We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by appalling storage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This should be 4 star review except that our double room has 1 ft (30cms) of hanging rail and 3 small open shelves for storage of clothes, shoes and luggage. For 4 nights. For 2 adults.

Although small, I have been in similar sized rooms with much better storage - so it must be put down to poor design.

Otherwise good location, parking nearby (ask at reception about the 1 week parking deal for 35 euros), comfortable beds. At present no a/c, but about to ask reception to fix. Friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SCOENGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helene64200, Responsable relations publiques at Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Sir, Thanks for your opinion, and we are sorry that your room did not satisfy you. We have many types of room in the hotel, some are smaller than others, with different views on the courtyard (interior), on the street side or the ocean side. Of course the rate dépends of the size and the view. We regret that you did not tell your problem to the front desk, because we could have find a solution. Our only wish is that the guests live with a good memory of their stay. We stay at your entire disposal and hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel.
From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and the team were really friendly and helpful.

The hotel has some character. There are some retro and antique furnishings and some rock and roll art work and books to browse.
The hotel has gorgeous wooden flooring throughout and is really nicely decorated.
We had a superior sea view room and I couldn't have been happier. We had views from two aspects across the sea and up the promenade. The room was decorated in white with a huge comfy bed, massive pillows and light curtains under which there were blackout curtains for night time.
There was a safe and coffee machine in the room, a mini bar and a desk area.
The bath towels were massive and robes were also provided. The hotel will also lend beach towels if you need them and is literally just a two minute walk from the beach.
There was also complimentary wifi.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel to anyone staying in the area. It's well positioned, and modern but full of unique character. I loved it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It is just a best place to stay: just ask the sea view and you will get all you need in this city!
We lived on the 7-th floor with the sea view - this is what you need guys! Good luck!
From Russia with Love! :)

Room Tip: Only sea view 6th-7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yura600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I still dream of our room in this hotel! We had a bright, comfortably sized room overlooking the ocean. We were able to keep the glass doors open all day and night to let in the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves. Waking up and rolling over to see the ocean was completely wonderful. The simple bright decor of the room was the perfect beach-side room.
The staff was amazing and friendly, and they made a very sweet effort to help me with my french! I loved the decor, such a nice balance between modern and classic. I would love to return to Biarritz, and if I do, I will definitely stay at the Windsor again!

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the ocean- the street out front seemed quiet but being able to look out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellejohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in December. Biarritz was quiet, the hotel offered us probably the best room in the hotel with a dual aspect view of the beach. Room was pretty good but the view from bed was spectacular! Very modern decor. Would definitely go back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Itsallaboutthebeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

For people who cannot afford to pay the Hotel du Palais. Windsor has a great location right in front of the Grande Plage at the side of the Casino. Rooms with sea view are breathtaking, but city view rooms are also charming. The hotel has now a very modern decor, but very comfortable and with very good taste. It was a classic hotel and I liked it, but I enjoyed its new version too. The elevator is the only thing that reminds you of the "old Windsor". People are very professional and friendly. The price is not cheap but realy reasonable for what you get. They have a good agreement with the nearby parking.
I will continue as a loyal costumer!

Room Tip: Choose a seaview or a cityview, but not a passage view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R-Almeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just literally checked in and my husband instantly said we should write a review about this hotel. The manager personally showed us to our room and brought up our suitcases. The room is wonderful and completely renovated with a king sized bed, fancy coffee machine, spa bath and so much more!!! We paid $120 Australian dollars which I feel is a bit of a bargain for such a great room, hotel and location!

I would haven't hesitation on staying here again or recommending others.

Super happy with our decision to stay here :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jessvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz

Address: 11 avenue Edouard VII | Grande Plage, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#7 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#10 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#19 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £89 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor****, situated on the Grande Plage of Biarritz, offers you 48 renovated rooms facing the Ocean, the City or the Courtyard. You will appreciate the situation of the hotel, in the heart of Biarritz, but also the welcome of the team, always available to satisfy their clients. You can be sure that your stay in Biarritz will be unforgettable ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing