We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way a 4* hotel ... for a quiet relaxing break stay somewhere else”
Review of Chiberta et Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiberta et Golf
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel was such a disappointment for what was meant to be a relaxing mini-break. On arriving in our room the carpet was wet in the hallway (which we later realised was the bath/shower from the adjoining bathroom leaking into the hall) we told the reception staff who said they would get someone to check it out but no one ever did so we spent 4 days tramping across wet carpet. The view from our room was of a lower storey roof and you could barely see any of the golf course. There was no fan in the bathroom causing it to be damp so we couldn't get anything dry after swimming or showering. The aircon unit was old and noisy. One day they cut the water off to the whole resort between 1pm and 5pm meaning we couldn't even use the toilet or wash our hands or shower after swimming. Worst off all if you like a quiet holiday forget this place. They start tending the gold courses at 7am so don't expect a lie in. First they use ride on mowers to cut the grass, then they have a couple of leaf blowers walk around after to blow the grass away and then they have a green flattening machine whizzing backwards and forwards. This went on for 8 hours, including around the pool area, no relaxation there either. All in all it sounds like motorbikes racing past constantly. I finally complained to reception who blamed the golf saying they have told them that their clients don't like being woke at 7am but they don't listen. They did nothing but write the complaint in a book for the manager to look at when he got round to it. He did not however get round to it during our stay. I checked on check out if he had had any reply, but they said they didn't know if he had looked in the book yet. Useless. Bayonne and Biarittz are amazing and will definitely go back but will not be staying at this dump again. The only enjoyable peaceful time was when we left the place to go to the beach.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

we stayed here in August for three nights. The good bits of the hotel are that it is in a good location right on the beach, and within easy reach of Biarittz and Bayonne. There is a bus every hour in each direction. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. There is a noce bar and outside swimming pool. We also got a great deal on the price for three nights.

The bad points are that there is a self catering appartment block on the complex, they can use the pool so it was full of teenagers left to their own devises all day, we felt like we were in a youth club.
Also the service is a little lacking, if you wanted a drink at the bar most times there wasn't anyone there so you have to ask at reception they then sent someone to the bar, and it took ages each time. Most evening other people were sat there complaining about the time it took.
The food in the restaurant was OK but again the service was terrible.
Whilst we were there we also wanted some laundery done, we put it in on the 1st day we were there they said it would take 2 days which was fine, however we still didn't have the laundery on the final night so my husband had to argue with reception to get it done. They did and they didn't charge us.

On the whole I loved this area and the hotel was OK, I might stay here again but I'd plan on being out all the time and not using the services.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Hotel is not exactly what promised on the web site. Rooms are tired and need to be updated. We had booked a room with a view over the lake or golf course, but got first a very small room with none of these. After complaining we got another lille bit bigger and a very limited view to the lake plus staff was smoking under the balkony. Didn't accept that either and the third one was a "junior suite" in residence building. That was ok but both toilet and bathroom are extremely small. You practically have to step first between the toilet seat and wall to be able to close the door. And no hand wash in the toilet :(. With my normal size and height I felt distressed in the bathroom between the wall and sink. Try to bend above the sink and you hit the wall on your back. If you are oversize do not book this hotel! Only very basic shampoo and shower gel available, no cotton pads or shower cap etc. I missed a make up mirror as well. And in shower cabin there is no place to put your shampoo, soap etc., you have to put them on the floor while showering.

There is free wifi both in hotel and residence but it is extremely slow. Positive was air conditioning which was working well and quietly. It would have been nice to have coffee making facilities in the room.

I would advice to skip dinner at the hotel, it is not worth of the price. Get some really good recommendations from the reception and eat in Biarritz! Taxi there is appr.15-20 €.

Golf course was crowded and long waiting time on every tee. The course itself was nice with some spectacular view over the Atlantic ocean. Demanding enough even without water. Sand bunkers were difficult with very soft and heavy sand.

I doubt to come back, our previous golf hotel at Medoc area was much better and cheaper as well. And I don't stop wondering the lack of english skills in french hotels...Checking out was very slow and we had difficulties with paying with Diners, they couldn' t get the machine to work and we had to wait almost an hour!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

There are two sections to this hotel - the main building, which is very attractive and in Art Deco style, and the Residence, which is more 1970s style apartments.
Considering the price we paid (109 euros for two, including breakfast), we found the hotel excellent in its category. I would bring my own shampoo and conditioner next time, however!
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the young men manning the bar in the evening deserve a special mention for keeping us entertained.
There is also an (unsupervised) indoor pool which is big enough to have a proper swim - a boon after a round of golf in the driving rain!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Nice place for relax, big golf, beach is very close too. In summer have 2 pools , indoor outdoor,. Restaurant is good and not very expensive as most of them in France. Reception staff pleasant and talking several languages. Only but will be the breakfast, 14 Euro is too much for the kind of breakfast, and the rooms that are allready a little bit old.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guxabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We booked through a reservation website and were completely shattered when we arrived to find that the main photo published on the reservation website by this hotel was of a lovely building that was not even used for guests. The hotel manager admitted that the photos were misleading but said that "all hotels advertise like this" and asked if I had not sometimes been disappointed when arriving in other hotels...

After all, it was high-high season and we had no where else to go so we checked in to some rooms across from the main building. The rooms were straight out of the 1970s, chewing gum in the carpet, hair on the tiles and sink in the bathroom and the only windows opened straight onto the main walking path for golfers.

After two days of searching, exhausted, we found a rental apartment that had received a cancellation - the only one on the whole coast it would have seemed. This was not the end however, as the hotel wanted to bind us to our booking commitment despite falling a long way short of delivering on expectations established during the booking process. The hotel demonstrated very little capacity to understand the customer perspective and we ended up paying for two nights that we didn't stay at the hotel.

During our brief stay we also met others who had been drawn in by the same advertising and were equally disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank praurisaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Spent a few days there in July '07 in the residence attached to the hotel. Facilities on the grounds are reasonably good, although it's generally looking a bit dated. Accommodation standard is good, certainly acceptable for the price. Reception staff were pleasant and friendly, unlike a few of the restaurant staff. Breakfast was fine, but we had the most expensive evening meal of the holiday in the hotel restaurant and probably the most disappointing. There is room for improvement in the service and menu choice in order to match the price.

The hotel is close to nice beaches and convenient (by car) to Biarritz which is a lovely town. For those who enjoy sports, there's a fine golf course, driving range, choice of swimming pools on-site and tennis nearby. The hotel discount on green fees is poor (I think €3 off the €86 peak season price) and they don't offer club rental facilities. In general the hotel was fine for our purpose of relaxing for a few days and exploring the French Basque region, but we probably won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Donohoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
641 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,138 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiberta et Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiberta et Golf

Address: 104 Boulevard Des Plages, 64600 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#8 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £70 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiberta et Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiberta et Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Chiberta Du Hotel
De Chiberta Du Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing