We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend - brilliant 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Stayed here for one night in busy August. Hotel centrally based and had a room with view to the sea, which was lovely. Hotel and room clean and in Art Deco style with a wonderful glass lift. Tried to order a bottle of white wine from the bar the evening before - they had run out!! However, they called later to say they now could supply us with a bottle.

Didn't have breakfast - much cheaper to go to one of the many local bars that serve brilliant breakfasts and wonderful coffee.

Word of warning - Biarritz is a wonderful town but a nightmare to drive around. Took us ages to find the hotel and then find the parking (which is very close by and not over expensive). Make sure you have downloaded good instructions before finding the place and you'll be ok!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Him-and-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2007

When we say location, location, location the Centre Plaza has it all - right in the middle of things making everything in Biarritz walkable from the hotel. In all other regards it is a perfectly acceptable three star hotel with some good points and not so good points.

On the plus side:
- very accessible car park but 50m from the hotel
- the reception staff were charming
- the room comfortable, recently refurbished and although relatively basic the fixtures, fittings and style was good

On the down side:
- breakfast is terrible, go elsewhere
- I agree with other comments about the air conditioning, it's weak and ineffectual if in a sunny room on a hot day (takes forever to cool down even during the night)
- I wouldn't bother paying for a sea view, it's oblique
- don't go for the '4' rooms on each floor, they're small

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slinky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Do not be fooled by the cute photograph on the Mercure website, the Centre Plaza is a good bit back from the beach and across a major thoroughfare! The Centre Plaza is okay for one night, but one night alone. For my sins I stayed six nights, and after the first I was counting down the days like a prisoner due to go on parole. The Centre Plaza is an old hotel, and feels everybit like one. I booked a room with a sea-view (the air conditioning wasn't working) and was quite disappointed with what I got - considering I was paying €250 per night. The room was small, but comfortable, but certainly not worth the money. Thankfully having stayed at Mercure hotels before, I was careful not to buy breakfast there (€15 a pop) Despite this, upon careful examination of my bill at the end of the stay - I notice I was billed for two which I never had.

The staff are not particularly helpful (remember at the Centre Plaza it is the staff are doing you a favour!)

The resort itself is past it, a shadow of its former glory (if it indeed ever truly had one) the shops are tatty, the beach overcrowded and the service levels on the whole, below par!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Junket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Stayed here after spending a night in Saint Sebastian in Spain, and although the hotel we stayed in there was actually more expensive, this was by far the nicer of the two. Great location, friendly staff, and beautiful and very clean rooms, it was an absolute pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Miles4BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Very well located, clean and tastefully newly redecorated rooms!

perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank voyageuse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Just returned from a 2 night week-end break at the Mercure Plaza in Biarritz. Hotel location is excellent, just off the Beach and very close to the main shopping and dinning area.
Rooms are quite small, as is the reception area, but are very airy and extremely clean.
Had an Ocean view room (very expesive at 250 Euro per night) which gave a view of the Casino across the road as well as the southern corner of the Grand Plage (The main beach in the town), so was a great place to people watch.
Ocean side rooms (230 Euro per night) are at a right angle to the beach and the Ocean so it is worth the extra 20 Euro to go for the Ocean view, if available.
Hotel has private parking up the street at 15 Euro a night which I thought was a bit excessive given the price we were paying for the room but then again this seems to be the underlying theme for any visit to Biarritz so I suppose you just have to accept it and get on.
The town itself is very nice with some lovely walks and beautiful views from the rocky cliffs above the small harbour. Was extremely busy as it was the week-end of the 14th - which is a public holiday in France, but I can imagine that this would continue to be the case throughout July and August.
Overall, a great town to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Spent 5 nights in a sea view room, it was a bit small but great view. Rooms have been refurbished and are nicely decorated. Air con worked well and was quiet. Flat screen TV with BBC World.

Hotel in great situation for all that Biarritz has to offer, we really liked the town and surrounding area (St. Jean de Luz, Ainhoa, Sare, Bayonne etc). Could have stayed longer really.

Reception staff friendly and knowledgeable, there is free of charge Wifi access in reception if you bring your laptop. The car park is a bonus although 13 euros a night it was still worth it to be able to park up without any hassle.

Our only gripe was the bar which closed early (10.00 on a Saturday evening) and was lacking in atmosphere. It needs some music and a livelier approach. Having said that, there are bars galore all around, we found the adjacent Colonnes Bar good for coffee, drinks, people watching.

All in all, the hotel and Biarritz are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.7 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#17 of 64 in Biarritz
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#25 of 64 in Biarritz
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Address: 10 avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#14 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £89 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring completely renovated rooms, the hotel is located right in the centre of town and just 100m from the main beach of Biarritz. Mercure Biarritz Plaza Centre welcomes you in an art deco architecture unique to the hotel building and recognised by the French National Trust as exemplary of the seaside resort style of the 1930s. Family rooms also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza Hotel Biarritz
Accor Biarritz Centre Plaza
Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing