We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing guest house”
Review of Maison Garnier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Garnier
Ranked #35 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were only able to stay one night but we loved Maison Garnier and the owners/hosts, Joanne and Patrick were amazing.
Location is perfect, close to the water, shops, cafés and bars.
Our room was number 5 and right at the top but was quiet and comfy with plenty of room.
Breakfast was great, Joanne packed us some food as we had a long drive to our next destination which came in handy!
If we are ever lucky enough to visit Biarritz again, we would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_love11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Maison Garnier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We spent one night in this little hotel run by a very kind couple. The building is charming and our room was very nicely decorated. Clean, great position and good breakfast, i would strongly reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We loved the Maison Garnier. It is spotlessly kept and beautifully furnished. The rooms (we stayed in 2 and 7) were clean, spacious, tastefully decorated with great showers (no bath). The place reminds me of the Hotel San Remo in San Francisco but better. Patrick the owner is delightful, friendly and very helpful.

The hotel is central on a reasonably busy street though we weren't particularly bothered by the noise even though we were there during a festival.

Will definitely come again and highly recommended!

Room Tip: top floor has high ceilings. first floor - better views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worthyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a superior room. Room 2. There are 7 rooms in this place and it was centrally located. Room was spacious and was very clean. It is centrally located and for the prices in Biarritz, it was worth the money. The owners were nice and friendly. The place is secure and didnt feel like a hotel, more like a house. Id recommend and would stay there again if i go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlynch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Maison Garnier has only seven rooms and likes to be considered as a B&B. It is well located in the center of town but not with a view on the ocean. Our room was on the second floor (third floor by US standard) and there is no elevator. Don't count on the owner or an employee to help you with your suitcase even if you are elderly.

The room was rather small and unattractive. The only antique in the furnishings of the room was the TV set. The windows were so high that you could see only the sky, you would have to climb on a chair to see the street.

At 105 Euros for one night the room was not a bargain. Maison Garnier has 3 stars, but a two stars rating would be more appropriate.

We skipped the continental breakfast they charge 13 Euros per person. At that price you can get a decent breakfast for 2 in a café close by.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arlington_VAJc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

The hotel is located up a busy one-way street several blocks from the beach and casino. Our room was #3 on the second floor. The bedroom was spacious, exceptionally clean and well kept with comfortable furnishings, TV, twin beds made up as a double, bedside tables with reading lamps. The bathroom was also very clean and spacious with a shower, two sinks, toilet, hair dryer, plenty of hot water. The outdoor balcony shutters can be closed to soften early morning light and the balcony window doors can be closed to keep out street noise. The top floor rooms have air conditioning. Our room had a standing fan which we didn't use in early June. The first floor has a breakfast room and a small but inviting reception/waiting area. The proprietors are most accomodating and speak English for those who do not speak French. The hotel has good security. All in all, this is a charming, friendly hotel and a good value. It is very close to bars, restaurants and shopping. The hotel would not be suitable for someone who has a problem walking up and down a hill - much of Biarritz involves walking up and down elevations with the exception of the beach Casino area to the Hotel du Palais

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

This is a very nice little hotel in the heart of Biarritz, just a few blocks from the waterfront, with the feel of a B&B. Good sized room, clean, and adequate hot water. A bit noisy at night with the windows open, as there are a few "townie" bars just down the street, but otherwise pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThirdRail_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edouard VII
Hotel Edouard VII
#12 of 64 in Biarritz
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Silhouette
Hotel de Silhouette
#20 of 64 in Biarritz
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#25 of 64 in Biarritz
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#28 of 64 in Biarritz
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Garnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Garnier

Address: 29, Rue Gambetta, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £103 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maison Garnier Biarritz Authentic charming hotel of 7 bedrooms in the heart of Biarritz, with its matchless charm, Maison Garnier kept its sober and elegant character in a villa from 1876. She invites you to enjoy its bedrooms spacious and bright with relaxing day strolling through the city or its area.On entering we discovered on the left the salon, and right a charming dining room where we serve breakfast, with large windows overlooking a flowered balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maison Garnier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Garnier Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing