasty were just a side show.
the restaurant is what could be called a modern ` trendy 'establishment ,( i'm living proof that you dont have to be modern and trendy to pay a visit ) and the staff and service were excellent.
went back later in the week and had ` sweetbreads' , not as tasty as the burgar but still very good,
a top place serving top food

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tottenhamcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“modern friendly and really good food !”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We walked past this place early in the evening and noticed it was busy - we headed in and were welcomed by the 2 "waitresses". They asked us what we would like to drink - we ordered 2 glasses of wine and they explianed there was a wine promotion going on - we apologised because we thought it was a private or invited function - but they insisted we stay and enjoy a glass of wine. We tried a glass of a delightful dry white wine and there were bites and snacks and the place was "buzzing" with locals . We thanked our "hosts" for the hospitality and left.
3 nights later we went back and decided to try the food - we had an excellent evening and the "waitresses" remembered these 2 " freeloaders" from a few nights earlier, greeting us with smiles and really made our evening and our meal very enjoyable and memorable ! !

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenLoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linköping
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Uncomfortably hot”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We sat on their 2nd floor and although it was only 12 degrees Celsius outside, the air was very sultry and not so agreable. The food was OK, especially the starter and dessert was nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank asajo_Link
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food Reasonably priced . Good service”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just ate there on a quiet Sunday. Very impressed by level of cuisine- knocks spots off local rivals such as the truly appalling Royalty or the clever 'extortion' of Bar Jean and Cafe Jean with their poor but over-priced cusine

We had a 'tarte au fine' to start and mozarrel/tomato salad followed by s red mullet with a ratatouille base and a very original squid in a risotto coloured by its own black ink. Very reasonably priced wines by the glass at 4 Euros each. Excellent friendly service- though it was quiet.

Would definitely go there again. In a top handful of Biarritz restaurants which provide good food in a non formal environment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Cafe Victor also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing