We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Sarasota, Fl........ for now
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 10 May 2007

Got to the hotel late but were still able to get something to eat. We didn't get an ocean front room but if you learn out the window far enough the view was great. Service and location are excellent bar staff are very helpful. Same as any foreign country, if you make an effort so will they.
I loved Biarritz, very classy place.

  • Liked — Very convenient location, great rooms, excellent service
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LimeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    222
    87
    39
    12
See reviews for
43
252
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2006

This hotel is fantastic. The rooms are great, the breakfast is wonderful and the internet connection is free! They have a really nice bar which also has great food. During the off season months, they have a Jazz night on Saturday evenings which is great. We went and the musicians were excellent. The location of the hotel is excellent and is within walking distance to most locations. The maid service was great. You don't get the maid pounding on your door at 9AM, they just sort of appear out of nowhere when you're not there and upon your return, everything is all made up!

  • Liked — Internet Connection, Jazz Night, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask about Jazz Night.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2006

Fantastic location in the very heart of the town, directly across from the casino. Some rooms offer beach views. An art deco building which has been brought back to its original lustre, including a very attractive interior. Biggest bathroom we had on the trip, &, as usual in Mercure Hotels, absolutely spotless. A very good choice, especially compared to the miserable looking Best Western a block away. Easy walking distance to everything in downtown Biarritz & very helpful staff. However, when I return, I will stay 15 miles south in Saint Jean De Luz instead, 1/2 way to San Sebastian, Spain, which is a jewel. Far more charming than Biarritz.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2006

I stayed here two nights and chose the hotel based in part on reviews from this site. I was not disappointed. I won't repeat the comments of other reviewers. Few additional notes:

There is a difference between "ocean view" and "ocean side" rooms. The rooms that overlook the ocean straight on are '02 to I think '07. I had room 304, an ocean view. Perfect view of the beach and casino. Then there is a long row of rooms starting at about '08 that run the lenghth of the hotel that is perpindicular to the beach. In these rooms, you would be looking straight out to another hotel and to see the beach lean out the window and look to your left. Those are "ocean side" rooms. I would think the closer you are to '08 the better your view would be. Finally, there are rooms in the back with no ocean "affiliation" in the rate structure.

Amenities in the room were above average -- quality sheets and towels, all new fixtures in the bathroom. Separate wc. Good toiletries. Also, the rooms have a second door separating the entrance and bathroom for privacy and cutting down hallway noise.

There is free wireless in the hotel lobby or bar. The signal is a bit weak, but that often the case w/hotel wifi.

I had considered the Soffitel and the Mercure Regina du Golf. These hotels would have been a definite walk, but not impossible. The Regina, there is nothing in terms of walking out the door and having a cafe or restaurant right there. Probably a 15 - 20 minute walk to the area where the Mercure Center is. The Soffitel is about 10 minute walk, similarly nothing right outside the door. The Raddison SAS is not in a good location, I passed it in the car on the way in and out of town, I can't see that hotel as being worth the price, unless you need the swimming pool. The area around the SAS didn't look interesting at all.

  • Liked — Location/View
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank travelingcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

I'm just back from a long weekend in Biarritz, where we stayed at the Mercure Biarritz Plaza, after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel. I have to say, the hotel's location is excellent. It's across the road from the main beach, the casino and just around the corner from the main shopping street in Biarritz (including Gallery Lafayette). Even though it's this close to everything, there was little to no noise at night time.

The staff were very friendly, spoke some English and the rooms were adequate in size, with all the standard facilities. We didn't opt for the breakfast (15 EUR per person), but instead went up the street to a local patisserie and had fresh croissants and pain au chocolats for a third of the price.

We took the number 6 bus from the airport which drops you 50 metres from the hotel and only costs 1.20 EUR per person each way. Very reliable service.

Eating out, it is worth trying the Pizzeria just down the street from the hotel, under the arches. Very reasonable price and great atmosphere. There are some lovely fish restaurants and tapas bars down by the water which are also very reasonable in price and good quality.

We did get overcharged in one of the cafes on the main street for 2 beers (11.40 EUR), so my advice would be to check the pricelists in bars/cafes before ordering anything.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Mercure Biarritz Plaza hotel and I'm sure that I will stay there again when I go back to Biarritz at some stage in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Nicholaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We recently stayed at the Mercure Plaza. Our room was very attractive, nicely decorated with a lovely bathroom & great views of the seafront. Breakfast was good too. Staff were always kind and helpful. The price was a little high but Biarritz in general seemed rather expensive (but worth it!). Lots of beautiful buildings and delicious meals during our stay here. We particularly enjoyed a day in St Jean de Luz which was a gorgeous place, full of history & wonderful little streets, lovely shops and squares. The only thing wrong with our holiday in this region was the weather which wasn't too good - although the sun usually broke through at some point in the afternoons, most mornings were grey and dismal. Don't know if this was typical May weather but would go later in the summer next time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Plaza for 4 nights in March 2006, paying €100 per night for room only. Although it’s rated a 3-star hotel, it’s one of the nicest places we’ve stayed in and better than many with a higher star rating. Staff were friendly and helpful and the internal decoration and furnishings are what you might expect to find in a 4 or 5 star establishment. It’s a relatively small hotel with limited facilities (no dedicated restaurant, swimming pool, gym, sauna etc - most of which we never use anyway), which presumably impacts negatively on the hotel’s overall star rating.
The hotel is very centrally located, overlooking the casino and only about a hundred yards from the main beach. It’s a short stroll to the main shopping streets and within easy walking distance of a range of restaurants and bars.
Our 3rd floor room was reasonably spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The standard of daily housekeeping was excellent. The flat-screen tv had one English-speaking channel - BBC World, plus French, Spanish, German and Italian options.
Breakfast is served in the bright and airy bar, costing €15 per head. It includes the usual continental selection of juices, fresh fruit salad, cheeses, cold meats, yoghurts, breads and mini-pastries etc, supplemented by scrambled eggs, sausages and rashers. If you only want coffee and a croissant there are plenty of options within a short stroll.
Every Saturday night there’s a lively easy-listening jazz session in the hotel bar - it was very enjoyable and well attended the night we were there.
This is a hotel we will definitely be returning to.
Eating out: Restaurant St Amour on Rue Gambetta was good for bistro-style food, except for the desserts which I’d skip next time. Chez Albert down in the old port is good for fish, but you may feel a bit like a sardine on a busy night. The neighbouring Le Corsaire should be good if the crowds are anything to judge by. The best thing about the Café de la Grand Plage in the casino building is that it offers excellent sea-views. However, the menu is limited and the actual food was disappointing. Finally, if you’re looking for something simple - good pizza at the no-frills pizza joint under the arches on Rue Eduard VII, just down the street from the hotel, but again I’d skip the desserts.
One word of warning - there are currently major roadworks underway in Biarritz, particularly in the main shopping area, which can generate a lot of noise and dust there during the day.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank peteramolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.7 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#25 of 64 in Biarritz
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#16 of 64 in Biarritz
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Property: Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
Address: 10 avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#14 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring completely renovated rooms, the hotel is located right in the centre of town and just 100m from the main beach of Biarritz. Mercure Biarritz Plaza Centre welcomes you in an art deco architecture unique to the hotel building and recognised by the French National Trust as exemplary of the seaside resort style of the 1930s. Family rooms also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza Hotel Biarritz
Accor Biarritz Centre Plaza
Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing