We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Le Caritz

Hotel Restaurant Le Caritz
Ranked #199 of 337 Restaurants in Biarritz
Price range: US$19 - US$54
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Le Caritz! We are happy to receive you at the heart of this magnificent region. Our Head chef Ludovic Delille will make you discover all his know-how through his suggestions and through his authentic and full of freshness menu. All our dishes are made with fresh products transform and work in the kitchen by our teams. Enjoy your meal!
Paris, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It is a wonderful place to watch sunset. It is just above the beach and you get one of the most beautiful views of the area. A bit pricey, but I would say it was quite worth it. They are always very busy, so service does get a bit slower than expected... although food was worth the wait! We had a hake to share, boneless, tender and very juicy, carved by the waiter, great! Late in the evening we were offered blanket-shawls, and the whole restaurant turned into a rainbow of lively colours. Even though it was a warm evening sitting by the sea did bring chills. So it was really appreciated!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Le Caritz, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a delight to read your comment. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our premises and location were up to your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you for your next visit to Biarritz.

Best Regards,

Eric FRANCOIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    113
    48
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place for a romantic dinner - great location and nice deco. Food is nice but nothing special, service is sufficient but not excellent. Enjoy drinks on the terrace watching the sunset

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

They have a nice retaurant down staires. But when the weather is good they have an amazing terrace overlooking the Port Vieux beach with wonderful sunsets. Good place for coffee and meeting. They do a very nice range of food - even a vegetarian option - rare in this area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Le Caritz, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Sir,
I really thank you for the time you dedicated to give your opinion.
Thanks to you, we don't need to promote our establishment anymore. You perferctly described the hotel restaurant Le Caritz and we are really grateful to you for it.
We will be glad to welcoming you another time.
Kind regards,

Cédric SORDILLON
P/O Eric FRANCOIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“food - normal - service - good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

nice service, helpfull and fast delivery... food correct - nothing special- but nice location, on the terrace, nive view

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thierry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The wine was ok”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

From the outside it looks good. But this restaurant should be on your no-go list. Fish soup doesn't even resemble bouillabaise. It's one blended, thick mass. The plate of seafood (no lobster, no crab, but the cheap and stinky ones) made my stomach ache. Also, one waitress (the skinny, pretty brunette) moaned and complained about everything she could complain about. Not professional. 100 euro wasted. Sore stomach. Sour taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Le Caritz also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Caritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing