We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better”
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Biarittz, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our main disappointment was the pool area as it was the sole reason we chose the hotel....it was full of screaming kids and the area allocated for sunbathing and loungers was too cramped " like seals on a breeding colony" it really spoilt this stay for us, as all the other facilities were up to the usual high standard at Radissons

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIQZH, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your feedback and we thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.

However, we are deeply sorry about the inconvenience you experienced around our pool area.
Our aim is to provide the best quality of service to our guests, and we regret it was not the case for you.

We hope to have the opportunity and the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

We remain at your disposal.

Yours Faithfully,

Rémy Fenart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    517
    171
    62
    37
See reviews for
292
498
31
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Everything you would expect from the Radisson Blu brand - and perhaps a bit more, including the friendliness of staff in all areas (good training evident here). Spacious bedrooms. We stayed for six nights and unfortunately the weather wasn't quite so friendly which meant we weren't able to take full advantage of the rooftop terrace with its spectacular views over the town and Basque coast. The pool area is spotlessly clean and the sunbeds are of good quality.

We didn't use the restaurant but the menu looked adequate for hotel fare if not a touch pricey. Breakfast, however, was very good indeed with a choice of just about everything you could want, though the "hot" dishes were sometimes more on the cool side. However, you can order freshly-cooked poached or fried eggs.

But one of the most outstanding aspects, for me who is a poor sleeper in hotels, was the excellent sound-proofing both between rooms and the corridor. I didn't hear a thing at night - and I'm sure the hotel was pretty full. Sheer bliss!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Radisson Blu hotels tend to be consistent and the Biarritz one is as good as others. It is set back from the sea front but some rooms have a partial sea view. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Breakfast is as good as a 5* hotel with a wide choice of cooked and cold items, coffee is brought to you in individual pots by the waitress. We also had a meal here as part of a group and that was also good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgware_LondonNevuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have just returned from 4 nights in Biarritz and felt that we must leave a review for this hotel.

Although not directly overlooking the sea, as there is a property between it and the sea, the view from the roof terrace is stunning.

The evening dinner menu was a little restricted but there was something for everyone and all the dishes we tried were super. The roof top pool was extremely refreshing and the bar area superb to relax on with a drink at the end of your meal. A brilliant location to watch the sun go down!

The staff could not be more helpful and all areas of the hotel were spotless. The bedrooms were of a good size and very well equipped

Breakfast had a good selection of items to choose from and there were also a la carte option available if you couldn't find what you wanted.

The underground parking was a bonus although as a resident of the hotel perhaps a little pricey. This ,however, is the only drawback and a very minor one at that.

Don't hesitate to stay here. You will not be disappointed infact I'm sure you will be delighted!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My third consecutive year of visiting - I am very particular about the room and have always requested a real seaview room. Very nice staff. Polite and constructive.But.... The new General Manager, M. Fenart, should learn quickly that to chew gum "chiquer" is both unprofessional and very ugly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank robertnicholaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went to Biarritz for 1 week for a relaxing holiday. Our aim was to get good weather, good views, great food and relax and unwind. We opted for the Radisson Blu based upon the location and the star rating, and also the good previous reviews on Trip Advisor.
The hotel was exceptionally clean throughout. We were really pleased with the location, just a ten minute walk from the town centre and less than that to the beach. Once we went up to the roof terrace we got to see a wonderful view of the coast. They had a bar, comfortable seating, and tables for lunchtime and evening meals. The pool was also on the terrace, so there was a lovely breeze whilst relaxing on the sunbeds. Towels were provided so there was no need to take your own up to the pool. Although the hotel was busy, the pool area was nice and quiet so finding a sun lounger was never a problem. There were dressing gowns and slippers provided in our rooms.
The rooms were again exceptionally clean. TV provided had plenty of free channels, with BBC and ITV. Air conditioning worked well. Bathroom was fine, clean, modern and perfect for our needs, with a bath and shower over. Our room was cleaned every day.
Breakfast was a buffet style, continental foods. Plenty of food available to meet everyone's needs. Some cooked breakfast of Scrambled eggs and Bacon and Sausage. But I stuck to the freshly baked croissants and pain au chocolat!
We dined in the rooftop restaurant twice, service was great, food was tasty, but we did not feel there was enough choice on the menu.
The bar staff were really friendly, and it was really quiet and relaxing if that is what you like. The real action was a few minutes walk away, with plenty of bars, tapas and restaurants. Saturday night was the best, with bands playing New Orleans style Jazz outside the bars.
Although we tend not to go to the same place every year, we wouldn't rule out going back ad it was a lovely holiday break in a great hotel in a great town!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in many Radisson hotels I thought this would be a sure thing but we found ourselves a little disappointed.

Had to move rooms as the first room smelled strongly of sweat! Paid for an upgrade and the second room also smelled of sweat! We were left thinking every room would.

The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom.
Had lunch one day in the hotel and we were not impressed. Food was overpriced, sliding around in oil and not as described on the menu.
Had dinner one evening and this was much nicer. Breakfast was not included in our rate which I have never encountered in a Radisson before and it was very expensive to add on so ate out every morning.

The rooftop pool area is lovely, we sat out twice.

The staff are a credit to the hotel and everyone we dealt with was lovely.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shivers2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIQZH, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and we thank you for your kind comments about the hotel staff.

However, we are deeply sorry about the inconvenience you experienced upon your arrival.
Our aim is to provide the best quality of service to our guests, and you are helping us a lot with your review.

We hope to have the opportunity and the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

We remain at your disposal.

Yours Faithfully,

Rémy Fenart

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel
Address: 1 carrefour Helianthe, 64200 Biarritz, France (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#11 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#14 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#21 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary design warmed with the traditional basque colours & hispani st pictures - City Center, over looking the ocean. For access to sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping and beautiful views of the Basque countryside, the oceanfront Radisson Blu Hotel, Biarritz is the perfect choice. The hotel's position in Biarritz city center lets you explore this resort town, known for its surfing, shopping, golf courses and casinos. Choose from 150 rooms and suites, including accessible rooms, each with luxe amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rezidor, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Biarritz
Radisson Biarritz
Biarritz Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing