We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please re new the all thing !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlina Lodge
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Neuchâtel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Please re new the all thing !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've been there many time and always enjoyed the view (surely one of the most beautiful in Biarritz) but now it's really time to invest a little bit, please ….

- NO, there is now WIFI in the room, and a very poor one in the lobby
- Depending in which room you are it's very noisy (specially when you have big party in the building next door)
- There is really a problem with beetles ! Every day we find one in the room, not really charming …. 'till they do something and finally close the issue

So again please invest to re new this place this is really a nice place but the owner cannot only take the money and not re invest it ….
Hope next year something will be done ….

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRBP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
italia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Carlina lodge is the best place in Biarritz to sleep during a surf trip! The sound of the waves, the sunset from the window and the smell of the ocean, all togheter in this nice and cool place. The only problem is the parking for the car (not easy in front of the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchâtel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

I have been in Biarritz many time (15 x ...), tryed a lot of hotel, but this one is really the best. We have a superior room. This was huuuuge ! and the view ! just in front of the beach (la côte des Basques), superb !
Positive points :
Big room
Big bathroom
Huge frige
2 terrasses
Friendly owners
Less positive :
You can have a free internet access but doesn't really works in our room (very poor signal)
 

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MRBP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

The location of this hotel is excellent, looking straight out at the Côte des Basques beach. This is a good surfing beach and is world renowned.

The rooms in the lodge were big and clean, with a balcony too.The bed must have been king size and really comfortable. Windows had shutters, which blocked out all noise and light so you could take a nap in the day.

The breakfast offered was simple french style. Pastries and coffee.

The man at reception was a really nice guy. Let us have late check out at 6pm on our day of departure and didnt even charge us for it!

You need to book well in advance for this hotel too, as it is very popular, especially during the european summer.

  • Liked — Location - it's literally opposite the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StreetSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

I hestitate to give the Carlina Lodge 3 stars because it is hard to rate this place. That is due to understanding what Carlina Lodge is versus what some people might be looking for in a hotel. Carlina Lodge is perfect for a people that are looking for a place that is functional without any glamour. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. The apartment had a living area, kitchen and 2 bathrooms...the kitchen was great to have available. It really caters towards a surf crowd as it is located right on one of the main beaches in Biarritz. One of the best breaks is just a short walk down the beach. You will not find luxurious accomodations with 600 thread count sheets. You will find a good location right on the beach, walking distance to the city center and a couple of bars/restaurants nearby. I went with a group of friends 3 years ago...we tried to book it last year, but it was sold out. I guess the fact that we wanted to stay again says enough. Ok, I just changed my rating to 4 stars (warning- this is not a "4 star" hotel by the standard definition.

Stayed September 2004, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank tac1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kemaris
BEST WESTERN Kemaris
#24 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Large - Residence
Le Grand Large - Residence
#23 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cafe de Paris
Hotel Cafe de Paris
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#13 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#25 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlina Lodge

Property: Carlina Lodge
Address: Bd Prince de Galles, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Carlina Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carlina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing