We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room fine, service not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Room fine, service not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Room was nice and clean. Breakfast need to be there early or all is gone. Reception staff was okay, dependant on who was there.... I ink you can get a better hotel in Biarritz...?

The photos on the website are a little misleading as is is not on the plaza, but behind it....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    215
    85
    35
    12
See reviews for
41
241
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Weirdly, I like Art Deco, and this hotel has it in spades!
Myself and my wife had decided to stay on in the South West of France for a couple of additional days, and so popped into my head the idea of staying in the former Glitterati town of Biarritz. (Now, not so much)
We've stayed at Mercure hotels before, and have in the mainstay been impressed with both the service standards, hygiene, and quality feel of the residences. Knowing this, we booked the Plaza hotel rather than the Mercure President (Only a few hundred yards away.) as it was dead opposite where we wanted to be.
As a brief initial summary, I'll say that this hotel is a bit different, but not necessarily in a bad way.......
Positioned on the sea front, opposite the Casino (Careful, you'll get fleeced - I did!), and a 2 minute walk onto the beach, it really does have a great view, provided you get up high enough into the five storey building, and grab a sea facing room. Our room (507), had both a great view, and a small balcony too, just right to make you feel all glitzy 'an that.
The room was dated, but I can see that Mercure are making a clear attempt not to sanitize the feel of the hotel, and its fittings & décor. Most of the features in the hotel looked original, such as the glass door open lift, and the various art deco side benches and fixtures on each floor. Well done I say, for keeping a foot in the past and saluting the glory of 'old' Biarritz.
Showers worked well, cleanliness was good, and the ironing board was small - very small. Check in staff were polite and courteous, and all spoke very good English, even allowing me to use my pigeon French if I were to be inclined. Parking, as I'm sure you've already read, is around 15 Euro per day, which is cheaper than the municipals, just not by much. However, if you drive up the hill past the hotel, do a right and a left, the parking becomes free. Just be careful not to park to near to the end of streets, or in front of the resident's doors, as this may often offend both parking attendants and the residents.
We only had breakfast at the hotel, which was plentiful (coffee, pastries & fruit) and served in our room.
Only gripes really, were that the bar seemed to close very early, and the bar manager seemed a tad non-plus about serving customers - which was odd. Also, Mercure class this as a 4 star residence - I would not. Paper cups and tiny sachets of coffee and milk in the room doesn't make a 4 star, and neither does the buffet breakfast only option in the restaurant.
Put those minor thoughts aside and treat this hotel as a three star, and its a great location for central Biarritz, and more than fairly priced, too.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor, and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgerbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Monsieur,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
We must always do the best possible, nevertheless, just to make a small clarification: Since July 2012 the 4 stars hotels in France continue to have the same service than the 3 stars before this date. To get the same service than a 4 stars (before July 2012) you must use now the hotels with 5 stars.
Thank you for your attention,
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed for 1 night in June, I had asked for a room on the 1st/2nd floor but was booked into the 5th, however the receptionist changed this straight away. I found the staff very helpful, my only reservation is that due to using the yellow/cream art deco paint the room looked a bit dirty and some of the paintwork seemed to be peeling off. Couldn't find out if this was a refurbished room or not but the room felt a bit worn. Comfy bed though and slept well so for 1 night was fine. Excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lindk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Monsieur,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Arriving by car , it was easy to find the hotel on the main road into Biarritz right opposite the Casino / beach area . We parked outside the front of the hotel , checked in with our luggage , and then moved the car to the hotel's secure car park ( Euro 15 per day ) which is conveniently situated round the corner about 30 metres away . All very convenient .

The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful . We had booked a standard room , but when checking in we were upgraded to a superior sea facing room which had a great view . The room was very nice , the bed was comfortable , the TV had a couple of English news channels , there was tea / coffee in the room , and there was no road noise whatsoever as the windows had very effective double glazing . So we were very comfortable and slept very soundly every night .

We did not have breakfast in the hotel , preferring to use nearby cafe's for the standard "petite dejeuner" . For dinner we would recommend a restaurant called El Patio where the staff are very friendly , and the food is good quality . They have a variety of menus to suit different tastes and budgets .

From the hotel's central location , you can easily walk around all of Biarritz and get to at least 3 of the central beaches . The hotel was a bit more expensive than the other hotels we were staying at on this trip , but we enjoyed a very relaxing stay at the Mercure and would stay at this hotel again .

We drove by car to Bayonne for a day trip , and would highly recommend a visit to this historical town which is only 15 mins away from Biarritz . On entering the old town area , it is best to park in the large open car park which is Euro1 for the entire day , and then walk down to the Cathedral and the old town area . The town is a mix of history , architecture , shopping , cafe's and restaurants . Lunch at Tarte Julie is highly recommended .

St Jean de Luz was also a nice coastal town to visit en route to San Sebastian .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weekends ago and was very pleased. The location is just perfect, in the centre of town and a short walk to almost everything, the beach (2 minute walk), bars, restaurants, etc. our room was nice and big and had an "indirect view of the sea", which was just fine. The hotel is on a a main road, but the room has double glazed windows and another window behind that so we did not hear a thing all through the night. In fact the curtains were so good and the room so quiet we overslept on the first day. I did not stay for breakfast as I thought 17 euros was a bit steep, but there are so many nice cafes close by, that you are spoilt for choice. We had three rooms between us in our group on levels 2, 3 and 4 and everyone said their room was good. Would definitely come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ty and get a room on a higher floor if you want a better view of the sea - level 4 and above is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had 3 nights at mercure biarritz and it was great. Only fault was poor wifi signal which consistently drops out (room 314, perhaps location of our room was too far from the port)
Location is excellent. Biarritz is smal so you can walk everywhere eg. Sofitel spa, beach, main tourist sites, galeries lafayette. Reception staff were helpful and didnt look gutted when we asked if they speak English. Nice to have tea making facilities even if youre provided with paper cups and only 2 milk sachets. Room was spacious, block out curtains did its job, aircon was a tad underpowered, good hot water and pressure. Nice spacious bathroom, clean.
No printing facilities though which is poor, IMO. Had to find some place to print our boarding passes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca1982255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Modern chic hotel set in an old building. Exterior building looked really old but impressive inside. Old style refurbished glass elevator was very pretty, got a corner basic room just above street level, surprisingly not noisy at all, very new and modern furnishings. We were there off peak season, Biarritz was quiet but we could imagine how busy it could get during summer when tourists would swamp to this place for the beach. Right opposite a small casino, close to the shopping streets. Breakfast was average, service was good though. Not a bad stopover.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#16 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#25 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Property: Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
Address: 10 avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#14 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring completely renovated rooms, the hotel is located right in the centre of town and just 100m from the main beach of Biarritz. Mercure Biarritz Plaza Centre welcomes you in an art deco architecture unique to the hotel building and recognised by the French National Trust as exemplary of the seaside resort style of the 1930s. Family rooms also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza Hotel Biarritz
Accor Biarritz Centre Plaza
Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing